We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has character” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Alamo

The Alamo
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Has character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

First time here, and had heard good things about it. Loved the décor, and theme of the place, which gave it character and a sense of fun. The saloon bar downstairs was nice. Its small, but has lots of character. Our party had a mix of starters and main courses. I had a steak, along with two others (all different types), all of which were excellent. All the food was nicely cooked and presented and I really enjoyed. Too stuffed to eat any desserts though!

Overall a really excellent and enjoyable evening, and I would love to return. Shortly to be under new owners, so I hope it will be just as good next time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HappyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    36
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty, cosy, very enjoyable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Called up to make a reservation early evening, and when we arrived we were greeted by a smile. Knew the booking name as we walked in, a very nice touch. Went downstairs for a drink before we were sat at the table. Whilst downstairs in the well decorated saloon style bar, we were given complimentary nachos and dip. Staff member appeared very friendly and was able to have a laugh and a joke with him. He then took our order (whilst still lounging across some very comfy sofas!), and told us he'd get us when the food was nearly ready.
When the food was ready, we were sat at our table, shortly followed by our meals. Meals arrived, with great presentation. Great sized portions, and great tasting food. The price looks to be a little off-putting, however you do get what you pay for. We will be returning! Thank you!

*THEY ALSO CATER FOR VEGETARIANS!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank seanwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth a look.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Had our company Christmas meal here in December. Very nice little restaurant with attentive staff. Most of us had steaks which were lovely with good portion sizes. We'll worth a visit and I'll be going back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Returning customer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

I have been to the Alamo on numerous occasions and found the food to be very good, as well as the service. Gentleman always greets in a polite manner and waitress was friendly. A nice touch would be to order whilst your having drinks downstairs and go up when it's ready as the wait would not seem as long. They offer alternatives to steak ie chicken, chilli etc and gold rush starter is amazing! Hard to get hold of to make a reservation is a criticism I see online, but have never found this myself.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SamFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Lovely food, was a bit slow but was a very busy night and the staff were lovely without being too in your face, a bit differentt to usual dining experiences , not badly priced, will be back :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank KMarie718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alamo also viewed

 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Alamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing