We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend.”
Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good weekend.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely comfortable room, excellent bathroom and shower. Outside noise from road and the pub garden annoying, double glazing shuts the noise out but then the room gets too hot. Was lacking a few small things such as shampoo and conditioner and Tissues which are standard at most hotels now.
Staff all very friendly, but bar and restaurant staffed by teenagers who have not learnt the skill of customer service. We over heard them talking about the guests, ignoring customers to chat with their friends, sitting at the bar eating and drinking while customers waited to be served. In the restaurant we gave up waiting for someone to take our dessert order or offer us more drinks. They are all lovely but need some training and supervision from a manager. Breakfast okay, good selection but standard of cooked food varied from good to poor during our stay. Not sure if we would return mainly due to service as the hotel and rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    106
    57
    24
    13
See reviews for
84
197
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

On first impression, the hotel was stunning. The room was very good too.
But.. The wet room bathroom (disabled room / sold as family room) had the most dangerous flooring available. They've had complaints about it before they admitted.
Only one window opened in the room, which made it hot.
The room was on the first floor just by the beautiful but extremely wooden staircase. From 7am, the noise was unbareable and kept us awake.
Then the breakfast. The plates and cups were dirty. A had egg shells in my fried egg. Then when my wife went to the breakfast bar table, she noticed ants running around! I asked her to take a picture of which we showed the receptionist.
Such a shame. So much potential. I gave 5 for device as all the staff were very nice and helpful. I gave 3 for the room as other than the one openning window and the dangerous wet floor, the room would of been 5stars.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethrow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm very sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion; our staff usually maintain very high standards of service, so I am very sorry this was not the case during your stay

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just spent one night here, the hotel was clean and comfortable . The room was small but fine for one night. We arrived on a sunny Sunday early evening and the bar was busy , this led to under staffing with long waits at reception.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and is in a good location, the staff were polite and friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is the first time we have stayed at the hotel since it was refurbished and we were not disappointed. The room was and bathroom were to a higher standard that when we have previously stayed. The staff were all very helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We visit the island every year and had found another hotel but after returning to the Castle will return here again next year. Loved our stay in room 8 and would find it hard for anyone staying in this room to be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRACEY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

In a world where we can all be very fussy everything is in place here for a very comfortable stay at an agreeable price. Excellent rainfall showers, comfy beds. Shockingly bad artwork in horrible picture frames all around hotel. All this should be immediately replaced with light frames and airy and happy scenes featuring Ryde and the Isle of Wight. Five minutes walk from bus and train station. For £10 you can use all the Southern Vectis bus routes all over the island for the day, including the open top buses. We liked and visited the Simeon Arms pub quite a few times in the back streets behind the hotel. Friendly and local - not posh! Hotel has relatively large car park at no additional cost. Breakfast excellent and cooked to order. No solid fried eggs! Probably the most reliable hotel in Ryde. Relaxed breakfast - no coach parties here!

Room Tip: We had rooms with the sea view - perhaps very important for a short stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKBeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After poor service at Yelf's Hotel in Ryde, we transferred our regular custom a short walk down the coast to the Ryde Castle Hotel. The hotel suffered a very serious fire in 2012, and has since been refurbished to a high standard. Hideous generic artwork excepted.

Not only are the new surroundings spacious and well appointed, there are also nice areas to tuck yourself away, for example if you have a young child with you, enabling everyone to enjoy a nice ambiance. We often take our grandson into one such area when taking tea, away from the hustle and bustle of the bar area. In our experience the staff are very attentive and helpful, and service is prompt. The standard of food is above average, although was even better until recent small changes to the standard menu.

For those wishing to stay in Ryde, the hotel is ideally situated adjacent to the the esplanade, overlooking the Solent and a short walk from the Fast Cat and Hovercraft terminals. Day visitors are also very welcome, and we can therefore recommend Ryde Castle to those visiting the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back of the hotel, if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamw94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review of The Ryde Castle.

We are all glad you enjoy visiting us and you find our food and service to be of a good standard.

We look forward to seeing you shortly.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Been here before and again it did not disappoint. One of the best things is the very good breakfast with smiling Sky the waitress. Nothing is too much trouble for her. The rest of the team are equally good and you can have anything off the pub menu as room service. Great if you have small kids.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizkav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review of The Ryde Castle ( again!)

We are glad you enjoyed another stay with us and found all of our team including Skye to be friendly during your visit.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
5.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Property: Hotel Ryde Castle
Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing