We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms, shame about the food and service.”
Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Brought my fiancée to this hotel to celebrate her 30th birthday. When we arrive the building was impressive and the rooms were beautiful and very well equipped.

We decided to eat dinner in the restaurant which was expensive and awful. Burnt and dry food and the server (who we think was the manager) was not approachable so we didn't feel we could complain. Breakfast was worse (which we didn't think was possible) the full English breakfast was small and poorly cooked.

The staff had very poor local knowledge; of the 3 places to visit that we were recommended ALL were closed!

In conclusion as a hotel brilliant but as a restaurant worse place I have ever eaten!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveA1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

I have to say our trip did not get off to a good start. We arrived excited for our experience which was a Christmas present and had to wait over an hour for our room. However, the woman at reception was very apologetic and even as we left she apologised again explaining they were one house keeper down. When we arrived in our room it was spotless until we saw a half drunk glass of blackcurrant on the side but this was where the negatives ended!

The room was warm (storms on the island have been dreadful so this was a real plus!). The bathroom and bath were one of the best we have had and as people who frequent hotels for weekend breaks this is saying something. The bath seemed to fill with water of a perfect temperature and was absolutely huge. The bed was really comfortable and we slept soundly both nights. The TV had a wide range of channels and the tea and coffee making facilities were good.

We ate an evening meal and breakfast in the restaurant. The breakfast was 5 star quality as good as at Hiltons we have stayed at. Evening food is pub grub and very good value.

Communal areas were very well furnished.

Would I stay again? Yes definitely!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenkm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Don't bother coming here for the breakfast. It' isn't great. The omelette looked like something a 4 year old would cook. The sausage and the egg were undercooked in the full English and you have to remind them that toast should come with brekkie and no jam or marmalade. Also they don't do veggie options of the English breakfast. We didn't stay in the rooms so can't comment on that. But it looks nice and could be good with a little bit of care and attention to the food.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we booked a 2 night stay here and we asked over the phone for a sea view when we arrived no sea view we was at the back of the hotel.we went down to ask for a sea view room and the manager was rather rude and a chip on his shoulder and told us well you booked it through booking .com you get what we given but i did phone and book the extra room direct with the hotel and booked a sea view room and when i told him that i was called a liar then said come back tmw we will move you ,oh boy thats when it went down hill room looked lovely but then you see some one had put a boggy on the wall and it was left for us toothpastse left on the side of the sink bright blue bathroom door had a yukky brown mark on it.and the bathroom window had the wind going through it like it had no window there and dust and made my asthma play up. In the morning we went down to breakfast and it was ok but i explained to the receptionist about the problems with room and didnt say any thing.we ended up spending all day out,when we arrived back we was moved to another room but it was set up as a single room 1 set of towels 2 pillows 1 coffee the radiator was stone cold and i starting to run a bath that was stone cold to,so we phone up to ask for help receptionist was great then the manager had to come back up to bleed the radiator and his attitude as a manger stinks hes like basil faulty,when i said to him about the water damage in the room he tutted and said well we have had a lot of rain,and we have only been open 15 weeks and everything works fine its just you der why have we called you up then if we didnt have a problem not impressed with the hotel at all

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the outside, this is a hotel that I would drive past, it looks cheesy to me in it's appearance. So bearing in mind that I'd booked this hotel for a business meeting, I entered with a little trepidation. BUT, it's much better inside!! The staff are very friendly and the meeting facilities were perfect for our needs, spacious, quiet, good projector and screen ........ the Wifi is strong too.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious and well equipped.
The food and service was disappointing though, it wasn't bad but it was disappointing as the menu was quite comprehensive. The food was slightly overcooked but not very warm either. The service was slow. They really need to get this sorted out because it's letting the hotel down and cancelling out the plus points

Room Tip: Room 12 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We went over to the Isle Of Wight (IOW) for the IOW 10 Miles run. First impression of the Hotel Ryde Castle (HRC) were that it was very clean and tidy. We arrived mid afternoon and it was buzzing with guests in the bar (afternoon tea perhaps).

We were warmly welcomed and given our room (Room 12). The room was very clean and well decorated - we were delighted with the room. At no stage thereafter did the room disappoint.

We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced. The glass of red wine (Malbec) was cheaper than a glass I had bought earlier in Weatherspoons!! I was very happy with the food and service throughout dinner.

Breakfast was also very good food with plenty of choices. I went for Salmon and scrambled eggs - very nice.

Internet access is fine (Cloud).

We enjoyed our stay very much. Ryde had plenty to offer - even on a cold dreary winters day and the hotel was very good - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GosportBantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed in the Ryde Caste Hotel for one night in January on business. The room booking process was simple (booked over the phone). On arrival in the evening the hotel looked lovely and tidy. The bar area was busy serving meals and drinks so the reception area wasn't manned. I found that calling the hotel on my phone worked, but it could be an idea to have a buzzer at reception during busy periods.

My room was excellent. So clean and well presented that I felt like I was the first person to stay in it. Bed was very comfortable and the bath and shower were very good too.

Breakfast was pleasant and efficient, great when you need to eat quickly and go.

Check out was efficient too and the lady at the reception desk was incredibly helpful when I asked about the time of Seacat crossings later that day.

A great value hotel with lovely rooms. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rex0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: £70 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing