We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Ryde, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My partner and i have booked Yelfs for our civil partnership in August this year. We have been in on several occasions and the staff have always been friendly and welcoming. We had our valentines evening here and the food was "out of this world"..It is a wonderful hotel and all staff extremely friendly. Rebecca, who is organising our civil partnership, is especially wonderful and nothing is too much trouble..We have lunched in the bar area and food was again of excellent quality and value. We cannot wait to post another rave review i'm sure after our civil ceremony. Five stars!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneSharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    131
    54
    35
    21
See reviews for
78
133
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We only stayed overnight for a themed wedding......but all through the planning, the staff were fantastic. Being a Morris dance group wedding.....we literally took over the place, but the staff were so great, they took part as well, and nothing was too much trouble. Food was wonderful, hot and plenty of it.
The rooms were a little dated, but very clean, and complete with all the usual tea, coffee, hot chocolate....hair dryer etc.
Being in the centre of Ryde....perfect, for access to all parts of the island plus of course the links to the mainland.
The only downside l can think of is that from certain rooms, late night noise from revellers in the high street and the disco bar just below the hotel, was very annoying.....although as l said, this was from certain rooms only, and it was the weekend. If it had not been for this, l would definately rate this hotel 5/5

Room Tip: Request a room far away from the high street and the Black Sheep Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morrisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights ( april 17th and 18th 2012) , we stayed over the road in the annex part, very quiet and rooms were huge! mine had a kitchen and sitting area it even has a lift for disabled people, we found the rooms spotless clean, we had meals in the hotel which again we couldnt fault, staff were pleasant friendly and very helpful, excellent choice at breakfast, served by cheerful staff who couldnt do enough, please dont be put off by the negative views on here everyone has different opinons, but i am a VERY fussy holiday maker and i need peace and quiet and i guess if im paying a hotel i expect to see my moneys worth, this hotel ticks EVERY single box for me, so we will most definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scouser1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lovely room -4 poster bed-over looking the harbour.decor a bit tired but clean & spacious with great breakfast
parking close by & good location for town & ferry
Visited in March & the town was dead
Internet in reception area but irratic

Room Tip: Ak for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

WOW, we held our wedding and reception at Yelfs hotel. It was the most amazing day of our lives. From the moment we went in to enquire about our wedding nothing was too much trouble, the staff Rebecca especially made us feel like we werent just another customer and they were all generally excited and pleased for us.
On our day everything was perfect, all the staff were happy and very helpful. The food was brilliant with a great selection.
The bridal suite was perfect with comfortable facilities and a great view looking out to sea.
We would recommend using Yelfs for any function.This venue represents excellent value for money.

Kevin & Kim Arnell

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a great pleasure to host your special day here at Yelfs. I would like to wish you both a very happy life together and look forward to welcoming you both back to Yelfs again int he near future.

Kindest Regards

Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed over the road in room 51. These used to be self catering units apparrently. The room was very large and had a kitchen. Yes the quality of decor is not great and the bed was shocking...new mattress is definitely required. It is a good location on the hill leading to the beach with bus stops near by.
The road is noisy in the morning but we didn't mind as we wanted to be up and about.
Breakfast was good.
We found most of the staff extremely friendly and helpful (except the bar staff) so only had one drink there!!
Would definitely return and request over the road as the kitchen was handy.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterfly34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just one night for a swift visit to the Isle of Wight. Very convenient for the fast catamaran Portsmouth to Ryde. Double room included a lounge area as well! Decor perhaps a little tired, but absolutely no fault for the price that I paid, and with a good breakfast each. Good food was also consumed (along with an excellent pint of local beer) in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Property: Yelf's Hotel
Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing