We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub on the Island”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub with flag stone floors and log fire, serving locally sourced food . The pub has its own garden which produces fresh vegetables and herbs all year round. Four real ales are available as well as an extensive wine list.
Norfolk, UK
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best Pub on the Island”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

A warm welcome from the landlord as well as the local customers makes this a very special place. All mobile phone use is banned (a £1 fine to a charity box) and there is no music or children. A roaring real log fire and a superb range of Real Ales. The facilities (including the loos) are clean and hygienic.

The food is to die for. We love the home cooked soups - we tried the curried parsnip soup and the chilli beef and potato soup. These are a meal in themselves and are delicious. The soup was served quickly - even though there were a lot of other guests in the pub - and was accompanied by piping hot soft bread and butter.

There are lovely walks nearby - we recommend the level walk along an old disused railway track bed beside the North Bank of the Western Yar; just cross the bridge and take the path by the bungalow to your right. It's about 45 minutes to Yarmouth and you will see a host of waders and ducks.

I am surprised there is only one photo of this establishment and its lovely surroundings so I have added a few here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    172
    42
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Pub Great Lunch”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My wife and I live on the Island and meet our friends from Ventnor about once a month for lunch.
We take it in turns to chose a pub and this time went to The Red Lion.

We were met by a roaring log fire in the main bar of this lovely old pub and spent the next few hours enjoying great food good local beer and a more than enjoyable glass of Merlot.

Friendly and helpful staff and nice local people keen to chat made it a really great occasion and we will return soon,

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamthefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good food, charming pub and no mobiles allowed!”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Extensive menu and wine list. Good food and service. Lovely setting close to a great walk into Yarmouth. Well behaved dogs welcome.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelhappy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome, excellent food!”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We called in here by chance one afternoon when out walking, the pub seemed to be full of regulars and we were welcomed warmly, not just by the landlord but by the customers too. We saw the menu behind the bar and decided to try it for dinner the following day. We had a fabulous meal, one lamb shank and mash, one pork loin and mash with apple sauce accompanied by a huge dish of beautifully cooked veg. We had planned to treat ourselves to pudding but ended up with one jam sponge and cream with 2 spoons as we were so stuffed! The quality of the sponge and the cream equally as good as the rest of the meal. Definitely recommend this place, we loved the fact that they seemed to have the balance of looking after their regulars and looking after the holiday makers. Worth noting that we after reading reviews on here we booked a table in advance which proved to be a good move as almost every table was occuppied while we were there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziegee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Delicious and dog friendly too!”
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I am so seriously impressed with this pub that I am reviewing it 4 hours after leaving. We received a genuinely friendly welcome from the landlord and the beers looked great. Had it been an evening I would have enjoyed a lovely pint of ale. However, what really impressed me was the menu. Unashamedly British/European fare - not a barbecued rib insight! We chose steak and mushroom pudding (with gravy to die for) and liver, bacon and onions both beautifully cooked and accompanied by delicious fresh seasonal vegetables (lovely mashed potatoes and mashed swede/carrot). Home cooking with a fine dining twist and a very good price for the quality served. The avocado and crab cocktail was a fresh and scrumptious starter as was the sweet, fresh whitebait. There is also a fabulous range of walks that you can choose from the doorstep including Freshwater causeway which is beautiful and great if you have a dog. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
2 Thank grantdmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing