We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mr ND Q
1 review
“My stay”
Reviewed 11 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Very nice spacious place, clean and well situated for the main attractions of the island. Enjoyed our stay very much and would use this accommodation again. Have recommended it to our friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob S
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay at Stable Cottage”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved this place. Very clean and well appointed with loads of space outside for children to run and play. The patio area is a real sun trap. Inside, bedrooms and bathrooms all good, kitchen works well and open plan living room/dining room is a good size. We were a family of 4, which is ideal in the property. I think if you had 5-6 in here then it would feel a bit cramped in the living area.
In the vicinity you have a 10-15 min walk to Freshwater bay where you can go sea kayaking. There's also the walk up Tennyson Down with amazing views. You also have Yarmouth, a longer walk (45 mins) away. There's a brand new and excellent Co-op about a 15 min walk away too. Our favourites places to eat were the Piano Cafe in Freshwater Bay and Salty's in Yarmouth.
Andrew, the owner, was just off to Australia with his family. They were very friendly and allowed us to take whatever we wanted from their huge vegetable patch.
In summary, this was a great holiday in a lovely place. Thanks so much!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandCSutt...
Sutton Coldfield
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ideal location in the island's quiet west.”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed at Stable Cottage during the hottest spell of weather since 1976 so were able to take full advantage of the facilities available which meant that our breakfasts and evening meals were enjoyed on the patio, sometimes under the parasol, although the large kitchen/diner would be more than adequate should the weather be inclement. The welcome from the hospitable hosts was as warm as the weather and we could certainly recommend Stable Cottage. There were only 3 of us but the cottage with its 3 double bedrooms has ample space for 6 people.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona G
1 review
“Great cottage for families”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just had a lovely week at Stable Cottage with my son and his two young daughters. The cottage was the perfect base for exploring the island and was well equiped with all the essentials (although the hairdryer will take a couple of days to arrive back since we accidently packed it when we left - sorry Andrew, it's in the post!). We particularly liked the outside space, which provides plenty of room for children to run around and play games after days out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Glad you had a lovely holiday and the hairdryer is safely returned, many thanks Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dheyfron
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 3 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

the cottage was lovely, extremely clean. there is a lovely local pub, its a lovely place. we went to the isle of wight for a wedding and if we ever needed to go again, we definitely would stay here. thanks for a lovely stay

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we try hard to ensure the cottage is clean and comfortable. Best wishes Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great cottage in a wonderful location, super first time visit to IoW.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage, extremely clean and well presented. Great outdoor space for the children to run around. Lovely walk to the local pub which serves delicious food. Andrew was very welcoming, but by no means intrusive.....(thanks for the asparagus from the veggie patch, delicious!) . We had a very wet Wednesday and found Tapnell farm which was brilliant fun (especially for our 3 year old boys who were delighted by the wallabies and go karts in equal measure!) . We also visited the steam railway near Ryde and The Needles. We spent time at Mottistone Gardens and Osborne House, both very well with a visit. We will definitely be back, so much more to explore and very family friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope that you will come back and explore the Island further. Warm regards Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
1 review
“Delightful character cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Whether it is quiet beach walks, the charm of thatched cottages, the splendour of a Mediaeval castle or an exciting ride on a steam train, this holiday offers it all and more. We only had a few days at Stable Cottage so we only scratched the surface.
Our hosts were polite and friendly, and had obviously put much thought into this well prepared home. Everyone had their favourite parts, for example the beautiful decor, the easy to use open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area overlooking a huge garden with patio, children's toys and books for information and leisure, but my favourite was the scrumptiously comfy beds!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always very complimentary to receive a 5 star review. Many thanks Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing