We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room too hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Ryde Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ryde Castle
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Room too hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for a night in July in room 12 - it was so hot, absolutely no air at all, all the sash windows were set so they only opened 10 inches or so, it was terribly unbearable, my Husband sweated so badly and woke up with huge lumps on his hands and legs which were caused by the heat, the bathroom window did not open AT ALL.
We had a meal earlier in the evening which we had to send back as the chicken was not cooked properly.
So later we rang reception for Sandwiches and Crisps only to be told 'sorry, sandwiches are not available at this time and we don't sell Crisps.
Don't sell Crisps?! A Bar that doesn't sell Crisps?!!
Breakfast was superb though, we really enjoyed that.
The room was very clean, but totally unsuitable in this heat, also kept losing the signal on the TV.

Room Tip: Take a fan with you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    100
    53
    24
    13
See reviews for
79
184
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south east england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

stayed for 4 nights late July 2014, rooms were good and clean if rather small but a good standard for a 3* hotel, staff were polite and friendly, food in the restaurant (breakfast & dinner) was o/k (but not more than that) and on some nights service was very slow. To some up this is a good 3* hotel but no more than 3*

Room Tip: we had room 5 which has a sea view, always try to get a room at the front of the hotel which faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granduer044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here on two occasions and came for drinks on others. The staff were helpful and friendly. The food was reasonably priced and was served quickly. We came for Sunday lunch, which was good. On the other occasion I had burger and chips, which was okay but the chips tasted a bit like cardboard! Nice patio area with a number of tables.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemons87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel cannot be faulted for location and the breakfast served in the restaurant was very good. Definitely worth paying the extra and upgrading to a more spacious room, perhaps with a view. The room we were allocated was a very small double room at the back of the hotel with no view which was disappointing considering the price we had already paid. There is no air conditioning and the rooms can get very warm on a sunny day. Refurbishment downstairs is very good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had a lovely 5 day holiday here at the Ryde Castle Hotel.

All the hotel staff we encountered we so friendly - from the lovely ladies who kept our room sparkling and clean to the receptionists and restaurant/bar staff - you all really helped to make our stay great! Special mention to the Manager, Chris who was very helpful and accommodating when we wanted to change rooms.

Next time we visit the Isle of Wight - we will choose the Ryde Castle!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solange888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just stayed the one night. Lovely hotel. Rooms comfy, spacious and very well presented. Great location opposite the beach. Staff attentive. Had a lovely evening meal and great breakfast. Would definitely return and highly recommend. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: Room 19, great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnjmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

A very good hotel nice and clean big bathroom lovely views across the water excellent breakfast staff .had a meal in the evening which was passable good hotel as a base to see rest of the island just a tip if the weather is nice go to the smaller bays

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, General Manager at Hotel Ryde Castle, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your review!

We are all glad to hear you had a lovely stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Christopher Francis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
3.2 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
7.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryde Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryde Castle

Property: Hotel Ryde Castle
Address: Esplanade, Ryde PO33 1JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ryde Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Ryde Castle is a former Victorian manor ideally located on Ryde seafront overlooking the picturesque marina. The newly refurbished bedrooms are all en-suite with flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi. Some of the bedrooms benefit from spectacular sea views across the Solent and beyond. The Hotel also features a lift, fully accessible rooms and external ramps.The Ryde Castle has a beautiful restaurant and bar patio area so you can enjoy a relaxing drink and a meal whilst taking in the wonderful views and sea air. Ryde Castle is accessible from all major transport links, both the hovercraft and catamaran services that link the Isle of Wight with Portsmouth and Southsea are only a short walk from the hotel and with ample parking available free of charge it makes Ryde Castle hotel the perfect choice whilst visiting the Isle of Wight ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ryde Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Ryde
Ryde Castle Hotel
Castle Ryde
Hotel Ryde Castle Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing