We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Climbing over the Balcony”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Climbing over the Balcony”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

We went to The Albion for Easter, over the years the view and position have more than made up for the odd hiccup but not I am afraid this time. After unpacking we decided to go down to the bar for a drink, only to find we were locked in the room, the phone did not work and when I rang from my mobile no-one answered, so I climbed over on to next doors balcony and knocked on their door. they kindly unlocked our door from the outside. At reception we were given the option of either changing rooms or waiting until the maintanance came to repair it (Thanks to Kelly he did come quite quickly). I was given a phone and told to fix that myself which meant taking the unit off the wall and repairing it. Dinner on the 1st night was luke warm and we were through in 20 mins it was this sort of speed every night. At the bar one afternoon on asking for a guinness I was given the can and a glass and told to do it myself as the barman did not know how too. On the 5th night of being there the headboard fell off the wall whilst we were a sleep on informing reception we were told that it could not be fixed that day as maintanance were busy but I was offered a hammer, I asked whist I was there if we could have clean towels as they had not been changed since our arrival, we were told that we could have clean bedding as well, however housekeeping then said they were not sure if it was our turn or not..
Up to this point we were talking about going back for 2 weeks in the summer but after a conversation with one of the owners, when we said the service needed to improve to match the cost we were told if we did not like it we could leave and they would refund the days we did not stay for, But when we left there was a small bar bill to settle which they insisted we paid before they would refund any money even though the bar bill was considerably less than they were refunding, Such a wonderful 20th wedding anniversary - Not - very very sad about the whole experience

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Benyemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Here at the Albion we much appreciate our customers – both old and new – and we work tirelessly to ensure customer satisfaction.

Located in Freshwater Bay, a premier sea side location, our hotel is clean, tidy and exceptionally well appointed. Our service is good and we offer great value for money.

This said, it is rare, if not unheard of for us to wish for a customer to leave the hotel before their due departure date but when asked by yourselves if we would prefer it if you left, we said yes!

My staff do not expect to be spoken to in a rude and aggressive manner and we would be foolish in this day and age to allow our very loyal and hard working staff to be bullied in such a manner.

Repeat custom and “being in the business” does not give one the right to decide what price they can pay to stay at ours, nor any other hotel.

One cannot and should not expect to be able to stay in the very best room and not pay a premium for that room.

A threat of a negative trip advisor review (now received and to which I respond) does not effect the price we will be charging for the bedroom you enquired about for two weeks in July.

Our price is our price and threatening behaviour will not encourage us to reduce our already reasonable tariff, neither for yourselves nor any other prospective customer who might be inclined to use Tripadvisor as a bargaining tool.

To summarise, our tariff is lean, represents excellent value for money and includes accommodation, evening meal, breakfast, car ferry, free use of leisure facilities and VAT.
We have a range of bedrooms to suit all needs, and they are spacious and well appointed.

We are located in a spectacular seaside location and the majority of our rooms offer stunning panoramic sea views.

We would like to thank you for your many years of custom and wish you all the best in your future endeavours. The Albion is clearly no longer the place for you and perhaps a change is now the best thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    56
    33
    15
See reviews for
54
148
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our trip last month to The Albion was perfect. I hadn't been to the hotel for 30 years and it has changed in such a good way. The rooms were very nicely decorated, comfortable with views to stay in my memories forever. The food was also good and the general atmosphere was quiet and tranquil, perfect. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel so welcome and relaxed, nothing was too much trouble. We will without a doubt return to The Albion and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: The junior suite was perfect with large balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were so lucky with the weather which was a bonus, but without that the hotel was really good, staff terrific, bedroom great. We had previously only called in when staying elsewhere and been impressed - first impressions were not wrong - we shall return. Wonderful base for walking and lovely and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandG1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We took a chance on booking an Isle of Wight four-night break in mid-March and were blessed with glorious weather. This hotel was a happy choice therefore, as there can be nothing nicer than relaxing on the communal terrace outside our room basking in warm sunshine. This was our second visit to this hotel and it suits us fine. It has had a makeover since we were here last in 2005 and our room was excellent with a huge bathroom including bath and separate shower.

Room Tip: We paid for an upgrade to a seaview room with communal terrace and it was well worth it. The car pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Just enjoyed a three day break at the Albion.
First class staff, friendly but not over the top.
Sea view room ,large ,spotless.
Bathroom enormous, beautifully appointed, bath and shower, under floor heating.
Chef really knows what he is doing , beatifully cooked and faultless presentation.
Swimming pool. What a bonus . Looked brand new . Lovely and warm, with changing rooms .
Even had a spa and the sauna will be completed soon.
Would not hesitate to recommend to anyone .

Room Tip: Sea view room well worth the extra money, the view was even beautiful after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thepipefishfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I'm not usually one to write reviews, but felt this hotel was worth it.

The rooms are unusually spacious and comfortable, nearly all with fantastic seaviews. The swimming pool was lovely with perfect water temperature. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful, especially the evening Duty manager who happily helped us find walking routes around the area, answer questions on the island's history and show us around the hotels rooms for future reference. The hotel offered a very comfortable enjoyable stay.

The only thing we didn't enjoy was the food. Breakfast was generally good. However, although the evening menu always looked inviting the 3 meals we had were dissapointing. Examples would be pasta and pastry not cooked enough, fish overcooked and dry, and taste wise quite bland and uninteresting. We do eat out a lot generally and did not feel the meals were up to hotel standard. To this end we ate out on the last night.

Different members of my family have stayed at this hotel over recent years and I'm glad they recommended it. We hope to return to this hotel in the future with the rest of the family, but will probably be on a B&B basis.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Once again we have had a lovely break at The Albion. Having read other reviews i can honestly say that I do not lie and I only say how it is.The hotel,the staff from the manager right down the chain to the room cleaners were brilliant in particular this time the chefs,as my wife had just came out of hospital and needed a very particular diet. The staff just couldn't do enough for you.The food is very well cooked the portions are substancial,absoloutely no complaints.

Room Tip: I would reccommend the rooms from 105 as they are ground floor with view out to sea and you feel you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisb243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have ensuite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing