We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little Upton Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ryde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Upton Farm
Harpenden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed in the three bedroomed Old Byre. The facilities were perfect for us - and have been updated since the photos. The views were beautiful and the upstairs terrace was perfect.

We have three girls - 8, 5 and 6 months and they all loved the holiday for different reasons. My eldest loved the freedom to roam around the farm, horses and stables on site and making friends. My five year old the trampoline, garden toys and chatting to Alison!! And the garden, space in the cottage and cows and sheep to watch were perfect for my 6 month old.

The farm is in a great location and ideal for families. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Have just returned from our second holiday in the Tithe Barn and was as impressed this time as the last. The accommodation is excellent and in an area that we love the most. Alison and Howard can't do enough for you and Alison is brilliant with the children giving them her time and the opportunity to see life on a working farm. We wouldn't hesitate in recommending Upton Farm to anyone and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just returned (10-Aug) from a Sat-Sat stay in the Byre accommodation. This was without doubt the best holiday we have had in the UK. Upon arrival we were greeted by Alison and made to feel instantly welcome. After unpacking our bags we enjoyed a cup of tea and a slice of delicious cake that was provided for us. The accommodation is superb and views across the extensive farmland make for a very idyllic setting. The Isle of Wight offers so much for a family holiday. The weather was superb for us during our one week stay and the location of Little Upton Farm means short journeys to many of the island's attractions and a nice rural retreat to relax in. Howard and Alison are really nice hosts, both much appreciated by our children. Alison took our girls into the farm on a quad bike to check on the sheep and also brought in a pony and let them ride around the farm. We made good use of the table tennis table in the garden and had several walks around the farmland. The patio space is a nice area to sit in the evening and the balcony area in the Byre accommodation is great for appreciating the views. The booking experience was good and Howard was very helpful in arranging our ferry tickets (for which we got a discount on the price we would have paid if we booked ourselves). I couldn't recommend this place enough for a family holiday - give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Well I have to say The Cote accommodation we stayed in was quaint, quiet and such a lovely place to be. Alison and Howard two superb hosts. Such characters and lovely people. Whilst The Cote itself does not have the 'views' (to which obviously you would pay more for) it holds all the character a converted piggery should have. With beams in view and farm type furniture the stay was lovely.

Howard allowed my son to drive a tractor, Alison showed put Swift the Border Collie through his true duties, allowing us to view him at work rounding up the sheep. It's difficult not to praise the hosts or the barn or its working farm surroundings.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank theorangeotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very happy to report our return visit in June was as good as our first visit last September. This really is the most beautiful and tranquil place to stay. My elderly parents found the facilities in the cottage very comfortable and the ground floor bedroom and ensuite bathroom is ideal for people with limited mobility. The weather wasn't great so we weren't able to relax on the large patio as hoped but instead we sat around the cosy log burning stove and admired the view from indoors. Lovely to see Alison and Howard who again made us very welcome. Hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayle58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Just returned from staying at Little Upton. The views from the barn are amazing and very relaxing. The farm is perfectly situated for visitors to get around the island . The accommodation is immaculate and tastefully decorated and well equipped .
The owners are very helpful and friendly. The enclosed private patio space is a sun trap and safe for young children . There are wonderful walks to be had with exceedingly well marked paths. Would certainly stay again and recommend Upton Farm to any one visiting the Island.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winches
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Long weekend break with our two year old daughter, we stayed in The Cote, which has a nice open plan layout to the living area, good sized kitchen and en-suite bathrooms to each of the two bedrooms. There's a private garden which is fenced in so great for the little one to run about in, as well as a separate shared garden, also fenced in, with a slide and climbing frame. It's a beautiful and peaceful location, well situated for getting around the island. Our daughter enjoyed meeting the dogs, horses, cows and the baby ducklings. Very warm welcome, delicious cake on arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
2.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
7.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
3.2 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Upton Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Upton Farm

Property: Little Upton Farm
Address: Little Upton Farm Gatehouse Road, Ryde PO33 4BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Ryde
Hotel Class:4 star — Little Upton Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Upton Farm stands on a gentle hill facing south, on a 200-acre working farm with ponds, birds and animals. It comprises three holiday units, comprising one converted cattle shed and 2 converted barns, each of which can accommodate up to 6 people guests. Two of the units adjoin each other and can be linked to sleep 12. With its magnificent views across a valley of mature parkland and peaceful setting, visitors can relax and unwind from the vigours of every day life. Alternatively, you can make the most of indulging yourself in the day to day life of a working farm which could include tractor trips, feeding the cows, pony rides or even a zip around the fields on the quad bike! Located in rural Ashey and surrounded by footpaths and bridleways, with the beech, shops and restaurants only a short drive away, Little Upton Farm offers you everything you need to make your stay a holiday to remember! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Upton Farm Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing