We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic for all the family.”

Review of Tower House

Tower House is a beautiful old Victorian property with a tower and a charming belvedere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tower House is a beautiful old Victorian property with a tower and a charming belvedere
The living room with polished wood floor ornate ceiling rose and a Clearview wood burning stove One of five large stylish bedrooms, two with en-suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Tower House is a beautiful old Victorian property with a tower and a charming belvedere
The living room with polished wood floor ornate ceiling rose and a Clearview wood burning stove
One of five large stylish bedrooms, two with en-suite
Master Bedroom with ensuite
'Snug as a Bug' Two singles in one room (kids bedding as required)
The 'Africa Bedroom'
The bedroom downstairs which is ideal for the elderly and infirm as there are no steps
The property might be 160 years old but the bathrooms are new!
The kitchen is well equipped and ajoined to the dining room for social gatherings
A lovely old oak dining table and an old trawler's steering wheel to turn the house around!
A kitchen diner fully equipped and a great place for breakfast in the morning light
A 2nd table for cards or jigsaw's in the living room
The Belvedere is East facing so a beautiful place for coffee & papers in the morning
One of four spacious bathrooms
A 4 burner gas BBQ and a lovely sheltered site for outdoor entertaining.
Look out for the Tower House sign, houses on the Isle of Wight don't have numbers!
Freshwater beach with fantastic walks
Evening light Freshwater Bay. Possibly the cleanest air in the UK
Welcome to Tower House from Paul & Bentley. Dog friendly
Moonbeam is there to welcome you!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
debellis2...
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic for all the family.”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A lovely house very well equipped and thoroughly enjoyed by 4 generations of our family plus 2 dogs.
Ideally situated for a family holiday, walk the children to the beach, beautiful scenery whilst dog walking and all you need on your doorstep.
Although we know the island well there are always new places to visit eg Tapnell farm excellent for the children, favourite haunts to introduce the next generation to eg Blackgang,Robin Hill and Butterfly World.
Choice of nearby beaches Freshwater Bay stony but scenic,Compton Sandcastles, surfing and cricket and Colwell ideal for children but parking can be a pain in high season.
Piano Bar on your doorstep for coffee and snacks, The Boathouse at Fort Victoria ,new owners this year (again) but doing are a really good job long may they stay there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirkiness of the house and location.
Liked least: No gate onto road but not sure it would even be possible.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the house and the friendliness of the owner.
Liked least: No tumble dryer to dry damp beach stuff.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Thanks Wendy, it was great to meet you and all the family. Sorry I could not do anything about the unsocial bird behaviour! Having large trees on the property is a feature, at least you didn't have the Badgers partying in the garden!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
markd323
Skipton
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a great house, we have just enjoyed a week of relaxation exploring and family time, using this gem of a house as our base.
The bedrooms are large and spacious, the bathrooms all lovely and clean. The kitchen dinning room is perfect for slow family breakfasts. The gas BBQ is great for alfresco dinning.
We were met by Paul and his 2 dog's on arrival and made to feel very welcome.
From Paul's recommendation we went to the Little Gloster, Gurnard for my wife's 50th birthday meal and can only say thank you Paul and we had a great evening.
We will be back very soon as so much more to see and do

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
j4nurse
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We chose Tower House for a family holiday to celebrate my 50th birthday. Eight adults had plenty of room in this spacious, extremely clean & well equipped house. Greeted by Paul (& his dogs) we were made to feel at home. Only 2 little niggles.....the fridge/freezer had opened bottles of sauces & ice cream in them ( no idea how long they had been there). Also, the telephone in the house kept ringing to the point we unplugged it. Otherwise it was the ideal place to relax & enjoy the Isle of Wight. We would definitely come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muckymoth...
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous property and great location!”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Six of us stayed here for three nights (3 couples) however it could easily house more. Great to be able to have a bathroom per couple, with one to spare!
Lovely house, clean and spacious. Wonderful log fire in the living room, perfect for cosy evenings in or from returning from a blustery walk on nearby Tenyson down.
The house is close to a shop, cafe and pub (had a very nice meal here)
Paul (the owner) communicated with us throughout the whole process and welcomed us on arrival (thank you for the bottle of red Paul!)
Absolutely nothing negative to say

Hope to return !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2016
Hope to see you all again with warmer dryer weather. Still three weeks available in July and returning guest always get a discounted rate. Thank you for your lovely review. Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Su C
1 review
“The most fantastic, spacious and comfortable home from home holiday let we've had .”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We wanted a place where family could chill out and relax without having to stress out over the Christmas holidays. There were 10 of us including grandma, two toddlers and a very lovable but active springier spaniel. This house was perfect. There was plenty of room for everyone, and the dinning room area was very nice and spacious indeed. we spent most evenings relaxing by the fireplace catching up with each other ( part of the family traveled in from USA , so this was a real reunion) and playing board games , doing crossword puzzles, watching movies with the kids etc- note plenty of games supplied in the property. In the afternoons, we took nice relaxing walks with the dog ( who was in absolute heaven ) along the cliffs and the sea which had spectacular views and was quite close to us. the shops too were not far, the local shop was literary round the corner, the owner made sure we were comfortable and was in touch with us before our stay answering the million questions we had as we we had not been to isle of wight and were concerned that lots of places may be closed during the Christmas time. He recommended a couple of local butchers who could supply us with our Christmas turkey, etc. He also emailed to check that we were ok whilst we were in the house and supplied us extra wood as a bonus for Christmas. He even got a Christmas tree in all ready and set for our arrival. The location for this property is very good. It was comfortable, spacious and the best thing about it was the unusual decor of the whole house; each room had a different theme which was interesting. there was also a fabulous collection of books and DVDs which family members took too. The kitchen was well equipped for all of us to have a feast and the fridge had ample room to o a big shop and not to worry about going out food shopping many times.
All in all, excellent house with a lot of history in it ( my mother will probably elaborate on that in her own separate review) . Would definitely recommend , There are many places of interest in the area around this property which we couldn't get to see on this trip as it was Christmas time, plus the purpose of the holiday was to spend quality time with each other under one roof and not go out much, however, we will be going back to do more but probably at a different time of the year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was spacious and well located and the owner was very helpful
Liked least: there wasn't anything we didn't like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickey-mo...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We as 9 siblings aged between 65 and 81 spent New Year together, to include 2 dogs. We were amazed at the size of Tower House. It far exceeded our expectations. Comfortable beds and furnishings, loads of space and a well stocked kitchen. It is just a few minutes walk from the beach, we had a lovely clifftop walk along Compton too. We had several excellent local pub meals and the nearby Chinese takeaway was good too. We thoroughly recommend and would come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2016
Thanks Ann, much appreciated.

Kind regards

Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing