We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a lovely place !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
diesel122
Eastbourne, East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Such a lovely place !”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have only stayed for a few nights and wish it had been longer, it is such a lovely place and were made very welcome. The stables is very comfortable and spotlessly clean. We took our 88 year old mum with us and the few steps and en-suite bathroom was a big bonus for her.

We travelled with our dogs, there is a great walk just across the road which goes all the way down to the bay through lovely fields, they loved it.

Would we recommend this cottage to others - absolutely, thank you so much, we hope to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall experience was great
Liked least: If I had to say anything - I would have loved a small enclosed area for dogs so we didn't have to stand outside in the rain (this is not a deal breaker)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you all and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delphine...
Esher, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“RELAXING AND COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Stable Cottage a few days before Christmas in order to relax and recharge after a busy term, and it served its purpose well. We found it very functional, comfortable and pleasant, so much so that we ended up staying in every night! It is only a few minutes drive to the walk up to the Needles which offers spectacular sceneries.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, made to feel very welcome”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Have just spent a great week at the cottage. The owners couldn't have been more helpful or done any more to make our holiday any more enjoyable than it was. Lovely, clean cottage. Good selection of books (including for children) and games and the owners were keen to ensure our 4 year old had plenty of toys. Hope to be back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, it is always a real pleasure when people enjoy their holiday and stay at Stable Cottage. We hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely large, well equipped, clean cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned after spending 10 days in this lovely cottage with large grounds you are welcome to share with the very pleasant & friendly family who live in the house next door. Plenty of parking space with a patio area and seating was nice for a bit of sunbathing. It is very private and quiet even though it is on one of the the main roads into Newport - ideal if like me you are a townie and do not like country lanes. As it is small and compact, attractions on the other side of the Island are no more than around 30 minutes away and there is plenty to see and do.

Thank you Vicky, Andrew & Family for making us feel so welcome, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable furniture & wifi
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely commments and for bringing wall to wall sunshine - you said you would!! Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarahsnai...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a week at Stable Cottage, we didn't really want to leave. A very comfortable cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The owners live in the farmhouse behind the cottage and couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.
The cottage is situated in a rural,location but you can easily walk to the local pub and shops. Nothing is difficult to travel to on the Island with a car so we saw lots of different places, and also enjoyed a lovely walk to Yarmouth along the old railway line. I would recommend this property as a lovely, relaxing, peaceful destination. Our kids made friends with the children who live there as you are allowed to share their extensive back garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2014
It was great having you to stay at the cottage. Hope to see you all again some time. Thank you for your encouraging review. We work hard to ensure the cottage meets guests' expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulcrate...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family break - all we wished for!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Four adults and two children stayed for one week. Lots of safe, outdoor area for children to play. Cottage was clean, warm and the owners accommodating. Lots of info left on things to do and see. Had a lovely holiday, would recommend this to everyone and hope to return soon!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always so pleased when guests enjoy the cottage and their holiday, you are always welcome to return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel K
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely location, beautiful place and friendly owners.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in Stable Cottage for a weekend with a couple of friends and I would definitely go again. The cottage was very clean and tidy and the owners provided some basic essentials which was a lovely touch. The location was perfect because even though it feels rural, it's only a few minutes down the road from everything we needed. There were lots of games and books which meant that we were never bored in the evenings and the accommodation catered for everything that we needed. The only downside was that we struggled to find the cottage but this could've been because it was pitch black and raining!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Trying to find it
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay. Hope to see you again on the IOW.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;