We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fun Ice skating..Toilets let it down!”
Review of Ryde Arena - CLOSED

Ryde Arena
Attraction details
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Fun Ice skating..Toilets let it down!”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I have been skating with the children a few times now and its always great fun.
The push along penguins were really useful to begin with!
My Twins had there 6th Birthday party here also , once again great fun but the Toilets and cafe facilities are not good, infact run down and dirty.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank char-ven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice for the kids”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We came for a birthday and went with our niece and nephews to watch them ice skate during the day good fun and quite busy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 192sandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average Ice Rink - £1 (non-refunded) for Lockers!”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Planet Ice is your average ice rink. Nothing particularly noteworthy; during the week there are various sessions available such as normal daytime (well lit!) sessions but also disco nights with loud music and flashing lights etc. There is a small cafe selling drinks, chips etc, at an average price. Skate hire is also available for a couple of £s. During a recent visit however I was displeased to find that the lockers have been replaced - they used to be similar to swimming pool lockers, where you insert a coin to use it and this is returned to you afterward. The new ones are high tech things where you have to enter your date of birth and select a symbol, and enter these to open the locker when you return to it (I suppose to avoid lost keys etc). The lockers cost £1, however, and this is NOT returned to you... this in itself would not be too unreasonable, except that you cannot open and close the locker. Once you have closed it, you cannot open it until you are ready to leave as that's when you lose your £1... therefore you cannot go back to put away a sweatshirt, get a drink etc. Clearly designed to encourage people to spent more than £1, or to purchase drinks from the cafe rather than bring their own. Whatever the reason, it seems very unfair at an attraction where you can't very well keep your belongings on you. This has put me off visiting again...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ginster87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Planet Ice Arena”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Whicked time ice skating with the family of all ages refreshments availalbe and there is a nice Disco night club above plenty of parking which has to be paid for. this is located right next to the Hoover Craft and Ryde Habour golden sandy beaches but the tide and water does go out a few miles so make sure you go when its high tide or be prepared to walk a very long way to paddle !

Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Scruffy Ice Rink”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Visited as part of an inclusive ticket from Hoverspeed - family entrance and ferry from Portsmouth. Normal weekend price is about £4.70 each without skates and £6.70 with skates OR Family of 5 with skates for £32.50.

Found next to the Hover terminal in Ryde - Staff weren't particularly friendly and the skates were in very poor condition- after trying on my third pair I stuck with them but gave up after 10 minutes skating as I didn't want a broken ankle - they kept coming undone. Changing facilities were also limited and we ended up sitting on the floor to get the skates on. Our kids seemed to enjoy themselves but even they had to change skates a few times.

There were activities going on on the ice to music that weren't that clear to us - local kids seemed to be enjoying it although as beginners we had to stay out of the way. The assistant on the ice didn't seem too interested in assisting and members of the public seemed more helpful to those that fell.

Bar and Cafe on site. Has seen better days. If I had paid full price I would have asked for my money back.

Tip to owners - train staff , dump all the old skates, brighten it up, clarify whats happening for visitors and have a few more benches.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank marob37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ryde Arena also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing