We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10”
Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10/10”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Would highly recommend Appley Manor. The rooms are nice, clean & spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is great and it is just a short walk from the beach. Very good value for money all round.

Room Tip: Preferably rooms at the rear of the hotel as they have sea views are are a little cooler on hot days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Ian V

Thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much, and would look forward to seeing you again if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    78
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
89
36
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We can highly recommend going to Appley Manor in Ryde on the Isle of Wight, the venue is spacious, the staff are so helpful and friendly and the food is some of the best we've ever had, good portions and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, General Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Dawn T

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback, and I am very glad to hear that you so enjoy our food, and service!

Kind Regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a meal with my family, after coming here on mothers day we thought we'd give it another go.
Although the menu itself doesn't have a wide selection, there is always some good deals on the specials board. The ale we ordered came cloudy, and didn't taste right. On taking it back to the bar we were assured it was a new barrel. We were given a coke instead, and once we went back to the table, my father felt too awkward to go ask for the difference in drinks, but this was shortly bought over to us which was lovely. Our food came promptly and in good size. Probably the best chips I've ever eaten! One thing I did discover was that more than one of the ladies toilets were un-flushable, which wasn't exactly pleasant.
Overall the place could do with a few improvements, such as maybe a bigger choice on the menu, and some of the staff need an improvement in customer service!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IOW_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Vicky_Vaporeon

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we have taken your comments on board and will be talking to our staff about such incidents as this. The problem with the woman's toilets will also be investigated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Josh asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Initial impression when you see how large and gothic looking this hotel is from outside is that you may be letting yourself in for Fawlty Towers. But it's not like that at all. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a large bar/restaurant offering a bewildering variety of good value dishes and local beers, and the breakfast is well up to standard. Rooms are named after flowers and all seem quite large and well equipped, with en suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Large car park, lots of outside clientele for the restaurant which underlines the value and variety offered, and it's all around friendly and lively. We were there on a cycling holiday of the Isle of Wight, and it proved a great choice for a large group of us to kick off our itinerary from. Not far from ferry terminal, easily found, good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snarramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Snarramo

I am very glad that you found your stay here up to standard and enjoyable, as well as taking advantage of the adjoining restaurant and bar area. I hope that your cycling was equally enjoyable.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel and look forward to seeing you again if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This Victorian hotel (with a later 1960s annexe) has echoes of Osborne House: huge ceilings, grand staircases and vast windows. It almost feels like a high end B&B. The decor isn't minimalist chic, more comfortable English seaside resort with a genteel sense of not being flashy or new so you don't need to feel self conscious. The rooms are vast, warm, comfortable with large bathrooms and fried breakfasts commendable. It's a perfect place for exploring the coast and local attractions. The restaurant is reputedly good but within a 10 minute walk are several good seaside cafes, pubs and restaurants. In value terms, it certainly scores over some better known and trendier hotels nearby frequented by the 'down from London' crowd, especially if you have a family to accomodate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Christoph I

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel. I am also very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

You are quite right about the style of the building, it was built between 1853 and 1856 and was designed in accordance with the architecture that was made so very popular by Osbourne House.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A recent re-visit after promising 'never again' resulted in a pleasant surprise! The food has taken a real turn for the better - Try the homemade pies! With lots of daily specials and desserts makes this a viable location to eat once again.

Look, It's no fine dining but a) doesn't pretend to be and b) the price point reflects what you get. Excellent value, decent potions and good quality.

The place went downhill in recent years which is a shame is it's a stunning building in a great location. However all seems on the right tracks again Im very pleased to report.

Ticks all the boxes.

Keep it up Appley!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank domb1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi domb1975

I am very pleased that you feel our standards have improved, we are always trying to better ourself in both service and food quality. I would like to thank you for the valuable feedback, and hope that everything will be just as good if you choose to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a two night stay here and found the rooms, all be it dated(which is all part of the building), were very spacious, warm and clean. We had plenty of room with a sea view. The beds very comfortable, clean and the towels changed daily. Flat screen television and WIFI - which was excellent. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room with a table and chairs. The food at Breakfast was lovely, have to mention the poached eggs were perfect, thank you. The bar/restaurant attached to the hotel, had a great variety, with a packed specials board. The meals were lovely. The staff were always helpful. The only thing I would say, maybe in the evenings, having a few more staff working, they were all working hard, just needed a couple more. Car parking was excellent - they have a large car park located directly outside the hotel, so no problems there. It is like an old estate home, which is reflected in the rooms, but this adds to the charm of the place, which has been modernized with small touches, ie flat screen tv's, WIFI and lovely comfy duvet beds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Liz K

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, we really appreciate the feedback and have taken your comments onboard.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Property: Appley Manor Hotel
Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Hotel Class:2 star — Appley Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing