We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in Ryde -it has the best transport links for footpassengers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryde Harbour

Ryde Harbour
Ranked #12 of 36 things to do in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Stay in Ryde -it has the best transport links for footpassengers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

I own a nice fancy car but always want a bargain bucket discount so I travel from London Victoria Coach Station to the Isle of Wight for £1. The journey including crossing is £8 and is simply a print out confirmation which allows me to queue jump straight to the boarding area. I always choose to travel to Ryde via the CAT as it is only 7 mins as opposed to 10 mins on hoovercraft and boat. Ryde has all amenities and a fantastic bus route and trains into Shanklin. Getting round the West of the island is difficult as a footpassenger so being centrally located in Ryde is essential. Cash machines, supermarkets and tourist informtion are ideally located. Ryde is tourist friendly.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    32
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“ticket to Ryde”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We found Ryde to be very interesting starting from Driving onto the Pier yes driving onto the pier and parking at the end also has a rail platform and the catarmaran stops at the end of the pier to take passengers to portsmouth.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mark_keefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“peace and quiet lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

lovely place to visit nice and clean nice places to eat and drink .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suedaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“who needs a train!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a 15 minute walk that is well worth taking in fine weather. Yes, you can travel in the 1930's train which operates across parts of the island but we found the fresh air and the sunshine meant wheeling our cases was not a struggle.
When you arrive at the end of the pier there is the bus station to many other parts of the island. Note: buses can be described as a 'regular' service but some are infrequent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Harbour master's office”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just enjoyed walking around and reading the info the harbourmaster writes on the board.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryde Harbour also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Ryde Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing