We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience!”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub with flag stone floors and log fire, serving locally sourced food . The pub has its own garden which produces fresh vegetables and herbs all year round. Four real ales are available as well as an extensive wine list.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Absolutely amazing meal, and fun experience as well. My husband and I (Canadians) have been travelling for almost four weeks, including a two week cruise from Miami, Florida to Harwich, England, and driving around England after that. We can both say that our meal last night at The Red Lion, Freshwater, was the best meal we've had since leaving home. We both ordered entrees (chicken and salmon) that came with platters of fresh vegetables and scalloped potatoes, and the food was hot, perfectly cooked, and delicious. We barely finished it all, but we couldn't bear to leave even a morsel behind, it was so fantastic. The staff were friendly, helpful, and interested in making sure we had a wonderful meal, which we did. There had been a death in The Red Lion family very recently, but this was not reflected in either the service or the quality of the meal. The pub was bright, cheerful, and clean, and I loved knowing that drink had been served on this exact spot for over 1000 years! We have returned here to this pub for three wedding anniversaries now, and I am confident we will continue to do so in the future. The Red Lion is a real gem here in Freshwater, and may it remain so for many years to come!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idyllslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    174
    45
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A great British pub”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Red Lion is a great British pub. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The ambience inside is welcoming and the garden is delightful. They have reasonable wines, good beers including Doombar from Rock) and first rate pub food delivered quickly and at very reasonable prices. It is a great place to stop off for a lunch in summer and I bet it is warm and welcoming in winter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woollybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MADEIRA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Most unwelcome”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We were invited here for lunch by friends the other day and unfortunately arrived before them.
We were treated as one is in a Paris shop, in other words ignored! I asked if the table in the corner was reserved for my friend, and I was told that they would tell me when they had time!
The food was not at all good - my wife's crispy duck wallowing in honey!!
The young man who served us had filthy hands with black nails as though he had just dug up the potatoes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PARADISEMadeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub with a few mates on a cycling trip and had a great selection of beers and the food was great. Nice and Cosey and had some lovely fish and chips. Must admit though, I thought they were a bit generous with the amount of chips we were given for the group. Will definitely visit when we return in September.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Sadly lost it's way ...”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A lovely setting, and village. Has a typical country pub feel to it, and a good choice of ales and wines.
However, the food lets this place down. It had a great reputation c2010, where it won awards. But, it has definitely left those days behind. Sadly, the food is average (chips come in a plastic tub, sauces are bland and largely just double cream, and the vegetables come microwaved and 'soggy'). To add to it all it's actually genuinely too expensive for what it really is (you would spend same at Jamie Oliver's or Gordon Ramsay for central London gastro pub experience. That's a shame. Was hoping for more, and think the pub needs to rethink how it can get back to its heyday...

Helpful?
Thank MPM_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing