We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very good policy "No mobiles inside please"”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$52
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub with flag stone floors and log fire, serving locally sourced food . The pub has its own garden which produces fresh vegetables and herbs all year round. Four real ales are available as well as an extensive wine list.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“This is a very good policy "No mobiles inside please"”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As soon as I heard the landlord say (and it was directed at a chap in the window seat) "no phones inside please" I just knew it was going to be my kind of place. And it was. Is anything so urgent as to have to spoil a pub lunch in a country inn ? I think not !

10 of us had a lovely meal and we left stuffed to the rafters. We pre-booked and were on a large (3 each side, 2 each end table) meaning we could all see and chat to each other easily. We ranged from 3 to 73 in yrs and enjoyed our range of food immensely. Fish fingers & chips, roast, quiche, rack of ribs, steak pie, scallops, battered fish & mushy peas, a cheeseboard & chips. Boy that chef must have had his work cut out when he saw our order but deliver he did. Nice work indeed. The waitress service was exemplary and I saw a nice range of beers from Cornwall to Manchester on tap as well. Shame I was driving later that day. I would go back again tomorrow given a chance - and I know I will get another chance come winter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishJanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    171
    42
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best pub food on the Isle of Wight”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Best pub food on the Island, very well cooked, served piping hot. Polite staff with good beer.

Proper pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank burgundyben71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fined for mobile use”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

We chose to try this pub as it looked quaint and enough good reveiws on here to sway us- Though met with an unfriendly welcome from the bar man/manager/owner (who knows who he was)- arrived with 2 others and were waiting for another 5 to join us (we were planning on having a nice meal, a few bottles of wine- we would have been spending a lot of money over the night) but were instantly put off when my friend was told to pay a £1 fine when her phone rang. It was the rest of our party asking for directions- to which we'd already had enough of being ogled by unfriendly locals and staff (and being 'told off').. we told the not to bother and took our custom elsewhere..

Shame how a silly rule around mobile phone use cost them quite a nice sum of money last night..

Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Pitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a lovely lunch!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We have just returned from a day walking on the Isle of Wight. We walked from Yarmouth to Freshwater and had lunch in the Red Lion. There was a very good choice of food from snacks to full meals. The pub is old with a wonderful atmosphere and the garden is beautiful with plenty of places to sit. The food was served quickly and efficiently and was very tasty. Try the ice creams - they were fantastic! We will definitely be returning to the Red Lion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cas_402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a joy to revisit every year.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The Red Lion has always been our first port of call when we stay in Freshwater. The food is wonderful - fish to die for. Have the cod & chips or the fish pie. So delicious! We love their rules - no children, no mobiles, but dogs allowed. Perfect! I have a grandson who is well behaved, but too many people nowadays seem to believe everyone should enjoy socialising with their so-called well behaved children. I admire the Red Lion for making a stand. The staff & landlord have always been charming & attentive. For all the people who love to hate this pub please never go back. It's a typical English country pub with great food. Long may it reign!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Freshwater, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Shalfleet, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing