We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such wasted potential”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I have been visiting Freshwater Bay for 50 years and I love the place. When I was a child the Albion Hotel was too posh and expensive for us to stay in but we visited for Sunday lunch or afternoon tea and always loved it's location and it's style. 8 or 9 years ago after a controversial planning application it was re-modeled, extended and had a magnificent indoor swimming pool added. I came to stay when it was just re-opened in 2003 and found magnificent rooms, a brilliant pool, stunning views and appalling service. Nothing has improved. I came for 3 nights in early August with my husband and found the price of £520 extremely high and was shocked to find the hotel two thirds empty in the middle of the summer holidays. Freshwater Bay is delightful and virtually unchanged but the service and mean spiritiedness of the Albion Hotel is shocking. I will give a few examples. Firstly a "full English breakfast" consisting of one sausage, one rasher of bacon, one egg and a tomato for a couple paying £173 per night is extremely poor. Bad coffee, cheap marmalades, a pathetic choice of fruits, juices and cereals and one flavor of yoghurt is really. Or acceptable in this day and age. Secondly I refer to the information for guests in my room. It informs me that we have been supplied with a teabag each per day. If we want to make a second cup of tea we can purchase a teabag from reception. We can order a newspaper but we can't have it delivered to our room and if we have a child with us who needs a nursery tea we can only have this between 6 and 6.15pm and only if we order it before 2.30pm. Under no circumstances can we have this during dinner service times. Now come on Albion Hotel. In 2012 none of this constitutes decent customer service. On the positive side the pool is still magnificent and the rooms airy clean and spacious. I appreciate bathrooms with separate bath and shower but our shower in room 302 was in desperate need of replacement and gave only a trickle of water. When we arrived on Monday afternoon it took ages at reception to get anyone to come and help us check in. When we left on Thursday morning I handed in our key to a woman I hadn't seen before. She didn't ask me if we had enjoyed our stay or whether we had been pleased with the hotel. She simply wasn't interested.

I love Freshwater Bay and I have always loved the Albion Hotel, but the fabric of the building is falling apart and no-one seems to care about the building or it's loyal customers. It won't survive very much longer unless some love is injected into the business and I do hope that happens before it is too late.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Judibilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel bar is in a prime location and is indeed now the only bar in Freshwater. Inside is 60's decor, a long wait for service, no bitter on tap and a generally unwelcoming feel to it. No repeat visit invisated.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for your online review and I am sorry that our hotel bar did not meet your expectations.

The bar was redecorated in 2001, so the decor is certainly not 60's, but as it happens we do intend to renovate and redecorate the bar within the next year or so.

I am sorry if service was slow.

We have four products on tap - Carling, Gaymers Cider, Worthington Draft and Worthington Creamflow - these are good sellers and I'm sorry if none of these met your requirements.

We are a busy hotel in a prime seaside location, and the majority of our hotel customers come back to us time and again to take advantage of our super accommodation, good service, and lean prices.

We are one of two hotel bars in Freshwater Bay, and while we welcome non residents and outside trade, we are not and never intend to be a pub.

Thank you once again for your comments and I am sorry our bar is not quite what you were looking for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed here for 5 days as part of a walking weekend. Brilliant room with balcony overlooking Freshwater Bay. Huge bedroom and sizeable bathroom with separate shower. Lovely, modern decor. All staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Lounge and dining room have excellent sea views. Half board was really good value: plenty of choice on the menu - the passion fruit Meringue was to die for! Free parking. If you are looking for a quiet, undeveloped bay with panoramic sea views then this is the place for you; and the Albion is the place to stay.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Traveller31B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Location is great, staff are very helpful but are not empowered. Management have no clue. Does not cater for kids, the food is terrible, there is no Internet connection or wifi in many of the rooms. We had a used towel folded back on the rack by the cleaners. The information provided on orientation and how to get there is limited. We had to work hard for everything, and when we left, we were not asked about our stay in any way. The lady who checked us out was part of management and was in a hurry to walk away and do other things. I stay in hotels all over Europe and this rates the lowest. Would never go back, would not recommend it. Would strongly recommend visiting Isle of Wight though, it's beautiful.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in early July. Hotel is in a wonderful position overlooking Freshwater bay. The rooms were excellent - very spacious, lovely views, big bathrooms with bath and separate shower cubicle. Think our rooms had recently been refurbished as they were spotless. Very clean in all areas of the hotel.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Special mentions for Agata, the head waitress and Stephen in reception.
The one downside is the food which is distinctly average and quite frankly a bit boring! At breakfast there was a very limited buffet: Whilst we were there the only fruit on offer was prunes and orange segments - not even any grapefruit. Would like to have seen a far more varied selection of fruit and cereals on offer. The cooked breakfast was OK but no mushrooms, hash browns, fried bread etc on offer. Eggs were a bit hit and miss whether they were under or over cooked.
Dinner was unimaginative and a bit 'old fashioned' - need more choice. On the Sunday there was roast beef but no yorkshire pudding or even roast potatoes. Such a shame because the dining room is lovely.
Would definitely receommend this hotel - but on a B & B basis with maybe the occasional dinner.
Definitely hope to return soon though as it is certainly a lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying the extra for a balcony room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PMN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We spent 3 nights here from 13 July, on a Dinner, Bed & Breakfast basis in a room with a balcony overlooking the bay. What a good choice we made! The room was large, with a large en-suite containing bath AND walk-in shower and still lots of room to swing a cat. The bed was very comfortable and it was lovely to leave the window open and doze off to the sound of the sea moving over the shingle on the beach. The whole hotel is very clean and beautifully decorated, the staff - without exception - were friendly, helpful and efficient. We got the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious, and served promptly. Each evening there was a choice of a meat dish, a fish dish and a vegetarian dish. If you didn't want a sauce it would be cooked plain for you (but please don't miss out on the sauces, they were delightful. Delicately flavoured to enhance rather than overwhelm the meat/fish.). If you really didn't like any of the choices you had the option of speaking to a chef to arrange something else - the menu was pinned up in reception so that you could give advance notice of any problems, although we thought the choices more than adequate.

All-in-all an excellent hotel and we shall definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 307 with a balcony looking out along the bay. It was large, airy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pom707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for four nights from 7 July 2012 and found it everything we could have wished for. Perfectly located on Freshwater Bay the hotel was well decorated, spotlessly clean and we had a sea view room with balcony that matched any we have ever stayed in, including a lot with higher star status. The staff were very friendly and the service was good. The food was plentiful and of a good standard though the choice of menu could have been better. We found this hotel very good value. We really wonder how some peoples negative views about this hotel could have been possible. We will certainly stay at this hotel again when visiting the island

Room Tip: Ask for room 307, large, well furnished with shower and separate bath and king size bed. Balcony lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
15.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
902 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
434 reviews
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range: £37 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing