We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rooms over a gastro style pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fishbourne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fishbourne Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
Henfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms over a gastro style pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here last week with friends and found this to be a charming place to stay. The rooms are well appointed with good size bathrooms and a good shower. Our friends had a suite which was even bigger and worth the extra money. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room but only one tea bag each a few - more would be welcome and probably our fault for not asking!

Whilst the printed menu is a little ordinary the specials board is extensive and the two nights we dined here had dishes off the specials which were delicious, a very good wine list is also available.

Staff are all very friendly and helpful and the breakfast which was included in the price was excellent.

Overall a lovely place very close to the ferry and a lovely outside patio makes this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    64
    24
    25
    13
See reviews for
59
81
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, Isle of Wight, UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I'd say the food here lies somewhere between a standard pub and a gastropub. There is a printed menu and a specials board. Local steaks.

Service is quick and friendly. Tables aren't too close together. Nice garden if the weather permits.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank eclipsemullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Highly recommend the fish and chips to anyone. The best meal all holiday. Just shame it was before our boarding of the ferry home.
Location wise it's lovely peaceful. Staff all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonGentle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Excellent Hotel with so much to offer. A peaceful location with the closest location to the Fishbourne Ferry Terminal. Comfortable and well appointed rooms with a stunning family room offering sea views from the side window. The restaurant offers freshly cooked home food in the evening and the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are competitively priced and the staff are really welcoming.

I would definitely recommend The Fishbourne Hotel to the business traveller.

Room Tip: The Family room is a little more expensive but much larger and certainly more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guardo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were staying at the Lakeside Park Hotel and Spa and this pub is about 5 minutes drive up the road. We went at 7.30 p.m.on a Monday evening for dinner and found a couple of family groups finishing their meal and a decent sprinkling of couples of all ages at various stages of their meals. Several small groups and couples arrived after us, providing a good atmosphere and plenty of business for what is usually a pretty dead night. I had a beautifully cooked duck and mushroom dish - even the vegetables were cooked to perfection - and plenty of sauce. And all dairy free, essential as I have an allergy. My husband had two starters - IOW smoked salmon and potted shrimps, which he really enjoyed. The wine list is unusual so we indulged a trip down memory lane with a bottle of Fitou, last drunk in southern France over 20 years ago. So different but enjoyable. Wanting to catch the ferry the following day, we stopped here for lunch and again the place was pleasantly populated, service impeccable and food delightful. If this place was over the water in Poole, we would be regular visitors and will go back if we ever visit the IOW again.

Room Tip: We only ate there but the location is excellent and I imagine the service would be too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahG57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Needed three rooms for an overnight stay to attend a family event in Newport and we were so glad we found The Fishbourne.
A few days before arrival I had a phone call to ask if there was anything they could do to make our stay more comfortable, which I thought was a nice personal touch.
I had pre-warned them that if possible we would need a room to change and freshen up on arrival as we would have been on the road since 5.30am.
We arrived around 10am to find that all three rooms were available to us. Check in was very friendly and we felt genuinely welcome.
The bar and restaurant area was lovely, modern but cosy.
We had lunch and the menu and service was very good.
The rooms were light and airy, very clean and comfortable, all the extras of a big hotel plus an ipod dock/charger - an amenity normally only reserved for the poshest of hotels! And... curtains with blackout linings!! Woo! Very impressed.
The largest room had a lovely view of the Solent and not a ferry terminal in sight.
Breakfast next day was cooked to order with quality ingredients from a varied menu and again service couldn't be faulted.

To sum up: convenient quiet location, very friendly, great food and service, comfortable rooms with homely touches decorated in the 'new england' seasidey style, and a really nice bar area
Another big plus was the time it took us to get to the ferry terminal on our last morning - seconds!!

Would definitely stay here next time we go to the Isle of Wight, but even if you don't stay here I would recommend to use as a place to stop and have breakfast/lunch or coffee and snacks before going onto the ferry.
A little gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansadler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Visited the Fishbourne Inn midweek for dinner and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. Good value, good service, comfortable clean surroundings, staff very helpful, will definitely be back in the very foreseeable future.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank isleofwight64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
1.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
4.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fishbourne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fishbourne Inn

Property: The Fishbourne Inn
Address: 111 Fishbourne Lane | Fishbourne, Ryde PO33 4EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fishbourne Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fishbourne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fishbourne Inn Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing