We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak and service! Shame about the previous reviewers!”
Review of The Alamo

The Alamo
Ranked #7 of 92 Restaurants in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$31
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best steak and service! Shame about the previous reviewers!”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the whole 'Alamo' experience was exceptional. It's just a shame that the previous 'reviewers' and their foul drunken language felt the need to be so vile and ruin the evening for us other diners! After they announced they would be leaving a bad review on here (just before drunkenly falling out of the door) I felt that I should make aware their opinions are completely out of order! We have visited the Alamo before and always had delicious steak along with friendly service! How the staff and management refrained themselves from asking these people to leave is beyond me! I hope I never have the unpleasant experience of sharing a restaurant with them again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ella1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    38
    11
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We visited to celebrate my birthday last night we arrived early as discussed on the phone and were shown to the seating area downstairs we were a party of 4 but had to sit separately - others waiting had been offered nacho's with their drinks but we had to ask. The menu sounded mouth watering so expectations were high - we enjoyed our starters of calamari and wild west skins but our mains were really disappointing - we had read reviews before booking so were expecting succulent steaks out of the 4 there was only 1 that was worth the money - we did mention this on the evening but feel that this was not taken on board -

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Service very poor little short of arrogance from the man when we told him the meat had more fat content than meat. Chips were very anaemic and plenty to fill the plate up .Went there after reading reviews and hearing wave 105 review most disappointing meal in a very long time.To be told ribeye is fatty is rubbish had many lovely rib eyes in other venues. I personally feel customer service goes a long way and this was as poor as the food !!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mmmmmm yummy”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Fitted us in at last minute, we were only in town from Hastings for a few days, stuck for somewhere to eat , lovely staff fitted us in with 20 mins to go xxx food was aaammmaaaazzzziinnngg , my steak was gorgeous x. Staff were lovely and attentive xx only thing that let it down was some drunk people but that weren't down the the staff xxx thx so much xx one very full satisfied customer xxx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyawoowoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Did not want scooterists”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I booked this venue many months ago, I read some good reviews, But I was very disappointed, we were not made that welcome, we were there for the scooter weekend. 4 of us ordered two bottles of wine and got 3 glasses, I eventually found the waitress who gave us another glass. Steak very fatty, would not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greatjolly, Owner at The Alamo, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Did not want scooterists....
Thankyou for your review John, firstly I am sorry you had such a bad experience at the Alamo,
Everyone has the right to have a opinion as I have the right to reply.
In your review, the wine glasses seemed to be a big issue, although one of your party was drinking larger and the waitress ( her first night working at the Alamo) only thought three glasses were needed, so I apologise about that.
As for not made to feel welcome, i greeted you on entry to the restaurant and asked you down to the bar for drinks. I still do not understand your title for the review, we have had scooterists returning to the Alamo for the past four years, on the very night you came in we moved table bookings around to accommodate some scooterists that wanted to come in, scooterists are apart of island life every August bank holiday and we look forward to seeing old and new diners.
My final point John is your steak very fatty, please explain why you didn't mention this when the table check was done, if there was any problems we could of put them right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alamo also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing