We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spot on!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“spot on!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

spot on! this is the spot, right on the edge of the sea! Large comfortable rooms with big beds and very generous en suite. Both the comfortable lounge and dining room looked over the sea. Food was as you would expect from a 4 star hotel with a good choice and very good breakfasts, just ask.A very pleasant swimming pool and every where was clean and tidy. Will I go back, you bet

Room Tip: sea facing rooms have balconies and are worth the small extra and get sunshine in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 505terrybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    91
    52
    33
    15
See reviews for
51
146
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

Just got back from 3 nights. The carpets and decor looked fresh and new and spotlessly clean.
The staff were very helpful. The food was plain and wholesome - didn't like the pellet breadcrumbs at the bottom of the sweet rather than a biscuit base and the same on the smoked haddock but otherwise no problems. Everything went smoothly, the spot is quiet, very relaxing, nice pool. I would highly recommend it and would certainly go back later in the year.

Room Tip: Have a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Only stopped here for coffee on the 16th April 2013 but I must say something. It's in a great location with super views, it's clean, tidy, and looks like it's been refurbished. The owner / manager was very polite, friendly, and helpful and the coffee was great. It has 41 bedrooms, a lovely dining room, a great menu but, wait for it, we were the ONLY PEOPLE THERE!!!! I felt so sorry for them I thought the least I could do is say how good it looks and hope someone will go and find out. If we had not been booked elsewhere I would definately given it a try. Here's hoping trade picks up for them.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife & I stayed August 2012 in the Albion &, apart from the lack of hot water reaching the shower head, our visit was generally OK. During this stay, we reported the tepid shower experience on more than one occasion, but the problem was never satisfactorily rectified. Despite this, we stayed again over Easter 2013 & booked the same room (209) as we assumed that the shower must have been fixed during the ensuing 8 months. Clearly, we had been too optimistic, as the shower again was barely tepid, which was unacceptable especially as each day the outside temperature only just crept above freezing point. I reported the fault more than once & was assured that someone would "look at it". Someone may have 'looked at it', but there was no improvement. Although I am neither a plumber nor an engineer, let me offer some layman advice. The hot water pipe leading to the shower mixer valve was very hot indeed, but very little of this hot water found its way through the valve & into the shower head. I assume therefore, that there remains a blockage within the mixer valve. Not a difficult challenge for a qualified handyman to unblock the valve, I suggest. However, throughout our 5-day stay, there appeared to be no-one with the authority to bring in someone to unblock the valve. A pity really, as the duty staff were always most pleasant & helpful, but not qualified, I guess, to restore a hot water supply to our shower.

The other shortcoming is the temperature in the downstairs public rooms. There is no central heating at all in the bar, so far too cold to spend any time there. The heating in the lounges is barely adequate, so they appeared after dinner to be avoided by most guests.

However, the location of the Albion is fantastic, room 209 is spacious & comfortable,but the major shortcomings mentioned above indicate a lack of organisation, foresight (to extend the central heating into the bar & to rectify a shower fault that was pointed out 8 months' ago) & organisation to ensure that there is a duty person an call to fix simple faults.

With this outstanding location, the Albion could be a really superb hotel, but it needs better leadership to achieve the required standard. We rarely complain, but feel that the senior management is missing a trick by not supervising/inspecting the hotel in a more detailed fashion.

Room Tip: The 2 first-floor suites overlooking the Bay are roomy & comfortable with excellent views. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHR876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay, the staff must be congratulated on there service, my wife has special dietary needs and the chef really went out of his way to provide meals that were acceptable to my wife .THANKYOU. I would have given the hotel a full five star, but for one very disappointing problem, Heating in the lounge and bar area, this was so cold some guests were resorting to wearing coats, most had left the lounge and bar by 9pm, sad as this would have resulted in poor bar takings, the manager, Mike did apologise, but there appeared nothing could be done. However a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 221 not sea facing but excellent room, bathroom was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel used to be a delight to visit but after our last stay, we will not be returning any more. We had paid for an upgrade to get the sea view and the room was good, but the bed linen had a nasty stale smell about it and we suspected hasnt been changed since the last guest left. We did complain and the next night clean sheets were on the bed but it seems the smell was coming from the duvet which obviously hadnt been cleaned for a while. In addition, there was no seat/stool for the dressing table and I had to bring in one of the plastic chairs from the balcony, the light had gone from the dressing table area in the wall leaving just a bare wire and there was no table in the room. This was an upgrade. Having stayed there many times in the past we were very disappointed. Food was average but the situation so delightful we put up with the less than pleasing aspects.

Room Tip: If the bedding smells - dont put up with it. Have a moan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SylviaTonbridge_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel twice, once in the summer with family, including our two granddaughters; and again in October with older friends. Before our first visit we researched the hotel, and identified the specific rooms we wanted. These rooms are terrific fitted with two king size beds, and have enormous ensuite bathrooms. We requested the same rooms for our second visit.
The hotel is not specifically children friendly with not special activities for them, but ours are used to eating in a formal dining room, thoroughly enjoyed using the swimming pool, and got on well with the waiters.
There are lots of silly little things which could annoy you, the swimming pool has unfinished air vents and cables dangling, the clock in the swimming pool had stopped and the jacussi is the same temperature as the swimming pool - but it is a lovely pool! In the corridors there were broken lampshades - still there on our second visit two months later. At first we were told we could not have two keys to the room, when we mentioned it to a manager, we were told we could have an additional key for a £25 deposit, after hearing of the problems of having keys cut if we left with the keys. The keys are standard Yale keys and can be cut in the village two miles down the road! Why do they make it such an issue?
You get the impression that the hotel is run for the convenience of the staff sometimes, and certainly the hotel does not put customer service first.
Having said that, it suited us. The things we wanted were very good and well executed, and we smiled at the oddities, but I could have got annoyed.
The breakfast menu is amusing and fairly limited, but the food is great (I especially liked their kippers at breakfast, they were special).
The first time we stayed we had dinner in the hotel, there was a choice of three mains - one vegetarian, and again the food was excellent and ample. Although the food was not perfectly suited to our children, they were very accommodating in providing something which they would like. Our waiters English was limited on our first visit, but by our second visit it had improved dramatically.
We went for another visit, and enjoyed it. We will be back again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ianxwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you very much for your online review - we welcome all feedback and use such reviews in training sessions with our staff so that we are able to continually refine and improve the service we deliver.

Your comments are very important to us, and I am sorry if you got the impression that the hotel is run for the convenience of the staff - I can only assure that this certainly is not the case.

With regards to the keys that we issue from the hotel - we only issue one. If a guest would like to have another key we will do so if a deposit of £25 is paid. This of course is returnable providing the key is returned to us. Lost keys are charged at £50.

Our keys, while they state "Yale" on them, certainly cannot be cut down the road. Our suite of locks operates with a master key therefore key codes have to be sent away in order for a key to be cut - this can only be done with a letter of authorisation from myself or one of the other owners on headed paper and with a company stamp. This can generally take up to two weeks, although in the past I have been lucky enough to receive a key back in 5days. Still not ideal when our rooms are in constant use, I am sure you would agree.

I am pleased you found our accommodation spacious and well appointed - we are really lucky to have such large rooms, most of which have been re-decorated this year and afford magnificent views of Freshwater Bay.

I am sorry the clock in the pool had stopped - how annoying! I trust that the batteries were replaced as soon as you notifed us.

With regards to all your other comments, I can assure these have been taken on board and will be considered.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I look forward to seeing you at the Albion again during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have ensuite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing