We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Views”
Review of Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Have been to the Albion a number of times, always had a nice welcome. The rooms overlooking the sea (20mtrs away), are comfortable and well serviced. The price you see in newspapers is not what you pay that price is for inland/car park view. So phone first.
Woul recommend.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Minty1529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

called in at the Albion on August Bank Holiday Sunday with a group of seven friends hoping for a beer and a Sunday lunch. They don't do food to non residents apparently! strange for such a large hotel in such a prominent position. The bar staff were also seemingly disinterested in our custom. A disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cheezypeas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Seafront rooms have fantastic views of Freshwater Bay. I booked a junior suite for the second year running. Following the damage done in the February storms, the rooms have been completely refurbished and look terrific. Breakfast is your average English but with other choices. Dinner is home cooking style and offers many choices. All staff are friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the bar service is still spasmodic and towels are not changed daily. Also, like most hotels nowadays, potatoes are never peeled no matter whether chips, roasted or buttered. I don't know anyone who likes them this way but I suppose it is just another cost saving like the towels. That said, I will look forward to my return again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kp0vey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Sure, the paint is peeling, but get yourself inside to the friendly staff, great sized rooms and four piece bathrooms because, quite simple, you can't see the outside when you're inside.

We booked this for a weekend away and we looked, we thought uh oh, then we got in, had a fantastic reception, went to our room nd saw a super standard and said to each other this will do nicely

The room we had 307 - is big and the loo huge, four piece - no complaints whatsoever. ... Gret view over the bay and.... We paid 250 for 2 nights B&B including ferry plus one nights eve night meal.

The bar and wine both well priced and the staff are super, no matter where we are.

Guys, bottom line us give it a go, you'll pay a lot more for a lot less on the East of the isle but West is best!

Room Tip: 307 - great corner position overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Have just returned home having spent 3 nights at the Albion Hotel. Positives = Reception staff mainly good (one middle aged man not as friendly...hmm) dining room staff overworked but good. Room was clean, bathroom huge! Negatives = Unfortunately the room overlooked the car park.....bins emptied, cars revving, people talking etc. , staff appeared over worked, had to wait ages to be served in the bar - didn't bother going again. Hotel just looked dated, very 70's decor , outside is tatty, and - as with most places in the UK, very expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Don't book in to Room 311
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We will have been too this hotel 3 times this year come September.
Great location. Always have sea view room with balcony.
Food average, but very satisfying. Nice choice.
Staff very friendly, especially Tory whom we have a good laugh with. She's very attentive and will do anything for you too make your stay comfortable.
Only fault we had, was when we went in March the hotel was freezing. Had too sit in our coats in the lounge. Rooms nice and warm, just rest of the hotel.
Overall great stay. And looking forward too being back in September.
The Oakes family xx

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank pinklady6335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

In June we spent a very relaxing 4 days in the Isle Of wight staying in room 106 at the Albion. Victoria, the Manager couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable.
The hotel is right by the sea looking out across freshwater bay, a small peaceful cove.
Our bedroom was roomy and comfortable with a large en suite with a shower and a bath.
The kingsize bed had lovely quality bed linen and a very thick duvet, which was a little too thick for our taste.
Victoria supplied us with a sheet and blanket to use instead.
The restaurant was set out so that many tables could look out and see the sea.
The waiting staff were all very attentive and the meals were of a high standard with ample choice. We shall look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor with a sea view, this may not suit some, as the windows opened dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank williamhalsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
15.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
15.8 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
441 reviews
13.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Hotel

Address: Freshwater Bay, Freshwater PO40 9RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Freshwater
Price Range: £36 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Hotel has 40 bedrooms most with sea view balcony or patio. The hotel is situated right on the beach in Freshwater Bay, just a stones throw from the sea. We have double or twin rooms at the hotel - twin rooms offering two double beds. All of our rooms have en-suite bathrooms with a bath and shower. You can book room only, bed and breakfast or bed, breakfast and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel Freshwater, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing