We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh seafood by the ocean”
Review of The Hut

The Hut
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to The Hut, Colwell Bay. Launched in May 2013, The Hut is a quintessentially English 'beach hut' style restaurant that combines an unrivalled passion for high quality, seasonal food with a desire to create a relaxed but stylish environment for all to enjoy.  Combining culinary classics with innovative ideas, The Hut will offer a more exciting approach to beach side dining on the Isle of Wight. Using locally sourced produce wherever possible, The Hut will strive to offer the freshest seasonal food on the island at reasonable prices. Open throughout the day during the summer season, The Hut will offer a variety of settings to satisfy all - from casual mid morning coffee through to ambient, candle lit dinners on the deck in the evening.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“fresh seafood by the ocean”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

"The Hut" is right next to a row of bathing huts on Colwell Bay. It serves fresh seafood with a gorgeous view. The service was brisk and friendly. The wine and beer menu was limited. Portions were surprisingly large.

Although slightly pricey, it has a casual vibe and makes for a very relaxing evening out.

Book ahead for summer weekends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rschwartz375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    144
    64
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Godstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect seaside eatery”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Fantastic food and service in a great location to watch the sun go down. We went 'out of season' but were treated very professionally to a lovely evening and looked after wonderfully by the staff.....have recommended The Hut to friends and family.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carltonjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had a lovely family meal. The food was excellent as was the service. The views are lovely too. This is clearly a restaurant where everyone takes pride in what they do.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ewan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect seaside restaurant”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We went to The Hut with a large group of friends and have a wonderful afternoon eating delicious food and Rose until the sun went down. Cant wait to come back soon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“This visit was rather lacking in service and food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Sadly this , our third visit in as many months, fell far short of our previous two meals there. This one on a Wednesday evening (yesterday) suffered with very slow service. We were a table of 8. We ordered our food, but no one came to tell us that our table was ready, when we asked , we were told it had been ready for ages.
Having raved about the Hut to our friends, we were embarrassed and disappointed in the service and some of the meals were nothing but dreadful. None of the others in the party had been there before they spent an evening and £60 a couple for sub standard experience. The chick n chips was the worst. Think back to 1975 chicken in a basket in one of the worst pubs of he day and you'll be getting there. Just joints of a chicken, skin on, very minimal sauce, no salad or veg at all, not even a lettuce leaf. Lobster linguini was good, fillet steak was...well fillet steak, with cool chips. The cheeseburger was fine. Two of the party said that the cheese board was the best part.
What a shame. Now we don't know whether to return to what was our favourite restaurant and hope that this was a one off poor show, or whether it's already a victim of its own success and to steer well clear.
The sunset was still beautiful !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hut also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Gurnard, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing