We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best venue not just in wootton but the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Wootton Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best venue not just in wootton but the island”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I am local to the lakeside and quite honestly it is the best place to go and eat or have drink on the whole isle of wight. We often eat here as a family and the food is out of this world. I can honestly say that i have not found another restaurant as good. Every member of staff here cannot do enough for you all so friendly.It is set in lovely grounds so when the kids are with us they have plenty of room to run around in the garden. Its so nice to have a drink after a day at work and just relax. Personally i cannot fault the lakeside and have been to many hotels all over uk and europe and its still nice to come home to the lakeside. So if you have read a negative take ot from me and just ignore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    247
    87
    22
    33
See reviews for
150
559
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It's a mystery. What is missing from this hotel? Modern, functional building, tick. Lake view, tick. Great restaurant, tick. Clean and ample rooms, tick. I think it may be something simple like atmosphere, ambience, joie de vivre. The staff were accommodating and polite. The spa treatment was enjoyed by my wife, so that was all good. Perhaps it is the location, just 5 minutes from the ferry at Fishbourne. Too close to the ferry and not close enough to Ryde?
Ok, well setting aside any reservations, this hotel has everything you need apart from a gym, although you can jog along a bridal path nearby.
A quick word about the chef and restaurant; understanding that we were celebrating our anniversary, we got complimentary champagne before our meal and a dessert served on a large black plate with 'Happy Anniversary' penned on with cream. Excellent work.
The room was hot, on a not so hot day. The aircon was on 100% of the time to keep this under control.
The bed was a standard double (not queen or king sized) and soft. Disappointing really.
There is a pub within 5 minutes walk, although it is a BUSY family carvery, so don't expect a quiet pint.
I'm sorry to mark down this hotel, but we felt that the previous reviews gave a flattering picture, which I am not convinced the hotel deserves.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view. Not that there is much happening on the lake, mind you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kneeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lets be honest here. It's horses for courses. If you want 'olde worlde' atmosphere, move on. If you want modern looks, snap snap service, clean lines with rooms that are similar to those of Premier Inns, this is the place for you.
The resort is right on the banks of a tidal lake and has extensive areas for sitting out to admire the view. One small criticism however. Lots of tables and chairs, but not one lounger to be seen anywhere. This is a resort?
The food is excellent, the service exemplary and delivered with a smile from the mainly young staff. They are well trained and deserve a pat on the back. The drinks at the bar are VERY competitively priced and with it comes table service that would put many a classy establishment in the B ratings.
Personally, I am not a great fan of the style and decor etc of this resort. However, it will appeal to many and I would not like to take away from it, the type of market it is aimed at. It has many pluses. I cannot comment on the spa facilities myself as I didn't use them. Nevertheless, I have it on good authority from my wife (who did), that they were well up to standard.

Would I return? Actually yes, I would.

Room Tip: Ask for one with lake views. lovely to wake up to in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigglesMGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was our second stay at Lakeside Park - we'd visited at the end of November last year and had decided to come back and see it in early summer. We weren't disappointed. Very calm and relaxing atmosphere. Front desk staff are very efficient, helpful and smiling!
We had a good ground floor room with lakeside view. I really appreciate the fact that in the double room there were two comfortable chairs to sit on - stops any discussion about who gets the one chair available.
As has already been mentioned, the food is very good and excellent value.
I'm not quite sure how they do it, but their bar prices and wine prices are the best I've come across anywhere.
Visited the spa as a complementary neck, back, shoulder massage was included in our deal. Again very calm and relaxing with welcoming therapists - nice to have a "chill out" room to relax in before and after treatment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verduret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Room was lovely. We paid extra for the lake view and it was just brilliant. Room was right next to the spa which was wonderful - pool was great, steam-room and sauna nice and the shower with all different water effects was far better than I imagined. Nice jacuzzi too with all this looking out over a landscaped area that was very private.

Food was exceptionally nice and very reasonably nice. The menu changed each night and when we could, we chose to eat in the hotel. Just out of the hotel are footpaths through historic woodland and lovely meadows, and the other side of the road is a nice little area to sit and watch the boats on the river.

Staff were extremely friendly and I would happily go back there.

Room Tip: room 12 has lake view and is right near the spa - very peaceful and convenient for a quick swim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GadgetGal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We went here on a Secret Escape few days break and from the moment we arrived to the time we left we were made to feel very welcome. The food was wonderful and the room fantastic (given an upgrade with views across the lake). We will definitely be back and I can't wait so relaxing and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very friendly staff, excellent rooms, very comfortable beds, nice breakfast. The only downside- spa is slightly too basic: the steam room needs renovation, sauna room is tiny and jacuzzi was all to small. Otherwise a very nice place, would certainly visit it again.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view over the lake, otherwise it will be over the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evgenia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
8.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
7.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Address: High Street | Wootton Bridge, Ryde PO33 4LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New, Purpose built 4 star property set in 37 acres of outstanding natural beauty incorporating a 20 acre lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Park Ryde
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing