We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will we be back? Yes we will.”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Will we be back? Yes we will.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our friends booked the hotel and after reading the reviews I was worried. We arrived at 5pm to be greeted cordially, booked in and shown to our rooms which were spacious, clean and welcoming with a good sea view of this pleasant unspoilt cove. Dinner was excellent, tasty and well presented in a very pleasant dining room which had linen tablecloths and napkins. The wine list was adequate and sensible priced and all was served by staff who wanted to do a good job or that was our impression. We were even asked if we had had sufficient and would we like any more. We stayed two days on BB&Evening meal and all four of us thought the standard of food, amount and service was good. The rooms were cleaned and tea tray was replenished even though it does say in the hotel brochure that replenishment would be at a cost, this did seem hard to believe. Our friends room had a broken toilet paper holder and even though this was reported in the first ten minutes of arriving they were told they were awaiting to have it seen too, this did seem strange. As stated on previous reviews some of the staff are young and you can tell under training but they are pleasant and wanting to succeed, this was not a problem. Our only really critical observation was the bed linen and towels are old and not pleasant but they were clean. We thought the location and area really good and we were able to get around the Island easily, would we come back again, yes we will.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view and go to sleep with the sound of the sea in your ears
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payneb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    93
    57
    34
    15
See reviews for
54
151
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Let me make it clear that I have not stayed at the hotel but merely stopped for lunch midweek. Well, we would have stopped for lunch but they didn't serve anything. Not sure if this was a one-off as we had lunch there in July 2012 - excellent sandwiches.

I was irked at having to pay for parking in the hotel car park and not get a credit against my drinks bill!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freshwater hotels

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although a picturesque location and fantastic weather during our stay, the poor quality food and extremely limited options for Vegetarians were significant disappointments. Our room had a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful bay. However, stained curtains a grubby loo and a shower which had seen better days were serious let downs. We had specifically arranged our food requirements in advance - just in case - but these were not forth coming. We had to ask repeatedly for our meal choices and eventually these were provided but badly over cooked or extremely bland and flavourless. It was fortunate that we both ate fish as there were no really appetising veggie choices available not even a fresh salad! We even took our own fresh fruit into breakfast. Simple expectations such as ground black pepper or salad dressings weren't available- it was unbelievable and many guests also complained. It was such a disappointment and not a cheap holiday even in a 3 star rating. I would say that the time warp image of the IOW was truly illustrated in this hotel as there were no other local restaurant options in Freshwater so you need to drive out every evening to find an alternative. Feedback to the owner was given in person but not really considered to be genuinely sincerely received.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony provide lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a 4 day stay. Location is good with wonderful views over the bay, but it is a bit isolated from the main attractions of the island, so a car is a necessity. The room we had was very good, with two baloneys, a bath and a shower and everything was clean with good storage space. The towels only get changed once a week unless you request more often, and the tea/coffee facilities are poor. You only get 2 sachets of coffee per day and if you want more you have to buy it.
Breakfast offering was the same every day.
Only juice was orange and there were a few different flavour yoghurts, a few different cereals. The full English consisted of one egg (fried poached or scrambled) one rasher of bacon,one sausage (meat or vegetarian) and EITHER tomato or beans. Plenty of toast and coffee or tea though. There were also kippers available and soft or hard boiled eggs.Apart from salt and pepper, condiments were in those little tear open sachets. One day the salt container was dirty so we complained and the waiter took it off and swapped it with the next tables.
Dinner consisted of a 3 choice starter ( soup ,melon or a small crab or fish something or other that was always in a small ramekin pot with a baked crust on top and not all that nice) .On the last day ,one of the starters was just chilled orange juice that is available for breakfast.
Main course was 3 choices including one vegetarian that was seemed to be rice based,but the other two were OK. A bit bland but plenty of it
The three desserts including cheese and biscuits, were OK but no more than that.
To have after dinner coffee you had to go into the lounge area or bar and ask for it,and mostly it wasn't very hot.
WiFi was not available throughout the hotel. Apparently the router was broken and the manager didn't think the owners were likely to get it mended ,so you could only pick it up in the lounge,reception or bar area.
Not a cheap hotel and although the staff were polite and good, it was not value for money and we won't stop there again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite facing the seas and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinniewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Freshwater Bay is absolutely lovely, tranquil, waves lapping up on the beach, not built up, not too much traffic, easy to find.
Then it all goes downhill, the staff are rude, I was with a business friend who wanted to join me for dinner but they didn't know if they had enough food in the hotel.
Checking in, they weren't expecting anyone else when I arrived, then after several minutes suddenly find my booking with no details on it.
Dinner (on my own) I'm glad was included in the rate (which wasn't bad £63 db&B) as it wasn't worth £25, food arrives within a minute of ordering, waiting around for wine for a long time. They're idea of cheese and crackers came out a Jacobs cracker box.

Then to my misfortune I happened to leave a piece of clothing in the hotel, 3 calls to the booking line, who promise me a call back every time to let me know if they have it, go without answer, I can't find a number to call the hotel directly, so in overall was a really disappointing stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wileycat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We loved this hotel. The location is great - right on the seafront at Freshwater Bay, which is a small and quiet resort. The rooms are big, with balconies looking over the beach or directly over the sea, and with spacious, well-equipped bathrooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The indoor pool and the bar with pool table were much appreciated by the children.
There are wonderful walks from the hotel over Tennyson Down to the Needles, along the cliffs towards the east or inland towards Yarmouth. We will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookwormOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We paid extra for sea view and double balcony. Room was large and quite clean. The hotel seems though as if they are running on a shoestring as several basic items of food and wine were not available. There was no tomato ketchup or fizzy water; several wines from the list were out of stock!! The staff were all very friendly and we felt they were embarrassed apologising for the lack of everyday items you would normally expect to have.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffingupthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing