We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best dining on the island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fishbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fishbourne Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best dining on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

After driving for miles couldn't find a pub that met with my expectation for me eveninv out until I came across this little beauty !! Great decor - great food - great atmosphere !! nearly gave up that anything like this existed in the Isle of Wight !! Popping back for lunch in the lovely garden :))!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank walshie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    58
    20
    22
    13
See reviews for
52
74
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Extremely clean and well done out rooms. Staff very friendly and helpful . Food excellent and great place as a base for touring the island. Stayed here many times and never been disappointed . The food is always fresh and well presented. Good sized car park and a lovely walk down to the sea. Easy for getting buses into Newport and ryde.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timwoodhams1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We visited The Fishbourne Inn for dinner at the end of April and were delighted with its location, atmosphere and menu. The contemporary interior was welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. We liked it so much we went back the following day just for coffee on the terrace which provided a lovely view across the Solent. We were staying overnight elsewhere, but will definitely choose to stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: only used the restaurant facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel having stayed in a cheaper b&b last year in Ryde which was awful. For not a lot extra we were extremely happy to have found this beautiful location with outstanding individual rooms all with a cottage type feel, clean, warm and very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and friendly. There was specific allocated car parking numbered to your room which I thought was a nice touch. Tea / coffee making facilities in the room and the all important Free wifi!!! The shower was fantastic, the bed was comfortable and clean and the breakfast was freshly cooked to your request. We had dinner on the first night, all produce is sourced locally and with a smaller menu, you can tell each dish is also freshly cooked. The outside area which has just been renovated will be a hive of activity in the summer, we will return, no doubt about that!!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

It's been many years since I have visited this pub, and I was pleasantly surprised, there is a lovely bright and airy extension which is now part of the restaurant and a new outdoor eating area which will be lovely in the summer.

The food being served looked very appetising, with the emphasis on seafood, unsurprising really, as we were only metres from the sea. We only wanted a light lunch, so opted for the fresh crab sandwiches, which although jolly tasty, we did leave still feeling hungry.

We only stopped here for lunch, we did not stay over, but the atmosphere was good, and the property was clean tidy and welcoming. Situated less than half a mile from the ferry port at fishbourne, yet away from all the ferry traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We enjoyed a long weekend stay in April and were not disappointed. The decor of the pub and en-suite rooms is of a high quality standard - right up my street to have country-style contemporary comfort in a lovely, traditional setting. I want to live in a house like this!
Last summer we were unfortunate enough to experience a grotty, dated dump in Shanklin, but had come across this pub while having a drink before catching our ferry home from Fishbourne. It had such a nice feel that we promised ourselves a return visit to stay, as the boutique style accommodation was only £10 a night more than for the dump.

We stayed Thursday to Sunday night inclusive, and enjoyed a pub quiz on Thursday, and had dinner on the Friday at the pub. Nice food, maybe not the cheapest, but I was happy to pay £9.95 for the home-made pie of the day with veg. It was delicious. Compare the price to the microwave specials you get in a lot of pubs including Wetherspoons and you're only paying a couple of quid extra for something lovely. On the Saturday evening I had half a bottle of champagne served on ice, which sorted my drinks for the evening very nicely. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast excellent, and we had a gorgeous big room - more like a suite. Must give the power shower a special mention too - superb.


P
view over the Solent

Room Tip: Room 503 has a sea view and is a really good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed on business last night and was impressed by the renovation which has been carried out at the Inn. The staff very friendly and helpful.
The room albeit a bit small was well appointed in keeping with the building. A light and airy feel as well as nicely chosen furniture.
The bathroom warm and with a great walk in shower. All was very clean and well kept.
I did not eat during my stay, but the menu looked very appetising and there were a lot of diners.
A slight downer for business travel is that breakfast starts only at 8 am unless ordered in advance ( continental option only).
I

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemgotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
1.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
4.6 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fishbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fishbourne Inn

Property: The Fishbourne Inn
Address: 111 Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fishbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Fishbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fishbourne Inn Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing