We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annual destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Lud

The King Lud
Ranked #30 of 83 Restaurants in Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Television
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Annual destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I discovered this pub 5 years ago, on vacation from the US. I love this place, good home cooking, friendly service, good prices, great location. The young family who run it are great company. I visit every year, even if my final destination is not this island, it's just a hop skip and jump from the city of Portsmouth. I just finished my annual visit and setting the timer until I can return next year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    31
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

As I live in Yorkshire it's only once in a blue moon that I visit the Isle of Wight, but whenever I do I always find myself returning to this pub.

Although I have never had a meal at the King Lud, I have attended several live band nights and I spent my New Years eve 2013/2014 here too.

The staff are friendly and they have a vast selection of drinks. The pub is located close to the bus station which works great with Southern Vectis late night buses (Friday & Saturday nights)

If you don't enjoy your time spent at this pub, you're not doing it right because I have missed my hovercraft twice on more than one occasion due to enjoying myself too much to leave!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 14Heidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick bite to eat. Friendly staff and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Went to the Lud one afternoon with a few friends and whilst there thought we would grab some lunch. Was a very warm and friendly atmosphere. Food came out very prompt and of good flavour. Have not been back since but fully intend to.. I've heard great things about there fish platters..

Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They have brilliant friendly staff and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have had a great time at King Lid everytime I'be been. I can't comment on food as haven't tried any. The atmosphere is friendly & welcoming, seats are comfy, staff are also very friendly and diligent. They have great live bands & I would highly recommend people give it a try.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeFrame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I went into the king lud with a friend and the lady behind the bar said to me the kitchen was closed and it closed at 3pm. Next she had the cheek if we were staying for drinks I said I would have to ask my friend. My friend said no and we both left. Would not go there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The King Lud also viewed

 
Ryde, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The King Lud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing