We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Poor service and average quality for the price.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hong Kong Express

Hong Kong Express
Ranked #45 of 83 Restaurants in Ryde
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This rather nice take-away or sit-in Chinese retaurant is on the front at Ryde, opposite the pier.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and average quality for the price.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I recently phoned an order through and was told there would be a 40 min wait. I arrived after 30 mins to find the place empty apart from 2 people at a table so I guessed there'd been a rush on the phone orders. My food was given to me immediately so I don't know why I was told 40 mins or how long my food had been sat there. It wasn't until I'd got home that I realised that 1 dish had been forgotten and the duck with pancakes had no hoi sin sauce and only spring onion, no cucumber.
I live some distance away and returning was out of the question so I called and explained the problem. First I was told they'd deliver it, then I'd receive a credit note for my next visit. I said I wanted a partial refund and after some discussion about consumer rights I was told I'd get a refund. When I checked my account a day or so later I'd only been refunded on the missing dish!
They also used to do free prawn crackers but I didn't get any despite a family sized order.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MettyMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    10
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good cheap chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

good cheap Chinese food and they also deliver will always order a Chinese from here, food is tasty and included is rice in your orders, no hidden extra for rice

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank supersu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not ask for delivery”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Ordered good to be delivered, came within 45 mins (which bearing in mind it was Christmas Eve wasn't too bad). Half the order was missing, after 2 phone calls most of it then arrived. A further phonecall and then most if the remaining order arrived. After a fourth phonecall to enquire where the missing dish was, I was offered a credit against future orders (which to be frank is unlikely!). Despite not delivering the full order we did not receive any refund. However, the food which did arrive was very tasty!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SutcliffeFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Great food plus we could hear oursleves think!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Everywhere we tried seemed so busy and/or loud music and we are friends who don't meet that often and wanted to catch up. Came upon this gem by chance. Plenty of room and music volume low so we could chat easily. Veggies seem well catered for and the cheaper selection for 2 was really delicious. The food turned up quickly, well presented and piping hot. The staff were friendly and seemed to work well together. Good value for money too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Simple yet very tasty chinese food in Ryde. The menu has everything you'd expect and then some. Eat in or take out and they deliver! Friendly and helpful staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hong Kong Express also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Hong Kong Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing