We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good room; terrible food”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good room; terrible food”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Good location. Room was excellent except radiators not working in March 2011. Food was terrible - pre-prepared, plastic, tasteless, over-cooked, very small portions. On the second night we went to the pub in Totland (for an excellent meal) as couldn't face another evening meal at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    94
    57
    34
    15
See reviews for
54
152
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Excellent hotel, well run with very efficient, friendly, mainly Polish staff.
The food was excellent and the service was the most efficient that we have ever experienced -we have been eating out for over 45 years!!
The new swimming pool was superb and will be even better when the sauna is finished.
Ignore comments from Exminer1948 - judging by his grammar he should stick to all inclusive .
The package (B&B + evening meal + ferry) was good value for money.

Room Tip: Junior suites offer the best views and are very spacious with a large sitting area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWEB1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a short stay at The Albion the hotel is in a great location and everything about the hotel is great but the food.I will start with breakfast I had porridge what I ordered but when it come it was lukewarm, then I had a full breakfast if you can call it that 1rasher of bacon that thin could have used it for tracing paper, 1 chipolata sausage, 1 pullet egg & small scoop of beans you could have fitted on a side plate. We had to ask for extra toast or we would have gone out hungrey.On one night I ordered the Hoki fish in batter it come out of a freezer and warmed up and you needed teeth like jigger picks to eat it on another night I had pan fried liver and you could sole your shoes with it it was that tough.Plus there never seemed to be enough of the luke warm veg.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Exminer1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We really enjoyed our trip,i can not see how people complain about the food,the service was very good and our waiter although Polish spoke very good english.We found it strange that there was no radio in our room and the tv was tiny.The pricing for a sea view £96 means that it is calculated per person ie £12 per night.The hotel was very clean,bedroom large with bath and shower, and bar for some small criticism we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: 307 was a nice room shame about the light outside our room was on all night for what purpose i could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We changed our booking to this hotel after being disappointed by our original choice. A young man called Michael gave us full details and an extensive tour of this hotel. We chose to pay for an upgrade to the suite and were impressed by the high standard of the room and furnishings. It had a large balcony with views of the whole of the bay, and was very light and airy. The indoor pool area and changing rooms were beautifully clean. The restraunt had great sea views and the staff were exceptionally efficient and very friendly. The menus were varied, tasty and very well presented.
The hotel has a small bar with seating and a quiet relaxing break with great food and attentive staff. We shall be going back.

Room Tip: The suite has a double balcony and views the whole of Freshwater Bay. They are happy to show you di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My wife and i were both extremely pleased with all aspects of The Albion. We could not fault any of the facilities provided. Your chef,s are to be applauded.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently returned from a stay at The Albion where we have stayed many times before. As per usual everything lived up to our expectations apart from one niggling point. When I booked I explicitly asked for the rooms with their own balconies and was assured that we were indeed booked into these rooms. However upon our arrival we were given Room 206 which leads onto the terrace. My husband questioned this as our confirmation stated balcony. The gentleman on reception was most helpful and rang his colleague at the Sandown Hotel who was most insistent that the terrace rooms are balcony rooms. I find this very strange as there is a notice on said terrace clearly stating it is a TERRACE! So for anyone booking in the future and for clarification for the "gentleman" in Sandown. Rooms 100+ are on the patio area, Rooms 200+ are on the terrace and Rooms 300+ have balconies.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms 300+ facing directly towards the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 970Chris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that there seems to have been some confusion with the room in which you have preferred to have been accommodated.

We are always happy to take room requests, but it is easier for us to meet these if the customer tells us the exact room number in which they wish to be accommodated.
Of course, while we try to meet customer requests for particular room types we cannot always guarantee to do this.

Our pricing structure for the Albion Hotel is quite simple and we have 5 price grades. 1. Land view. 2. Ground floor sea view (no external area) 3. Balcony or Patio. 4. Junior Suite. 5.Superior Suite.
Land view rooms can be either on the first or 2nd floor.

Ground floor sea views are obviously on the ground floor and these are better for people with walking difficulties or mobility impairments.

Balcony rooms and patio rooms are the same price. Balcony rooms are on either the 1st or 2nd floor and patio rooms are on the ground floor. Both room types have an external area. Some balcony rooms on the 1st floor have a shared communal balcony (you refer to this as a terrace but for the purpose of our pricing structure and tariff we do not distinguish). All but 3 balcony rooms face the direction of the lifeboat station and Freshwater Bay. The 3 balcony rooms on the shared communal balcony face out head on to sea. The patio rooms all face directly out to sea.

Junior suites with a separate lounge area face directly out to sea and can either be on patio or balcony level. Balcony level being either on the shared communal balcony level or the top floor with private balcony.

Superior suites are scattered around the hotel either on patio or 1st floor balcony level and occupy the best and brightest positions within the hotel.They also have a bigger floor space.
Room 206 - while on the first floor with a communal balcony / terrace, but which we price and term as a balcony - is a super room facing the sea. This room is requested time and again by our repeat customers and I am so sorry if you weren't allocated a room in the section of the building you wanted to be in.

Our room numbers run:-

101 - 108 for ground floor rooms (patio rooms and ground floor sea view rooms)
201 - 222 for 1st floor rooms (balcony and junior suites some with private balcony some with shared balcony and land view). This is also pool level. To be near the pool you need 201 - 206. Lift access rooms 217 - 222.
301 - 306 for 2nd floor rooms (balcony and junior suites - with private balcony)
307 - 312 for 2nd floor rooms with lift access (land view and balcony with private balcony)

September is our busiest month of the year and the month in which we have the most room requests given that this is always a month frequented by our repeat customers. I can only apologise.

The Albion Hotel is a special place to many and we try really hard to work on the information given to us by our customers with regards to room allocations. My apologies once again and an assurance that if a particular room number is specified, this betters the chance of us being able to meet the request.

NB. If you book Superior Suite 209 (Four Poster) then you will get this room as it is the only four poster room we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing