We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!”
Review of Appley Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Appley Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Would highly recommend!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed at the Appley Manor over the last 7 years with our family (sometimes 6-13 of us!). My Husband and I have stayed as a couple, family of 3 & this year as a family of 4!
The Hotel itself is a lovely place & full of character. The rooms are clean, tidy & presentable & the family room is huge so plenty of space for our 2 young children & has a stunning view which the children loved as could watch all the boats, cruise ships etc out in the Solent.
The Staff are absolutely fantastic & nothing is too much they are friendly, helpful, professional & extremely good with keeping the children happy, even going the extra mile on many occasions for us!
The restaurant attached is also lovely & we always eat here in the evenings rather than going out elsewhere. The waitresses/waiters are fantastic & the food is excellent & reasonably priced. We can't wait until next year for our Holiday there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hi Tracey P

Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate the feedback! We look forward to seeing you next year, and hope that your stay with us will be just as enjoyable.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    79
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
89
37
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clontarf, Queensland
Level Contributor
312 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the years and always found the rooms, clean and comfortable, this is still the case. My disappointment was with the food. It really was below standard and gave me no reason to ever bother eating there again. We had arranged to meet four people, making six in total, only one was satisfied with the standard of food. It was best described as bland and tasteless. As one diner commented, she would be embarrassed to serve food of this standard at her home.

Its a shame as the hotel remains a nice quiet stay close to town.

Room Tip: The large rooms in the older part of the building are by far the biggest and with the nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Steve

I would just like to thank you for taking the time to review us. I am also very glad that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

I am most disappointed that on this occasion your meals in the Manor Inn restaurant were not up to the strict standards we impose upon ourself regarding the quality of our food. I very much hope that next time you choose to visit us we can provide you with more enjoyable experience.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was a two day break for both ourselves and family. It was our first stay at Appley Manor Hotel and we were very impressed all round with the hotel itself, the courteous/professional staff and the high standard of the very reasonably priced food in the well appointed and large restaurant with co-located bar. There is an extensive children's menu and specials board in addition to the main menu.

There are twelve rooms in total (two of which are family rooms) which are numbered and named. Our two grandchildren, son and daughter-in-law stayed in Family Room 2 (Rose) while we stayed in Double Room 3 (Daisy) opposite. The Rose Room in particular is very spacious (as is the bathroom) and has views over the Solent with the Spinnaker Tower visible. We were equally pleased with our room.

The hotel - a former Victorian residence built in 1850 - is situated in fairly extensive grounds, set well back from the quiet Appley Road (B3330) and is a pleasant 15 minutes level/downhill walk to Appley Beach with the No. 8 bus stopping near the hotel entrance. Seaview is about a 20 minutes level walk along the coastal path from Appley Beach and a mini bus from Seaview back to the hotel for the six of us cost a mere £5.

Breakfast is optional and not included in the room price but again, prices are very reasonable and is available up until 11:00 in the main restaurant after it has stopped being served earlier in the Breakfast Room.

We will definitely be staying at this lovely hotel again and can thoroughly recommend it

Room Tip: I was informed that the Rose Family Room 2 with views over the Solent is the largest in the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_J10002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi J_J10002000

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is very much appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time and hope your experience will be just as good.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend away from stress. The hotel room was really spacious and bright. The Hotel Itself is very clean, the building is absolutely gorgeous. The members of staff on arrival could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The hotel restaurant was also fantastic, probably the highlight of our stay. The food was delicious, especially the offers on the board. My favourite was probably the BBQ ribs, would definitely recommend giving it a go if you are staying there. The portions were very reasonable and i though are a good value for money.
All in all a wonderful stay and a lovely location especially if you are planning a trip to the beach.
Stayed for a weekend, travelling with my boyfriend

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Laura W

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate the feedback. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay At Appley Manor Hotel as well as our wide selection of daily Specials.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Had a fantastic stay at Appley Manor. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were large & clean. And the food in the main dining room and the attached restaurant was very tasty, reasonable & a very extensive menu to suit all tastes. The hotel was just a short walk from the beach & local stores.

Room Tip: I would recommend the back rooms in the summer as they front rooms get rather hot although the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieEms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi SusieEms

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Appley Manor Hotel so much! We strive to offer the best service possible and we hope that you will have similar experiences if you choose to stay with us again.

I would also like to thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Would highly recommend Appley Manor. The rooms are nice, clean & spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is great and it is just a short walk from the beach. Very good value for money all round.

Room Tip: Preferably rooms at the rear of the hotel as they have sea views are are a little cooler on hot days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, Guest Relations Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Ian V

Thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, your feedback is greatly appreciated. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much, and would look forward to seeing you again if you choose to stay with us in the future.

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We can highly recommend going to Appley Manor in Ryde on the Isle of Wight, the venue is spacious, the staff are so helpful and friendly and the food is some of the best we've ever had, good portions and great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles a, General Manager at Appley Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Dawn T

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review Appley Manor Hotel, we really appreciate your feedback, and I am very glad to hear that you so enjoy our food, and service!

Kind Regards

Josh Asher

Customer relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.9 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appley Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appley Manor Hotel

Property: Appley Manor Hotel
Address: Appley Road, Ryde PO33 1PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Hotel Class:2 star — Appley Manor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appley Manor Hotel, Ryde was built in 1850 as a magnificent Victorian residence. Today, Appley Manor Hotel has been extensively refurbished to include all modern comforts and offers you some of the most comfortable accommodation in the Ryde area. Appley Manor is situated on the outskirts of Ryde, and only a short distance from the popular sailing village of Seaview. Ryde's glorious sandy beaches are within a short walking distance. Other amenities within a short distance are Rydes ice rink, 10 pin bowling alley, indoor swimming pool boating lake and town centre ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Appley Manor Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing