We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Great Sequel!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tithe Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ryde, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BagpussEs...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Sequel!”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our second stay at Tithe Barn at Little Upton Farm was as good if not better than the first. Travelling again as a family of six with a five and three year old. Upon arrival Alison was there to great us with the offer of a wooden garage for the boys to play with if they desired, also leaving us a nice home made cake and a pint of milk. The boys remembered the 'holiday home' from last year and jumped on the trampoline and ran around as though they were at home, there was also the added bonus that the table tennis table was still up this year (weather having been milder) although anyone will know with children so young they won't let the bigger people play as they know best and so no rally's can be achieved with a stubborn three year old ha ha. There was a new fridge freezer at the barn, sofa covers and the once rectangle coffee table has been replaced with a round one for the children's safety. (also compliments the room better). Oliver remembered Alison's cake was tasty last time and needed a giant slice everyday! The barn has provided everything you might need for a comfortable stay and the pictures on the website do not mislead, the bedrooms are all of a good size with generous en-suites and the views from the barn a real tonic. The cows and the horses and sheep come all the way up to the garden fence to drink which is lovely to see them. The steam trains from Haven Street also pass along the bottom of the field. Alison and Howard are on hand at the farm house if you need them but they are not intrusive, but a friendly couple who make you feel welcome on the farm.

The children had been waiting since last year to be re united with Jasmine the horse as they talk about her often with whom they had a lovely complimentary horse ride last year, well this year exceeded last, Alison really made the young boys holiday with a long ride down the lane, letting the children take turns on leading Jasmine and riding her. My youngest William is especially taken with Jasmine and was desperate for me to turn the car and ferry round all the way home as he did not want to leave her.

We have been coming to the Island all our lives having family on the Island and so for us there is no great rush to get out and go to all the attractions, making Little Upton ideal for us as you don't feel you have to go out, or those of you that do want to go and visit the attractions no where is too far from Little Upton farm as it is very centrally located to everything. Most attractions are worth the money too although we are National Trust/English Heritage Members which is useful here, especially if you want to park at Brook and go dinosaur hunting saves you money on the car park!. We went to Carisbrooke one day and it only took ten mins to get to Newport. We also visited Blackgang Chine which is an annual essential for the children (the oldest theme park in the world and the best). Dinosaur Isle in Sandown only took ten minutes to get to too, which is worth a visit. We try and try a new place every year if we can and this year it was Monkey Haven (7-10mins from Little Upton) we had previously avoided it as it is very pricey to visit just monkeys and owls, I took the two little ones on their own and upon arrival they were given booklets to fill in and a quiz to complete, we stepped outside and a giant dressed up owl Olly posed for pictures with the children and gave them a balloon each. The monkeys are all in good sized enclosures and there is a good size play areas and talks, we were surprised that three hours later we were still there! So as worth the money after all.

The main decider for me when booking a holiday cottage is cleanliness, and I am pleased to confirm Tithe Barn is kept nice and clean, and the only smell is fresh air, no need to rush round with cleansing wipes on sticky door handles etc., when you get here you can just settle in and relax which is what a holiday is all about, home from home. (We have many times stayed in places with fabulous locations but you feel uncomfortable sitting in a years worth of other peoples filth as obviously the cleaners in holiday cottages have a limited amount of time and quite frankly places that could otherwise be fabulous you dread going back to at the end of the day opening the door and the smell of damp dog hits you or similar and so you certainly won't make a return booking). Since returning from Tithe Barn I have made another return booking and I feel that's the best endorsement!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary F
Wanneroo, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We can not praise this property highly enough.
The owners are very helpful.
The location is central with picture perfect scenery, delightful accommodation with plenty of room for my family of five.
Your very close to shopping, beaches, the ferry, Ryde town centre but you feel as though you are a million miles away from anybody.
This has been a very relaxing stay and would return here and to the Isle of Wight in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentcoast...
Kent Coast
1 review
“The best on the Island”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have been visiting the island for many years and are so glad to have found Little Upton Farm. Alison is wonderful, as is Tithe Barn - so peaceful and glorious views to wake up to. The barn is fabulous; definitely one of the best we have stayed in. There's nothing we would want to change about it - just perfect. Our daughter loved all the animals, the quad bike ride with Alison and meeting her beautiful pony and didn't want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view over the fields.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike. All perfect!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CherylUK
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tithe Barn. The accommodation is very comfortable and quiet and the view is superb with a large patio from which to enjoy it. The location is in the heart of the countryside but the beach and town of Ryde is 10 minutes away as is a large supermarket. Howard and Alison are very friendly and our little grandson loved the animals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagpussEs...
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant for Children! Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed at Tithe Barn for the October Half term break. For the adults the view from the conversion is enough to satisfy anyone upon opening their eyes in the morning. Looking out at the downs, lake, sheep and watching the smoke from the steam trains at the bottom of the fields. The three bedrooms with en suites are of a good size, and the beds comfortable. There is everything you may need in the kitchen, I spotted dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, tin foil etc, and as mentioned in other reviews Alison leaves a nice homemade cake, that my four year old was particularly taken with. If you need anything Alison and Howard are in the Farm House readily available to help if required.
For the Children every minute is a joy, from the moment my three boys got out of the car, (16, 4.5 and 2.5) the youngest spotted the pedal tractor, sheep, horses, slide and trampoline and they entertained themselves. The best thing for them though and what gave us great joy watching, was the horse and tractor ride. My youngest fell in love with the horse called Jasmine that gave them their ride, and they were also really chuffed that Jasmine was allowed in the garden with them. We were able to walk round to the barn to look at the cows and around the lake. (Since the boys have been home they have spoken about Jasmine a lot, and 'Howard's' big tractor). My 16 year old was able to have another flying lesson at Sandown Airport during our stay at Tithe Barn, which if this interests you, is very cheap compared to the Mainland.
This was our first visit to Tithe Barn (having not discovered it previously). When visiting the Island we normally stay in Shanklin or Brightstone dependant on the time of year. The location of Tithe Barn although being rural itself, is only a five minute drive to the Tesco Superstore and Ryde. Haven Street Railway is only a short drive away, and other attractions. Nowhere is too far to get to on the Island anyway, I have been coming to the Island since I was born and by far the best attraction on the Island for children (and young at heat adults) is Black Gang Chine (the oldest theme park in the world). They manage to reinvent themselves all the time to stay current, but still have the old magical charm, we drove there the first night of our stay, to see the illuminated animatronic dinosaurs.
As for Tithe Barn, I have already recommended Tithe Barn and Little Upton Farm to friends and have myself already booked to return next year, need I say more?!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday to make special memories”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Would Little Upton Farm be as wonderful as the reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor....it certainly was!
We stayed in Tithe Barn, everything you need is provided and Alison makes a superb cake. Lovely views and v comfortable beds.
Our 7 year old daughter was up early with the ducks and whizzing around the farm on a little pink bicycle ( selection of bikes and scooters left in the barn for visitors) in her onesie and wellingtons to check on the horses each morning.
Location was perfect for us the difficulty was leaving the farm......we had one day of torrential rain which gave our son the opportunity to learn how to light the fire and an afternoon of toasting marshmallows soon followed.
Days out were great and late afternoons we would often see Alison and join her to watch her training her two young sheepdogs. What a treat to have Jasmine the pony arrive on Friday morning to take our daughter out for a much longed for ride and then Howard took our son out on the tractor and an awesome ride on the quad bike.
Looking forward to ou return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Barn,views and Alison and Howard's hospitality
Liked least: Going
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamela C
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Solicitous hosts,comfortable beds ,wonderful views, what more could you want?”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was conveniently situated and easy to find with breathtaking views from the sitting room and downstairs bedroom. The hosts Alison and Howard were attentive and helpful and were anxious that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. I travelled with my 90 year old mother and the downstairs bedroom and shower room were ideal for her reduced mobility. The property was well equipped and comfortable and we had a relaxing and enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable beds
Liked least: rather cramped kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing