We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Last minute decision, loved it'”
Review of Kasbah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kasbah
Ranked #5 of 16 Ryde B&B and Inns
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Last minute decision, loved it'”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Arrived on the island on a spur of the moment day trip, enjoying the sunshine so found the Kasbah with a room available. Room was very good, didn't notice the noise being a problem. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very good and if you did not want the full english you could ask for what you liked with no problem at all. Very well cooked. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domsa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    44
    22
    12
    16
See reviews for
7
54
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I wish I had stayed at the Kasbah for a holiday and been able to relax and enjoy the atmosphere. I was impressed by the decor, it was warm and friendly if not quite North African! The room I stayed in NO.& was clean, perfect for a base. The Full English in the morning, while not the best I have had was good, well cooked and certainly did the job.

In the evening I enjoyed the family fortunes style quiz though only attended by locals which was a shame and while pub gate was intriguing it could have been a little off putting for some.

It is run by and (you get the feeling for) a younger audience (I am 39 and felt old!) I would most definable stay with my wife but would probably not recommend it for a family, however, I was there for an interview on the Island, so it is up to individual presence.

Over all I enjoyed the Kasbah, the room was great, the bar friendly enough and cheap, a gem for the Isle one which I hope to visit again.
Many Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Do note the B&B message of noise at weekends, though I stayed midweek you can still hear the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick_Boardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOndon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We arrived on Friday evening to a warm welcome. We were shown to our room on the second floor and were pleasantly surprised by the space and sea view. Being on the second floor we did not experience noise and had a great evening in the bar itself. Breakfast was really good and overall we felt Kasbah was great value for money in a great location in Ryde. The only very slight downsides were no soap etc. in the bathroom and very thin pillows and duvets. However, everything was very clean.

Room Tip: Choose a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surreyscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

Nice place, great price, friendly staff. Will definitely return, and would recommend to friends! Breakfasts were a little sow, but the location more than compensates for this! You can't get much closer to the Solent without being in it! Car parking is a bit of an issue there, the local council places won't let you pay for the morning on the evening before, so you have to get up before 8am to put a parking ticket on your car!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel is based on a Moroccan theme. The idea is really quite nice, and the execution is not bad either. Staff seemed welcoming and happy to help. All in all, money well spent. The only gripe is that windows in our room (the "Family Room") looked directly out onto the High st. - which meant we could hear every detail of Saturday night revelry, including the arrival of the police at 2 a.m.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The staff is friendly, the rooms are good, the location is perfect ( close to the beach and bus stop) and the breakfast was excellent. My husband and I were not disturbed by the noises so I would definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Have just stayed here on business and found the staff very friendly and accommodating, the room I had was on the top floor and was mid week I stated so didn't experience the noise on previous reviews!, good location a short walk from the esplanade and the shops, you can only park outside for free after 18:00 to 08:00, as it is a maximum of only 1hour parking outside any other time. But there is a car park just a few hundred meters around the corner for a coupe pound between these times. The room was nice very comfortable bed, if any constructive comments are the carpet in the room could do with an up grade!, and in general the carpets throughout!, breakfast was good with choice of a fry up or just a continental. Oh and of course the convenience of the bar downstairs!, happy days!, would I recommend, yes no real reason not too.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JustGenuine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
398 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah

Property: Kasbah
Address: 76 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kasbah 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kasbah's guest accommodation has nine beautiful individually decorated twin/double or family bedrooms. All are en-suite with either a shower/bath or both. All rooms have tea, coffee making facilities and complimentary bottled water and toiletries which are topped up daily during service along with fresh towels. All our rooms have colour televisions and hi-fi's. Continental and full english breakfast is included in the price of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Hotel Ryde
Kasbah Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing