We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My third visit, really a most excellent hotel.”
Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, Gloucestershire.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My third visit, really a most excellent hotel.”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This is the third year that I have stayed at this hotel and the experience is still very good. The bedroom was excellent, the same one that I had last year and one of the largest hotel rooms that I have ever had. However, it is clear that this is a Pub with hotel attached, rather than a hotel with a public bar!

Food in the bar is very good, and a good choice at good value. However expect Good Pub food - not fine hotel dining! Breakfast which is the only meal served in the Hotel Dining Room was a bit of a dissapointment. The scrambled eggs were awful - and clearly had been made with real eggs! It is a great shame that the standards on the hotel side have been allowed to slip a little.

The staff were friendly and yes, I would still return to this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front part of the hotel which is the original Victorian mansion. These are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Standard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    79
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
90
40
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

very reasonable room rates,excellent food,fantastic size room,the staff were so so friendly and h
elpful....could not fault it.
short walk to the esplanade,wonderful views across the solent to portsmouth.
victorian splendor with all mod cons.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we stayed at Nodes Point resort - our first night we decided to eat at The
manor. really enjoyed the meal and re visited every night of our holiday M-Th. excellent food and service. my daughter especially enjoyed the toffee crunch(known to us as dime bar crunch)would recommend highly! holiday 3-10 sept 2012. lovely not to have to find a place to eat each evening. a BONUS for me and made the holiday.







)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I stayed at Appley manor for a few days and couldn't say a bad word about the place, the staff were excellent and very very friendly especially the girl that served us breakfast, all in all what a lovely place I deffinatly recommend the hotel and the food in the restaurant was spectacular!

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is an inexpensive hotel about 400 yards from the beach at Appley Park, half a mile to the east of Ryde and one mile to the west of Seaview, Isle of Wight. Rather old-fashioned decor but we had a large room, bath and shower, good TV, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is extra to the room rate, but very reasonably priced, and well cooked and generally good value. Meals during the day/evening are available in the attached pub/restaurant.
Not swish, but well located and it proved a good venue for a short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterandsuebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 3 nights and we have no complaints.
The hotel, although dated, has a characteristic charm about itself. Our room was huge and more than adequate for our needs. It is in a great location for exploring this wonderful, traditional island. All the staff were friendly and polite and the housekeeping is very good. Set in a peaceful location, only a 5-10 minute walk to the coast, the hotel also benefits from a good pub/restaurant next door. All in all, a very nice and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marble4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We have stayed here many times over the years and have seen a steady improvement in that time.

It is situated a short drive from Ryde, but has a country feel about it. The rooms are well appointed and clean and fresh. All the amenities required are there and the housekeeping good.

Downstairs is a huge dining/bar area with reasonably priced meals, there is always a good variety available. On the occasions we have visited there has been no noise from downstairs and we have always had a peaceful night.

Ryde and the beach is very walkable and I would recommend it at a very reasonable price for the area.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to offer a quiet and good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Property: Appley Manor Hotel
Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Hotel Class:2 star — Appley Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing