We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a two day break for both ourselves and family. It was our first stay at Appley Manor Hotel and we were very impressed all round with the hotel itself, the courteous/professional staff and the high standard of the very reasonably priced food in the well appointed and large restaurant with co-located bar. There is an extensive children's menu and specials board in addition to the main menu.

There are twelve rooms in total (two of which are family rooms) which are numbered and named. Our two grandchildren, son and daughter-in-law stayed in Family Room 2 (Rose) while we stayed in Double Room 3 (Daisy) opposite. The Rose Room in particular is very spacious (as is the bathroom) and has views over the Solent with the Spinnaker Tower visible. We were equally pleased with our room.

The hotel - a former Victorian residence built in 1850 - is situated in fairly extensive grounds, set well back from the quiet Appley Road (B3330) and is a pleasant 15 minutes level/downhill walk to Appley Beach with the No. 8 bus stopping near the hotel entrance. Seaview is about a 20 minutes level walk along the coastal path from Appley Beach and a mini bus from Seaview back to the hotel for the six of us cost a mere £5.

Breakfast is optional and not included in the room price but again, prices are very reasonable and is available up until 11:00 in the main restaurant after it has stopped being served earlier in the Breakfast Room.

We will definitely be staying at this lovely hotel again and can thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: I was informed that the Rose Family Room 2 with views over the Solent is the largest in the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank J_J10002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi J_J10002000

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is very much appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time and hope your experience will be just as good.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend away from stress. The hotel room was really spacious and bright. The Hotel Itself is very clean, the building is absolutely gorgeous. The members of staff on arrival could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The hotel restaurant was also fantastic, probably the highlight of our stay. The food was delicious, especially the offers on the board. My favourite was probably the BBQ ribs, would definitely recommend giving it a go if you are staying there. The portions were very reasonable and i though are a good value for money.
All in all a wonderful stay and a lovely location especially if you are planning a trip to the beach.
Stayed for a weekend, travelling with my boyfriend

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Laura W

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Appley Manor Hotel as well as our wide selection of daily Specials.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Appley Manor. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were large & clean. And the food in the main dining room and the attached restaurant was very tasty, reasonable & a very extensive menu to suit all tastes. The hotel was just a short walk from the beach & local stores.

Room Tip: I would recommend the back rooms in the summer as they front rooms get rather hot although the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SusieEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi SusieEms

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Appley Manor Hotel so much! We strive to offer the best service possible and we hope that you will have similar experiences if you choose to stay with us again.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Would highly recommend Appley Manor. The rooms are nice, clean & spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is great and it is just a short walk from the beach. Very good value for money all round.

Room Tip: Preferably rooms at the rear of the hotel as they have sea views are are a little cooler on hot days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Ian V

Thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much, and would look forward to seeing you again if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We can highly recommend going to Appley Manor in Ryde on the Isle of Wight, the venue is spacious, the staff are so helpful and friendly and the food is some of the best we've ever had, good portions and great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, General Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Dawn T

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback, and I am very glad to hear that you so enjoy our food, and service!

Kind Regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for a meal with my family, after coming here on mothers day we thought we'd give it another go.
Although the menu itself doesn't have a wide selection, there is always some good deals on the specials board. The ale we ordered came cloudy, and didn't taste right. On taking it back to the bar we were assured it was a new barrel. We were given a coke instead, and once we went back to the table, my father felt too awkward to go ask for the difference in drinks, but this was shortly bought over to us which was lovely. Our food came promptly and in good size. Probably the best chips I've ever eaten! One thing I did discover was that more than one of the ladies toilets were un-flushable, which wasn't exactly pleasant.
Overall the place could do with a few improvements, such as maybe a bigger choice on the menu, and some of the staff need an improvement in customer service!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Alternative_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Hi Vicky_Vaporeon

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us, we have taken your comments on board and will be talking to our staff about such incidents as this. The problem with the woman's toilets will also be investigated.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Josh asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Initial impression when you see how large and gothic looking this hotel is from outside is that you may be letting yourself in for Fawlty Towers. But it's not like that at all. The staff are friendly and helpful, there is a large bar/restaurant offering a bewildering variety of good value dishes and local beers, and the breakfast is well up to standard. Rooms are named after flowers and all seem quite large and well equipped, with en suite bathrooms or shower rooms. Large car park, lots of outside clientele for the restaurant which underlines the value and variety offered, and it's all around friendly and lively. We were there on a cycling holiday of the Isle of Wight, and it proved a great choice for a large group of us to kick off our itinerary from. Not far from ferry terminal, easily found, good value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snarramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hi Snarramo

I am very glad that you found your stay here up to standard and enjoyable, as well as taking advantage of the adjoining restaurant and bar area. I hope that your cycling was equally enjoyable.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel and look forward to seeing you again if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
416 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
1 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing