We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cote Little Upton Farm”
Review of Little Upton Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Upton Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My mother and I stayed at The Cote ( self catering). This is by far the best place I've stayed in. Facilities superb and the private courtyard and decking was beautiful. Delicious homemade cake on arrival and made to feel very welcome. Will definitely be going back,well placed for touring the island.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanval100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Little Upton Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

Stayed in the Tithe Barn at Little Upton Farm and although it was in a nice setting and the owners friendly we were disappointed with some aspects of the accommodation.The settees were worn and badly need replacing they were uncomfortable and hard to relax in. The frying pans were dirty and past their best and the kitchen was not as equipped as it should be. There were some cobwebs and the cottage would benefit from updating as it has got a little tired. On a more positive note the cottage offers en suite bathrooms in all bedrooms and is ideal for children and couples alike who want a relaxing quiet time yet close to the beaches at Ryde. With a little T.L.C. this cottage could once again be unbeatable so come on Alison and Howard dont let your standards slip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We have just returned from a week in the Old Byre at Little Upton Farm and it is the best family holiday we have ever had. We took our 2 and 4 year old children, and Granny too. The accommodation and setting is extremely child friendly. There was plenty to see and do in the garden but all very safe. My daughter was over the moon when Alison brought a couple of ponies into the back garden and let her feed and then sit on one. You can lose yourself watching the ducks, sheep and cows - and Alison does a great demonstration of rounding the sheep with her wonderful dogs. And, just to top it all, you are only 5 minutes from Ryde and 10-15 minutes from a number of great beaches. Would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

What a truely wonderful place Little Upton Farm is. It was our first trip to the Isle of Wight and we had a fantastic, relaxing time on this working farm in the most beautiful countryside - and we were amazed how easy it was to get there from London. The accomodation is brilliant - Tithe Barn even has a roof terrace attached to the master bedroom which manages to catch the morning and evening sunshine. It was all spotlessly clean and had all the amenities we needed. There was a good, shared, contained garden for the kids out the front - but they loved going to see ponies, sheep, cows, tractors - and getting a ride on the quad bike. Alison and Howard are wonderful hosts - even providing cake on arrival - amazing. We will definitely be going back - and hopefully taking our friends with us.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_ankle_biters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed at Little Upton Farm in one of the self catering barns. On arrival we were met by Howard, the farmer, who showed us to our accommadation telling us there was "tea and cake in the kitchen" What a place. The views were simply stunning, even though it was a grey day. The barn itself was beautifully furnished, well equipped and clean. There is a garden for the children to play in which is fenced and self.
Every morning our 10yrd was out helping with the animals on the farm. He had the best time ever, now wants to be a farmer when he is older! Me and my husband had such a relaxing time we didn't want to come home. Although the weather was not great we found plenty to do on the Island and even ran out of time to do some of the things we wanted. Howard and Alison, the owners, made us feel very welcome and were really helpful.
This is a great place to come with or without children. Please don't tell anybody as it gets really booked up quickly, I can see why. We will be going back again and again.!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We experienced a most laid back and leisurely holiday at a beautifully situated working farm in IOW.It would appeal to a large range of holidaymakers. Relaxing on the patio with stunning views in the remote and quiet English countryside with a good read and a glass of wine in hand is the idyllic way to holiday for some.For others plenty of Island attractions are available within close proximity. There are also enough footpaths and coastal walks to enjoy nearby.YOU WILL NOT WANT TO LEAVE!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray_pougher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Spent a week in the Old Byre and couldn't have wished for a more relaxing and comfortable stay. Fabulous views over the surrounding countryside. My alarm clock was the amusing sound of the ducks splish splashing in the pond each morning. Alison and Howard are excellent hosts.
This was our first visit to the Isle of Wight and would recommend it for families with children as well as older folks. There is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jeantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.0 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
399 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
401 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Upton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Upton Farm

Address: Little Upton Farm Gatehouse Road, Ryde PO33 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ryde
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Upton Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Upton Farm stands on a gentle hill facing south, on a 200-acre working farm with ponds, birds and animals. It comprises three holiday units, comprising one converted cattle shed and 2 converted barns, each of which can accommodate up to 6 people guests. Two of the units adjoin each other and can be linked to sleep 12. With its magnificent views across a valley of mature parkland and peaceful setting, visitors can relax and unwind from the vigours of every day life. Alternatively, you can make the most of indulging yourself in the day to day life of a working farm which could include tractor trips, feeding the cows, pony rides or even a zip around the fields on the quad bike! Located in rural Ashey and surrounded by footpaths and bridleways, with the beech, shops and restaurants only a short drive away, Little Upton Farm offers you everything you need to make your stay a holiday to remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Upton Farm Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing