We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really lovely lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We arrived for lunch without having prebooked. The waitress said it was not a problem and we were shown to a table overlooking the lake. We had 2 courses from the table d'hôte menu. Aidan the head waiter had only been working at the hotel for a short while, he dealt with our requests with such finesse which enhanced our dining experience. Whilst we waited for our main course we were served with a basket of 3 beautiful varieties of bread made on the premises which, with the lovely butter were a meal in themselves. We both made good choices for our main course, my salmon fricassee was an explosion of tastes and textures, the bisque like sauce was so good I asked for a soup spoon so I didn't waste a drop! My husbands escalope of veal was nicely cooked and served on a bed of pomme purée which he loved. We then each had the most beautiful dessert, a superb dark chocolate mousse and creme brûlée. We were so full we didn't even have room for a coffee. It's a shame that the dining room was so quiet, this hotel is so lovely and the staff genuinely attentive. We were delighted that the owner, Terry, came over to have a chat with us, that made my day. All in all another delightful visit, we've been for lunch here about 3 times and had at least 2 afternoon teas which are equally scrumptious!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Vectis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed at the Lakeside Park Hotel and left yesterday after staying for three days and had a most enjoyable and relaxing time. Our evening meal was absolutely delightful - beautifully presented by pleasant, willing staff and a joy to devour. It would be very difficult to highlight any area which would benefit from any changes being made as it was so competently administered. and presented.

Room Tip: We had room 40 and were completely happy with its location enjoying a lovely view of the lake and me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Easy to find just by the East Cowes, Large lake in front of the hotel set in picturesque grounds. Congratulations to the grounds team. This would be a Stunning setting for a wedding, great for a lovely break, very peaceful very romantic. The Hotel is about 6 years old and it has a continental vibe about it.

The room was clean, the bed is not to firm or soft, ask for soft pillows as the standard are like chunks of wood to sleep on.

The Spa has a sauna, steam room, hot tub and a pool that’s not very deep so great for non swimmers. The beauty therapist are good at the beauty treatments the young lady I had only did Swedish massage but they offer a large selections of beauty treatments.

The food was excellent in evening meal and breakfast buffet. The restaurant and bar area was very pleasant with a fabulous view over the lake. Liam was very good ,with a great personality nothing was too much trouble, great mixoligest, remembered food allergies, so no problems and smiled so 10 out of 10, the rest of the staff were pleasant.

Our only problem came at check out. Items that were not ours had been added to the bill in error, some one had used our room number and charged thing to our room! We pointed this out to the receptionist who said, no they were ours as she had added them upon checking the room number against the receipt. After checking the receipt again she could see it was not my signature and agreed that it did not match the one on the receipt. She then reluctantly removed the overcharge of nearly £30. We were not the first it had happened too when in reception we had seen several couples over the weekend quering their accounts where wrong items or changes had been incorrectly charged to their bill.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view and check you bill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank garngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was staying at the hotel overnight on a Sunday to hold some meetings in the hotel on the Monday. Unfortunately, I had laryngitis so was a bit under the weather, the room service food I had was excellent. Overall, the staff could not have been more helpful, they really looked after me throughout my stay and helped both myself and my colleagues with our meetings the following day. I would definitely stay or use the hotel for meetings again.

Room Tip: If I stayed here again I would upgrade to a Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBlueCatCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We got the last room in the hotel! The accommodation was good, the Filipino Receptionist was so helpful and cheerful, she is an asset to the hotel. The breakfasts were good, can't comment on the other meals as we were visiting different parts of the island, so did not eat in. WIFI was free and the location is excellent for ferries and a visit to Osborne House. We didn't have time to try out the Spa unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JasperSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Booked two night deal here of very good value for money. When we arrived we were upgraded to the best suite in the hotel which was beautiful and spacious, fantastic bathroom. Probably quite pricey is paying full price. There is lots of parking at the hotel next to a beautiful lake and grounds which we had a bedroom view of. The restaurant was the best thing about the hotel, extremely good value if just eating at the restaurant as a non resident. The food was well presented and delicious. The swimming pool is not as big as the photos made it look, and unfortunately there was a couple splashing about and kept turning on the shower jets which did not leave much room for swimming without being distracted or splashed, I didn't see the value of having these showers as the pool was too small - my only small criticism of the entire stay. The spa was lovely and we both had a back massage which was fantastic. The isle of wight itself is beautiful with so much to do, even in October when we stayed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Visited this Hotel on a deal and was very impressed with the quality of the Hotel, beautifully appointed room and Spa facilities. Also nice to find a bottle of chilled bubbly awaiting our arrival which hadn't been mentioned in the deal and was a much appreciated touch! Enjoyable spa treatment and nice indoor pool and Jacuzzi. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with a lovely view across a small lake. Staff very friendly and helpful. Red Funnel ferry very efficient.
Overall, a highly recommended and enjoyable stay. Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: All looked good. Very quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
8.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
903 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
487 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Address: High Street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: £129 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New, Purpose built 4 star property set in 37 acres of outstanding natural beauty incorporating a 20 acre lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Park Ryde
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing