We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Fittleworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet Retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Hotel bedrooms were clean & comfy. Restaurant- Food & service was very good, Dinner an excellent choice. Cost of drinks in the bar were rather high which may have been the reason it was only used by a few. Could do with some evening entertainment. Need to complete swimming pool area. Staff were helpful & pleasant. We would return earlier in the year.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are quieter even on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    56
    33
    15
See reviews for
54
148
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We booked a room with a balcony facing the sea for 3 nights and were allocated a room on the first floor facing the noisy road and partial view of the sea, also a public footpath running below the balcony. Whenh we asked Reception for another room they replied that there were no other rooms available and this room was what was allocated to us, he was adamant and refused to do anything although there was a board outside the Hotel stating sea facing rooms were available (we paid £72 extra for the 3 nights facility, It was patently not true that there were no rooms available and the Receptionist was totally indifferent. Don't accept Room 219.
Towels in the room are not changed for the duration of your stay according to the Hotel Brochure, also you are allocated 2 tea bags in your room if you wish for more the is a charge, that is if you could find anyone in Reception to buy them !

The brochure boasts 'our restaurant benefits from breath- taking sea views from virtually every table'. Not true. We were allocated a table by the entrance as far away from any window or sea view. When asked if we could move to another table we were told they were all reserved, although there were many empty tables. Don't accept Table 20

There was such a cold and unwelcoming atmosphere in the Hotel, that we could'nt wait for our stay to end. Utter disappointment.

Room Tip: All the rooms above the footpath are noisy with Adventure Activity vehicles and Coaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albioniow, Owner at Albion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your online review and I am sorry you were disappointed with your room allocation.
These matters were discussed on arrival, during your stay, and on your departure, and I am saddened you have felt the need to post this review.

To call us the Hotel from Hell is most unfair; your complaint simply is that you were unhappy with your room allocation.

Having looked through your booking notes, I can see that your booking was made last minute and our best sea view rooms had already been pre-booked and allocated.

We have a range of rooms to suit all needs and pockets, however it is always advisable to make your booking well in advance if you wish to secure the very best room with the very best view.

Based on your the fact that one of your party has walking difficulties and required lift access, we allocated you a lovely sea view balcony room with a super view of Freshwater Bay near to the lift.

We think this room is lovely and indeed just last year a famous American singer occupied this room - she was delighted with the room, the hotel, the service and the location!

During your stay, and when you notified us of your disappointment, we endeavoured to see if we could move forward bookings around to enable us to move your room, however due to other guest requirements, we were unable.

It is the case that we had an alternate sea view room available, however only for a one night gap and your reservation was for 3 nights. A board was out because we wanted to sell our last room, which of course, being in such a super spot and with such lovely accommodation, we did!

Again, with regards to your table allocation in the dining room, I am sorry if you were disappointed. On the day of your arrival the "window" tables were already all allocated to guests already in residence. For convenience, we allocate guests a table that they keep for the duration of their stay, and we were not in a position to offer you a table nearer to the window at any time during your stay. This said, you can indeed see the sea from every table in our dining room.

Contrary to your statement that we were cold and unwelcoming, this is most unfair and most untrue and I must defend my staff who tried their very best to accommodate and make alternative arrangements for you.

Indeed on departure I spoke with you and discussed the different rooms we have in different locations, including the junior suites and superior suites which obviously occupy our best position, but for which there is a higher supplement that you paid.

Many thanks once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Freshwater hotels

Tiptree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We were looking for a short break in a quiet part of the island and found the Albion Hotel on an advertisement in the Daily Express and it seemed to fit our requirements.
On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff at Reception who even offered to help us with our luggage.
Our room overlooked the bay and had a balcony. The room itself was clean and spacious as was the bathroom. We were happy with the facilities that the room offered.
The selection of food offered in the restaurant was plentiful and the staff were very attentive and friendly.
We used the pool and Jacuzzi but feel the pool area could do with a few loungers.
Overall, we were pleased with our choice, it was value for money and we would return again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 2nd floor with sea view and balcony overlooking the bay, an excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Our friends booked the hotel and after reading the reviews I was worried. We arrived at 5pm to be greeted cordially, booked in and shown to our rooms which were spacious, clean and welcoming with a good sea view of this pleasant unspoilt cove. Dinner was excellent, tasty and well presented in a very pleasant dining room which had linen tablecloths and napkins. The wine list was adequate and sensible priced and all was served by staff who wanted to do a good job or that was our impression. We were even asked if we had had sufficient and would we like any more. We stayed two days on BB&Evening meal and all four of us thought the standard of food, amount and service was good. The rooms were cleaned and tea tray was replenished even though it does say in the hotel brochure that replenishment would be at a cost, this did seem hard to believe. Our friends room had a broken toilet paper holder and even though this was reported in the first ten minutes of arriving they were told they were awaiting to have it seen too, this did seem strange. As stated on previous reviews some of the staff are young and you can tell under training but they are pleasant and wanting to succeed, this was not a problem. Our only really critical observation was the bed linen and towels are old and not pleasant but they were clean. We thought the location and area really good and we were able to get around the Island easily, would we come back again, yes we will.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view and go to sleep with the sound of the sea in your ears
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank payneb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Let me make it clear that I have not stayed at the hotel but merely stopped for lunch midweek. Well, we would have stopped for lunch but they didn't serve anything. Not sure if this was a one-off as we had lunch there in July 2012 - excellent sandwiches.

I was irked at having to pay for parking in the hotel car park and not get a credit against my drinks bill!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Although a picturesque location and fantastic weather during our stay, the poor quality food and extremely limited options for Vegetarians were significant disappointments. Our room had a small balcony which overlooked the beautiful bay. However, stained curtains a grubby loo and a shower which had seen better days were serious let downs. We had specifically arranged our food requirements in advance - just in case - but these were not forth coming. We had to ask repeatedly for our meal choices and eventually these were provided but badly over cooked or extremely bland and flavourless. It was fortunate that we both ate fish as there were no really appetising veggie choices available not even a fresh salad! We even took our own fresh fruit into breakfast. Simple expectations such as ground black pepper or salad dressings weren't available- it was unbelievable and many guests also complained. It was such a disappointment and not a cheap holiday even in a 3 star rating. I would say that the time warp image of the IOW was truly illustrated in this hotel as there were no other local restaurant options in Freshwater so you need to drive out every evening to find an alternative. Feedback to the owner was given in person but not really considered to be genuinely sincerely received.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony provide lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a 4 day stay. Location is good with wonderful views over the bay, but it is a bit isolated from the main attractions of the island, so a car is a necessity. The room we had was very good, with two baloneys, a bath and a shower and everything was clean with good storage space. The towels only get changed once a week unless you request more often, and the tea/coffee facilities are poor. You only get 2 sachets of coffee per day and if you want more you have to buy it.
Breakfast offering was the same every day.
Only juice was orange and there were a few different flavour yoghurts, a few different cereals. The full English consisted of one egg (fried poached or scrambled) one rasher of bacon,one sausage (meat or vegetarian) and EITHER tomato or beans. Plenty of toast and coffee or tea though. There were also kippers available and soft or hard boiled eggs.Apart from salt and pepper, condiments were in those little tear open sachets. One day the salt container was dirty so we complained and the waiter took it off and swapped it with the next tables.
Dinner consisted of a 3 choice starter ( soup ,melon or a small crab or fish something or other that was always in a small ramekin pot with a baked crust on top and not all that nice) .On the last day ,one of the starters was just chilled orange juice that is available for breakfast.
Main course was 3 choices including one vegetarian that was seemed to be rice based,but the other two were OK. A bit bland but plenty of it
The three desserts including cheese and biscuits, were OK but no more than that.
To have after dinner coffee you had to go into the lounge area or bar and ask for it,and mostly it wasn't very hot.
WiFi was not available throughout the hotel. Apparently the router was broken and the manager didn't think the owners were likely to get it mended ,so you could only pick it up in the lounge,reception or bar area.
Not a cheap hotel and although the staff were polite and good, it was not value for money and we won't stop there again.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite facing the seas and it was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinniewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Property: Albion Hotel
Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have ensuite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing