We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heathfield Farm Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Spent the week here following the Bank Holiday in August. The site is very quiet, with spacious pitches, while the facilities are first rate. However, the main thing that sets it apart from others are Bob and Gaye, the wardens. From the moment they welcomed us onsite, to the moment they bade us farewell, nothing was too much trouble. Bob is a constant reassuring presence around the site, meaning that any fears you may have about leaving your tent for the day, to go out an explore the myriad of delights that the island has to offer, are firmly laid to rest, while Gaye could not be more helpful if she tried. We've already booked for next year! One tip for campers who may be wanting to treat themselves to fish and chips on their last evening (as we did) is to get down to the Rainbow Fish Bar in Freshwater early, as it shuts at 8pm!

Room Tip: If you want a quieter pitch, go for the ones down the bottom, but if you want quick and easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here in early July 2013 and it was our first extended trip with our toddler so we wanted somewhere with all amenities close by. The camp site is close to the town so ideal for supermarket trips. The pitches are impeccable and very well spaced. The couple running the site are incredibly helpful and informative and the site itself has everything you might need. If you're looking for entertainment then this is not the place for you as it is just for quiet camping. They do have an adjoining field which is great for BBQs and games of football or a picnic away from the main camping field. The only downside is that depending on where your pitch is situated you can be quite a trek from the loo in the middle of the night. It could do with another set at the opposite end of the field. That said the simplistic nature of the amenities means that it is ideal for calm family of couple camping trips. Would definitly go back again.

Room Tip: Pick a pitch close to the loos if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBReading2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just average! I was expecting so much from this site given such great reviews from trip advisor. Unfortunately it didn't live up to expectations, in my opinion. The site is just a big field with no character or privacy I.e. hedges or trees or even flower borders breaking up the boundarys of the pitches. I certainly don't think the pitches are larger than other sites we have visited as some comments suggest and not tranquil and peaceful in the sense of in the middle of nowhere , as the road from Yarmouth to Freshwater is just behind the Sites boundary trees. Though not an overly busy road , still a main road for the island and traffic does start early and go on until after midnight. We also had the lighthouse fog warning siren sounding constantly for 2 nights ( which understandably is vital for safety and unfortunately for us it was extremely foggy , but constant 20 second blasts is quite tiring all night )
Showers were very very compact!!! And in the ladies only 2 of the 3 showers were working , luckily it wasn't that busy on site.
Facilities are very tired and run down but clean.
Map giving details of where local walks are is in area where dogs aren't allowed ( even for a minute while you look at map to see where to go - dogs were on leads and not fowling the area) so access to info was difficult and couldn't tie dogs up anywhere as area by reception is a dog no go area.
However dog walk area on site was great so big plus points from the dogs!
Was expecting a quiet in the middle of nowhere site but unfortunately it wasn't.
Weather was fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vikki2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, the week following the bank holiday. The site is clean, well maintained and run by a very helpful couple. The reception and tourist information on site are open frequently, selling ice creams, BBQs and other small items for the kids. The showers are clean as are the dishwashing facilities, and you don't need to stockpile your 20ps before you go as all hot water is available on demand. There is a large field for the kids to play ball games etc so it means you don't have lots of kids playing around the tents. for dog lovers there is also a nice dog walking field, Nothing was too much trouble and when I arrived a few tent pegs down they lent me some to get me through the week. It is about 10 mins walk from freshwater or a couple of mins drive and there you can find a coop, sainsburys and other conveniences. There is also a great local swimming pool should the weather be a little dull for the black! All in all a fab stay and we will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WWN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

fantastic views,sunsets are beautiful overlooking the sea,peaceful spacious camp site, very clean and a fantastic field for dog walks and exercise,the facilities are clean and everything is available that you need for a stress free holiday,the showers are small in cubicle size but adequate,we have been twice in the last 6 weeks for 3 nights each,you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a large pitch with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Have just returned from staying a week at this campsite. The site is very well kept with spacious grass pitches. The facilities are very clean with plenty of hot water, the only downside were the ladies showers were a bit small - my husband said that the men's were a bit more spacious as there were no toilets in the shower block itself (there were 2 in the ladies shower block), and there was a bench and hooks outside of the individual cubicle. There are separate toilet blocks which are also kept very clean, as is the washing up/laundry area. Bob and Gay were very friendly and there is plenty of information available on the locality. The campsite is only a 10 minute drive from Yarmouth. You can walk to Colwell bay in about 15 minutes and the beach there is fantastic with a great café/bistro called The Hut. Also very close to The Needles. This campsite made my first real camping experience, and visit to the Isle of Wight a fantastic one and I will definitely booking here again.

Room Tip: Pitches 40 and 41 would give you a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alicia67_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at this campsite and enjoyed every minute. We paid for a premier view pitch with electric for our tent and had a lovely view of the sun setting over the sea every evening. The facilities are beautifully clean and the wardens are extremely helpful and friendly. It was so peaceful at night we felt totally relaxed and was very safe for the children to go off and play on the ball field.

The only thing we would have liked was bigger shower cubicles as when trying to wash a child it was a bit of a squeeze!

Will definately return though :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
16.7 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
16.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
15.9 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 51 in Shanklin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
324 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grange Farm
Grange Farm
#1 of 4 in Brighstone
178 reviews
18.9 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathfield Farm Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathfield Farm Camping

Address: Heathfield Road, Freshwater PO40 9SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Freshwater
Price Range: £14 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heathfield Farm Camping 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Heathfield Farm Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heathfield Farm Camping Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing