We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Review of Little Upton Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Upton Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My daughter (age 5) and I stayed in The Cote, one of the self-catering converted barns on the farm and it was absolutely delightful. It was a fantastic escape from my commute to work in London every day and just spend some quality time with my daughter in wonderful surroundings.

As two girls alone, we felt very safe and secure in the cottage and around the farm itself. The Cote was immaculate, cosy, peaceful and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay and the private walled courtyard garden was lovely.

Alison and Howard made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed the yummy homemade cake that was in our cottage on arrival. My daughter loved the trampoline and looking at the sheep, cows and horses on the farm and even got a tractor ride. The farm is in a great location for touring the island.

We had a fab time and would definitely recommend to friends and family and hope to visit again ourselves very soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Yes- we were back for the 9th year in the Barns (this year a group of 12, joined by one of our regular families who couldn't make the whole week but couldn't stay away and so stayed in a B and B near by for a couple of nights) and despite the freezing cold we were warm as toast and had a brilliant time, made great as ever by Alison and Howard's personal touches. The six kids, now 10 and 5 year olds, loved the quad bike rides, the dogs, the rides and the tractor...and of course the famous trampoline!
The new ovens made all the difference for our Easter Sunday roast and with internet coming this week these barns have everything you need for a wonderful family holiday.....and yes- you've guessed..we've already booked for our 10th anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This was our first time on the Island and we're so happy to have found the Little Upton Farm. stayed at the Cote and it was very good for the children. We've never felt so safe leaving them out on their own to play. there was so much to do on the farm alone. Our son enjoyed his almost daily ride on the tractor, there was a huge trampoline, and a mini lake ( obviously with adult supervision) where they paddled on a boat. Alison ang Howard are very friendly and welcoming. she even had a full cake made for us! Thank you so much for making our first visit to the island a memorable one and hoping to go back there again.... :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 18vrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Althought the weather was cold and windy ~ there were still snow drifts visable from the windows on our arrival. The Brye was nice and warm with a great view over the farm land and further over the Island
A great place to be based to explore and travel around the island with everything you needed only a five minute drive away
Although only a few miles from the ferry & Ryde it felt as if you were miles away from the rat race
Many thanks to Howard and Alison
We hope to return one day

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at The Cote, one of the self catering cottages on the farm. It was a fantastic break. There is lots to do on the Isle for kids and the farm is well located and a short drive to everywhere.
Alison and Howard were thoughtful and welcoming. Our son enjoyed the animals on the farm. Puppies, Horses, cows.
The cottage was very cosy and quiet. High chairs, cots and even a few fantastic toys to play with. Outdoor slide and grassy area to run around in too.
Cottage has a stair gate and an enclosed space for our boy to run around.

We had a great time and would certainly recommend.
Go stay, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RVmomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Little Upton Farm was a fantastic venue for a half term break. The owners, Alison and Howard, went the extra mile with our young children to make them feel welcome. They moved the trampoline when the tractor needed to get at the hay, they took the children for rides in their tractor, and even let them join them when checking on and rounding up the sheep. They even joined in the Halloween fun! I thoroughly recommend this accomodation to those who want a peaceful haven for adults, with lots of fun and things to see for the kids.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harvey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed in Old Byre Barn at Little Upton Farm and didn't want to leave! We received a very warm welcome from Howard and Alison on our arrival along with a delicious home made cake. Old Byre has been beautifully converted from a milking shed to holiday accommodation of a very high standard. The barn was well equipped and immacuately clean and met the needs of my elderly parents, including a ground floor bedroom with ensuite bathroom and walk in shower. The views across the fields and downs were amazing and could be enjoyed from the sun loungers on the patio. It was a very peaceful relaxing holiday and we have already booked for next year. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ryde hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
431 reviews
2 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ryde
167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
1.9 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#16 of 17 in Ryde
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Park Lodge B&B
Park Lodge B&B
#6 of 17 in Ryde
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Upton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Upton Farm

Address: Little Upton Farm Gatehouse Road, Ryde PO33 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Ryde
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Upton Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Upton Farm stands on a gentle hill facing south, on a 200-acre working farm with ponds, birds and animals. It comprises three holiday units, comprising one converted cattle shed and 2 converted barns, each of which can accommodate up to 6 people guests. Two of the units adjoin each other and can be linked to sleep 12. With its magnificent views across a valley of mature parkland and peaceful setting, visitors can relax and unwind from the vigours of every day life. Alternatively, you can make the most of indulging yourself in the day to day life of a working farm which could include tractor trips, feeding the cows, pony rides or even a zip around the fields on the quad bike! Located in rural Ashey and surrounded by footpaths and bridleways, with the beech, shops and restaurants only a short drive away, Little Upton Farm offers you everything you need to make your stay a holiday to remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Upton Farm Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing