We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food- Peaceful Location”
Review of Red Lion

Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Freshwater
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$52
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A traditional country pub with flag stone floors and log fire, serving locally sourced food . The pub has its own garden which produces fresh vegetables and herbs all year round. Four real ales are available as well as an extensive wine list.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful food- Peaceful Location”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and myself look forward to visiting the Red Lion each time we visit the Isle of Wight. Great choice of food on menu, beautifully presented and delicious, although very busy at lunch time, we did not have long to wait and the Landlord and staff were very pleasant and attentive, also pleased to see there is a ban on mobile phone users (£1 fine!) our little dog was also made very welcome. Difficult to say which dish to recommend, as they are all scrumptious. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequentvisitor414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    167
    40
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good quality but short on atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I've stopped at the Red Lion a number of times when walking at the Western end of the island, and it's a welcome break, especially since so many IOW pubs are being closed down. Beer is always good quality, and the food is excellent and ample. The rear garden is also pleasant on a summer's day.

The only downside IMHO is that the inside is a bit "sterile" for my taste, and I always feel that I'm intruding in someone's house rather than being a welcome guest. Not that I'd want music or other noise, but I wouldn't want to feel guilty at having an animated converstaion with a few mates, and in this pub I certainly would! Indoors is definitely for food rather than drinking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewForestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 9, 7 adults and 2 kids youngest being 11yrs. Had the most wonderful meals at the red lion we went there twice and everything was perfect. It's a quiet place nice we did make a bit of a noise getting settled but was made welcome by the people working there. Would definitely recommend.

Helpful?
Thank poogie2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice homely pub”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a very nice local pub. The service isn't marvellous and we weren't made to feel wonderfully welcome but the food was good and the ambience was nice. It feels very local and people do eat early here and then the pub empties when the locals go home to bed. No complaints about the food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteparish
Level Contributor
129 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What is it with the British”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Went across to the island for a planned walk with the Red Lion pencilled in for lunch based on past reviews. OK, we were late (2:05pm) and didn't expect to get a meal (this being England), but a "we could rustle up some sandwiches" would have been nice, or even a "sorry but the chef finishes at two" would have been polite and something of a demonstration that customers are welcomed, but a curt "No" to our question as to whether any food was available was all we got. So, I can't vouch for the food, I just hope it beats the service. (As we went outside with our pint and bag of crisps another couple came in and asked for food, and were received with similar aplomb - why don't these businesses realise there is a market there if only they wish to exploit it?)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithWhiteparish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Lion also viewed

Freshwater, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing