We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifully Decorated - Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester Park, Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautifully Decorated - Nice Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here a few years back, I only learnt of the hotel fire in Mar 2012, but it's been fully refurbished to a standard fit for the accommodation.
I stayed in a standard double room, which was 100%. There is The_Cloud wifi which works perfectly all over the hotel.
The bathroom including the shower was spot on.
I had an evening meal which you can eat in the bar or their main restaurant, again great value for money and was great.
Service from all staff that I spoke to was great. Very attentive and polite.
I only stayed for the night, but would come again and bring the family on a short break if I come again, which I'm sure I will.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank pmalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    99
    53
    24
    13
See reviews for
79
183
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were led to this place with a flyer promoting their re-opening and offering a complimentary bottle of wine for each couple dining. Our first attempt to book was unsuccessful as they were too busy but when we went the following week and were one of only three tables in use in the restaurant the complimentary wine was not available. The manager had to ring the Regional Manager to seek authority to substitute a different wine but this was only done after our and another table insisted the offer that led us there was upheld.
Service was quite slow then we were given another tables starters, when our starters did arrive two of four were the wrong ones. This ended up in a hurriedly nuked ‘stuff mushroom’ starter which was, no doubt due to being rushed, quite rank to be honest. Mushrooms do not take kindly to being microwaved and the peppercorn sauce was runny and rancid. Being steaming hot and late also meant that our party could not all eat at the same time. The main course was very good all round but the portion size of the sweets were abysmal and very expensive. Almost £5 for three tablespoons of rice in a huge dish just isn’t on.
We went here just before the fire and they had no tonic water then, sadly even after a complete rebuild stock controls are no better it seems. It’s a great shame as the rebuild has been done to a very high quality and the staff we saw were all very presentable, friendly and polite but sadly the place did not live up to our hopes. We are very unlikely to return which is a shame.
If a fire and complete rebuild doesn't sort a place out then what hope can there be?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for a two night break at short notice-been here 10 years ago. Hotel recently refurbished and so very fresh and clean. Met by Julie on reception who was very friendly and welcoming. Rooms were really lovely-on the front overlooking sea. All the staff went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful apologising for delays when short staffed one evening. Wide choice of pub type meals very reasonably priced and ideal for the casual dining experience we were looking for. The Pass wine was lovely!! Large free car park. Tea etc in rooms well stocked. For price paid I could not fault it. Will be returning with other family as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Booked a family pre-Xmas gathering & meal here for 13 adults. Bar area warm and welcoming with plenty of comfy seating and tables. A nice buzz from other parties also enjoying an evening drink. Prices at the bar expensive, £4.15 for a pint of Peroni - and sadly not even served in a Peroni glass. Upon arrival at our table, was evident that it was far too small for our group of 13, clearly more suited to a party of 8. And to top it off they hadn't even provided enough seats (even though they had laid up the required place settings). Enquired if we could possibly move, or at the least acquire another table to add on, told no. There were several empty tables, which were never used throughout the whole evening so not acceptable that we had to squeeze in especially considering the amount we were spending. We had preselected our menu options. Tomato soup for starter was tepid. Other were not impressed with their starters also. Main of turkey and all the trimmings average at best, oily overlooked potatoes, stuffing from a packet etc. Veggie option of butternut squash inedible, literally 3inch squared cubes of butternut squash, cooked alone, served in a dish with nuts sprinkled on top and what can only be described as apple crumble 'crumble' thrown on top (tasted sweet so clearly not suitable for a savoury main dish). No sauce, gravy etc. horrible. Pudding slightly better, chocolate tart ok, though ice cream had melted upon serving. Cheesecake obviously bought in. Xmas pud more like a bread and butter pudding.
As an islander who likes to eat out regularly, I was extremely disappointed with the standard of food, especially after the hype of the re opening and how well it has been renovated. Word of mouth plays a huge part in the success and sustainability of a business such as this, especially during the quiet winter months. Unfortunately I will not be recommending.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank riaIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

There are so few eateries on the island that warrant a second visit so with the reopening of the Ryde Castle you would understand the excitement and anticipation that here was a local restaurant that would become a reliable venue to meet family and friends.
Sadly the Ryde Castle has not delivered.
The restoration of the building is to be applauded, it has been a sympathetic and beautifully delivered programme.
That however is where it ends.
The food and menu fails to deliver.
Poor service, despite the Castle being very quiet. A kitchen that seems unable to understand an order. Its not just my food order that had to be returned because of an inability to read an order.
The financial investment in the Ryde Castle is vast, so why does it not live up to expectation !
Its such a shame !!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JoJoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We did not stay at Ryde Castle only went for meals (twice) .It has just been refurbished after fire and is very comfy and well furnished. The service was good except the coffee took so long we were already eating when it came and we asked for it before other than that food service was excellent,staff very friendly and atmosphere good. The food was excellent with the exception of fish which was very poor not worth the money I suggest they get better quality fish in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your kind review of The Ryde Castle and your feedback reagrding the food quality. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Heard bad reports on service but decided to try anyway. My friend asked if the Risotto had peppers in it as she has reaction to peppers she was told definitely not as waitress had checked with Chef. When meal arrived my friend picked out a pile of peppers and called the waitress over, the waitress said it definitely didn't have peppers as Chef had CHECKED THE BOX glad to be told it wasn't freshly prepared and then at end of meal she came back to apologise that in small print the BOX said 'may contain 10% other dried vegetables. We were told that she finished work at 3 and could we pay at the bar. They didn't have food that was on the menu and even when I asked for a Smirnoff Ice was told they didn't sell it although I had just bought one from the bar. The venue is lovely its just such a shame that the staff do not seem to know what their product is they sell. At the bar they didn't have a clue as to what wines they sold and after choosing one from menu was given the wrong one where she promptly rammed the cork back in and said "that will do it". The service is diabolical but venue and food is nice. This is a small Island and word gets around quickly several of my friends already have said they are not going to bother trying The Ryde Castle as they have heard such bad reports which is very sad.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigertoes0785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry that you were let down by our service but can assure you that the training of our staff is extremely important to us and we sincerely hope that this will not stop you from visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Property: Hotel Ryde Castle
Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing