We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night small curry required”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryde Tandoori

Ryde Tandoori
Ranked #26 of 83 Restaurants in Ryde
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Late night small curry required”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just wanted a no rice, curried meat with curried vegetables meal and got just what we wanted. Must be good as no after effects. Excellent naan always carries off a curry meal and I got one here. Only small criticisms were having to ask several times for extra spoons for shared dishes and a feeling of hurried a bit as it was last knockings time. For the food though difficult to beat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RealAleVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    52
    22
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rde tandori i have eaten there for a number of years , never had a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

have known the owners family for 40 yrs , never had a bad meal always served hot with ample portions our children have eaten there and they have also enjoyed the meal and the way they were looked after the ryde tandoori was first open by the grandfather of the present owner , we are always (like others) as friends and look forward to our next visit

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcy3518634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Been around for a few years now, never disappointed. Curry is sweeter than monsoon for example so depends on your taste, but my favourite curry house. Offer 3 courses for £9.99 on a Wednesday and Sunday, always give us free popadoms and are very friendly. Good value for money, can get a bit hot in there in the summer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Take-away . . . but small portions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

No denying that after seven years the standard is still very high . Good PD's , but the King Prawn Butterfly was a juvenile prince at best and the nan just about covered a saucer not a dinner plate . The Bhindi was a spoonful each too . Disappointing , particularly as the price was the highest we had ever paid . C'mon don't throw your reputation away !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best curry on the IOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

As foodies disillusioned with the lack of decent Gastro Pubs on the island, we eat at the Ryde Tandoori every week and would not dream of going anywhere else for a curry. The staff are lovely and the food is always excellent. In response to some of the negative comments, i can only say that sometimes they get too busy for their own good and it is true that sometimes there is a bit of a wait but it is worth it!! We have also experience of cold food on the odd occasion and whilst you shouldn't have to ask, they will always heat up or replace your meal if you ask!! Don't be put off by negative comments, you'll be missing a TREAT !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ALoh672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryde Tandoori also viewed

Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Ryde Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing