We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting better again but not quite there yet...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Cafe Bar and Restaurant - CLOSED

Joe's Cafe Bar and Restaurant
Price range: US$16 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Originally part of a small chain called Joe Daflos based in Southampton and Isle of Wight.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Getting better again but not quite there yet...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The new team at Joes have a lot of work to do if they want to get Joes back to where it was and where it should be. It's a real shame that after too many different teams running it and obvious money problems that it was run into the ground.

I've had a few good lunches there over the past few months and a couple of bad ones but my points were gracefully recieved and the bill adjusted accordingly on one occasion.

It's a shame that a couple of weeks ago I ordered a dry white wine at the bar and the girl had to admit to me that she didn't know what wines were dry. Sure that's just basic training. On another lunch time, the waitress forgot to add our drinks to the bill ( just soft drinks) and almost argued with about what we did or didn't have.

The new furniture and lanterns outside look great though and things certainly do seem to be getting better there. Long may it continue.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kathiow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    30
    19
    21
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great - and not just to hide from the thunder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were in just as a major thunderstorm hit Ryde; we were pleased to be inside, but not just because of the thunderstorm!

There's a good range of food, and plenty to keep the range of kids happy (I had four with me, aged 13 to 5).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mike_registrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Went here a few weeks ago with some friends for a meal and cant really fault...all our meals where delicious and waiter very helpful too :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jodyanna13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Under new management which has resulted in positive changes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food and service has improved and are reasonably priced.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sumara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing in every way!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

went to joes a few weeks ago and i must say the place just gets better and better! Me and a few of my friends usally go to olivo's which is up the road but thought we would try joes as we have heard nothing but good stuff since its takeover and i must say what a transformation!! the place looked very clean and the wine glasses on the tables were sparkling! we decided to order some food which arrived looking stunning. we all started with the fish chowder, which was so flavoursome. i then had roasted chicken and i must say i now have a new 'favourite dish' after eating it! then came to dessert, i ordered a cheesecake which looked fantastic and tasted amazing and it even came out with a little joe's sign made of chocolate! i have to say overall this is one of the best places i have eaten on the island and when i return i will definatly be coming back!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tompkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Cafe Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing