We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Dorset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorset Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Ryde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I only spent one night here, which was enough. I found this hotel tacky and dated. The fixtures and fittings were cheap and nasty, with ill-fitting carpets, and the smallest bathroom I’ve been in, however the room was clean and the bed comfortable.
The breakfast was ok, but again using the cheapest quality ingredients, although I was impressed with their selection of different teas. I’ve paid a lot less elsewhere for a much better breakfast. This hotel is definitely overpriced, even if it is in a good location, I wouldn’t come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagaciouswoman333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RydeMichael31, Owner at Dorset Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

As proprietor of the hotel, i would like to advise other readers that this guest booked two rooms with en suite faciiities on the whitson bank holiday Saturday and stayed for one night only. The reviewer paid £23.50 per person for bed and full choice traditional breakfast after the vat and the commission was deducted as she booked through a booking agency based in Amsterdam. Room rates are at rack rates on bank holidays due to the demand for them. The guest could have booked larger rooms our premier rooms but choose to book the budget room. Quality does not come at budget price, cleanliness and comfy beds do and I am glad the reviewer found this to be the case. The review considers us to be overpriced but if you look at the other reviews for hotels this reviewer has left you will see the prices are between £85 - £95 per room. This review has made us make a management change and we will not be accepting one night bookings on bank holiday weekends in the future as you can not make an accurate judgement on a one night stay on busy bank holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lovely, clean, welcoming bed and breakfast. Good breakfast in the morning, vast choice and extras if wanted. I did notice that they scored 5/5 for cleanliness in their kitchen. Lovely homely feel and staff all friendly. Good location in Ryde. Only two minutes walk into the town centre.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LallyBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Really good location in Ryde ample off street parking easy walking to town centre staff friendly good breakfast good value clean hotel few things in life are as you would like them to be, but this is one of them. Enjoy !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenG362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed for two nights in a single room with shared bathroom. It did feel a bit dated but was spotlessly clean. My room was adjacent to the kitchen. I tend to find many single rooms are stuffed in out of the way places many establishments treat single travellers poorly as does this hotel. The wiring of the tv I would say is probably illegal. 2.5 mm twin and earth cable wfrom the wall socket was plagged into another wall socket...what! Whats wrong with an extension cable then? The plug on the wall heated had the cable cores visable, also dangerous. One of the shared bathrooms had some interesting plummbing for the shower. The cold tap in my handbasin was long overdue a new washer, they must lose 100s of litres a week. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.The cooked breakfast was served by a gentleman sporting a number of tatoos facial piercing and earrings...great!
I wouldnt return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Our room was spotless (as was the en-suite) and comfortable with plenty of room for clothes. It was a bit compact, so I would recommend it for short stays only, although there is a nice lounge area in the hotel. The car park was a bit awkward to get into, so a long wheelbase car or camper van type of vehicle might have difficulty turning in. Once in the car park, there were plenty of clearly marked parking spaces though.

Breakfast was simple but nicely prepared and the dining room pleasantly furnished and not too packed in.

This would be a particularly good location for someone attending an event on the steam railway or other activity near the island railway line as Ryde Esplanade interchange is within very easy walking distance. For evening meals, Ryde Castle is also nearby and the four of us had different meals, all of which were nice and very well priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here whilst cycling around the island and found it to be in a great location and good value. It's just off the pier and in easy walking distance to the high street. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. I agree that it is a little dated but the bed was comfy and the room clean which is the most important thing. Would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Ryde.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the "Garden Suite" as we had bikes so perhaps ask for this too if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a tradditional B and B a ten minute walk from Ryde pier and Hoverport, (note its uphill). It is very cosy, though a little dated and could do with some technical (slight) issues ironing out. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast both in choice and quality is excellent. Maybe difficult for those with mobility difficulties e.g. tight stairs etc

Room Tip: Check floor and stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
413 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
3.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Hotel

Address: 31 Dover Street, Ryde PO33 2BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range: £47 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset House was built in 1842 during the reign of Queen Victoria and has been operating as a bed and breakfast for many years. We are not of modern design and have 23 rooms varying in size. Centrally located in the historic town of Ryde, we are close to many restaurants and cafes. The house has a large private car park at the rear and offers a garden with seating area to take in the peace and quiet that the Isle of Wight offers. Free wi-fi is available in the public area and we operate a licensed bar. Inclusive ferry packages are available to suit the cost of your trip. We have many special offers throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Dorset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing