We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Ryde Castle”
Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in a family/disabled room. We had a very comfortable bed and My 2 year old had a nice big bed too. We had a great view across to Ryde beach. The staff were friendly We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and enjoyed both.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eattravelandbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Christopher Francis General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ryde Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Popped in for a few drinks on a sunny afternoon. There was one member of staff behind the bar with a queue slowly forming. Other members of staff just walked by and seemed oblivious! We last visited this establishment before the fire which closed it for months and it was awful. We hoped that since the rebuild and huge financial investment that the service would have I'm proved,sadly not. Loads of potential here but seems poorly managed. Shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Alfie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm very sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion; our staff usually maintain very high standards of service, so I am very sorry this was not the case during your stay

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a lovely long weekend in the the Ryde Castle hotel. We had booked a sea view room which was clean and comfortable, with a very nice modern bathroom. The view from the room looked across a bowling green to the sandy beaches of Ryde. We booked an evening meal which was very tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast was great with a good choice of food. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We spent a wonderful evening at Ryde Castle Hotel which is right opposite the long, sandy, golden beach of Ryde. The only fault I could find with the location was the noise of the hovercraft coming and going, especially early morning. The rooms are very nice and basically brand new because of a recent fire, so the hotel has been currently refurbished which is great. As the hotel was relatively quiet we were upgraded to a superior sea facing view room which was lovely, well worth the extra cost and the view was gorgeous from the 2nd floor. Reception and booking in was a nice experience, no long queues and efficient staff. The only fault I could find with this hotel was the quality of food and slow restaurant staff although I feel they are under pressure because of under staffing. To wait nearly an hour for our meal and then another half an hour for desert is unacceptable especially as the food really wasn't worth the wait and the restaurant only had about 12 people in it so they were hardly rushed off their feet. Breakfast was also pretty sad but if you get a good deal this is a lovely hotel to stay in, just don't bother eating in the restaurant in the evening. I will certainly go back again and can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 is the bridal suite so if you can get it at no extra cost, bargain. Room 9 is supposed to b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaidstoneGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely comfortable room, excellent bathroom and shower. Outside noise from road and the pub garden annoying, double glazing shuts the noise out but then the room gets too hot. Was lacking a few small things such as shampoo and conditioner and Tissues which are standard at most hotels now.
Staff all very friendly, but bar and restaurant staffed by teenagers who have not learnt the skill of customer service. We over heard them talking about the guests, ignoring customers to chat with their friends, sitting at the bar eating and drinking while customers waited to be served. In the restaurant we gave up waiting for someone to take our dessert order or offer us more drinks. They are all lovely but need some training and supervision from a manager. Breakfast okay, good selection but standard of cooked food varied from good to poor during our stay. Not sure if we would return mainly due to service as the hotel and rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tessa035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank You for your great review , we are all glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

On first impression, the hotel was stunning. The room was very good too.
But.. The wet room bathroom (disabled room / sold as family room) had the most dangerous flooring available. They've had complaints about it before they admitted.
Only one window opened in the room, which made it hot.
The room was on the first floor just by the beautiful but extremely wooden staircase. From 7am, the noise was unbareable and kept us awake.
Then the breakfast. The plates and cups were dirty. A had egg shells in my fried egg. Then when my wife went to the breakfast bar table, she noticed ants running around! I asked her to take a picture of which we showed the receptionist.
Such a shame. So much potential. I gave 5 for device as all the staff were very nice and helpful. I gave 3 for the room as other than the one openning window and the dangerous wet floor, the room would of been 5stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jethrow J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I'm very sorry we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion; our staff usually maintain very high standards of service, so I am very sorry this was not the case during your stay

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just spent one night here, the hotel was clean and comfortable . The room was small but fine for one night. We arrived on a sunny Sunday early evening and the bar was busy , this led to under staffing with long waits at reception.
I would recommend this hotel for a short stay and is in a good location, the staff were polite and friendly

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
735 reviews
5.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range: £71 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing