We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing with really bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Food of poor quality with Chef of worse quality, disappointing . The staff really try to make up for the inadequacy of the catering and don't deserve to be offering such bad meals. If they spent 10% of the prices charged they would get better food to start with, the Island doesn't deserve places like this.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
4  Thank Denis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesideParkHotel, General Manager at Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

We were sorry to read your review and of your disappointment with the quality of your meal.

Please accept our sincere apologies and I would be grateful if you could contact me personally to discuss this matter further with you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here whilst celebrating our anniversary. Overall it was a very enjoyable weekend and we would love to come again (providing we could get a lakeside view).

Pros:
- Restaurant food (both evening & breakfast)
- Lakeside view from hotel room (well worth getting)
- Massage at the spa (short-lived but excellent)
- Isle of Wight Monopoly in reception (great pastime)
- Pool, jacuzzi, etc (especially in the evening)
- Free 12pm check out offered (usually surcharged)
- Excellent service (particularly at reception)

Cons:
- £4/£8 surcharge for room service (extortionate)
- No ice machine/mini-bar (minor inconvenience)
- TV very outdated (and wonkily wall-mounted)
- Noisy air-conditioning (and seemingly slow)
- No iron provided in room (though can be requested)
- Walls not sound-proof (someone's snoring kept me awake!)

Room Tip: Room 27 has an incredible view. Rooms facing the car park have awful views (we asked to change rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

I came here for Christmas lunch with my family and it was a pretty good meal. The staff were attentive and the food good. Being used to 5 star hotels in London and abroad it did not live up to those levels which is why I am rating as an good not excellent.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank PeteSimmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We spent a night here in December, spending two lovely days relaxing in the pool/spa & had a celebratory dinner in restaurant. The whole stay was great - couldn't fault a thing. The whole hotel was clean with nice decor. Our room was spacious, clean & very comfortable. The spa facilities were good. All staff were friendly & helpful & nothing too much trouble. All food was delicious at both dinner & breakfast and service was good too. Would highly recommend a visit to the Lakeside whether for an overnight stay or just a meal at the restaurant/trip to the spa!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ginster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE THE PLAGUE!!! It looks very nice in the glossy magazines but scratch the surface and this place would get shown up by any 2 Star establishment. The staff are doing an amazing job with the budget produce and products that they are given to work with from the tin pot management, who I even saw shouting at a poor member of staff in front of customers?! (and obviously it was a women). This hotel was a real let down and should be amazing with it's surroundings but instead was poorly run and should be avoided!

Stayed: August 2013
11  Thank 0utnumbered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakesideParkHotel, General Manager at Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

We are concerned to read your review and comments relating to your stay with us over 5 months ago. Please appreciate that this has made your comments difficult for us to fully investigate. Unfortunately, we are not aware of the incident you describe and can confirm that this is definately not the way we work as we are a small and dedicated team who work closely together. I would be grateful if you could call me personally to discuss this matter further. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa to celebrate her birthday and have a romantic break. It was an ideal location for this and surpassed our expectations. It was also very good value.

The staff were all very businesslike and helpful (including booking the ferry for us with a discounted rate before we travelled). Our room was very well furnished and had a lovely view over the estuary. It was really quiet and, despite the hotel having several large Christmas parties ongoing during our stay. was extremely tranquil.

The spa was excellent and the pool and hot tub were lovely. My wife had a couple of treatments and found the staff to be extremely attentive.

Breakfast was excellent and there was a wide choice. The evening we ate in the hotel the food was a little disappointing but I think this is because they were also having to serve a very large Christmas party simultaneously with normal restaurant service.

Overall the hotel was excellent and we will almost definitely be back for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJ75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Lovely relaxing time in the spa but when we went through to the restaurant to eat the staff didn't have our booked table ready (where the timings had been confirmed on two occasions), no bread served before our starters (we were apparently missed), no goats cheese on the goats cheese salad and food that was advertised on the main course menu missing from the meal. No gesture of a free drink for the table because of the mistakes.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
8.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: £96 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New, Purpose built 4 star property set in 37 acres of outstanding natural beauty incorporating a 20 acre lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Park Ryde
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing