We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Function” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Function”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Held a function, staff were very polite and helpful when sorting out the function. The function room was bright and airy and a lovely garden off it if a nice day,, food was good, was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    131
    53
    35
    21
See reviews for
77
132
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visit family at least once a year and always stay here. Extra special time is to come for the Carnival, especially the last night as they are all lit up. Hang out the window and watch it all go by. Staff always really nice, food excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

i recently stayed at yelf's hotel for two nights with my girlfriend, the bedrooms, views, and the staff were brilliant! we had breakfast in bed for a small charge which was good, and the outside patio was good to, this hotel should be higher than 3 star in my opinion, good price for this time of year to.

Room Tip: get a room as high up as possible, the views are loads better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking time tp review your stay here at Yelfs. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business and found it really relaxing.
No wi-fi but room and bed good (and quiet). Great view across the water to Portsmouth.
Well located in the centre, nice breakfast and lovely helpful staff.
Looking forward to working on the island again and staying at the Yelfs

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemarieallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel was very easy to find, only 20 minutes from the ferry port in east cowes.
The confirmation stated said they had a private car park, but without speaking to a member of staff we could not find this, we parked outside the hotel and checked in where they gave us a map on how to get to the car park, it's all one way to this helped!
We were them given a complimentary upgrade to the honeymoon suite, which considering I work in hotels I usually give the upgrades! We were here for a wedding, so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel.. However the room was comfortable, comfy bed and very clean.
I have seen a review about the noise, but it really was not as bad as described!
Friday was a little bit noisy but really not that bad.
Breakfast was great, lots of choice.. I would say though, maybe add beans as part of the buffet.. But another than that.. It was great!!
We will be coming back soon!

Room Tip: Try and request a high floor room to the back of the hotel, I know we had an upgrade but it was wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiie0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at Yelfs. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnard
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

stayed for one night to attend a function.Yelfs is situated in the lower part of ryde high street so ideal for exploring the town and only a short distance to the beach.we booked through booking dot com and got a better price than yelfs offered us .we asked for a quiet room and this they gave us.hallway door security coded was reasuring.the staff were helpful and the room was ok.one slight criticism the bathroom needs modenising,but clean and adequate.breakfast was self service and they obviously have a good supplier as the sausage and bacon was first class.overall i would say it is a good 3* and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: ask when making booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tilburylen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel in Ryde is perfectly located. The staff were brilliant. The price was right... But here's the observation : I got a great last minute price but ended up in the annex. All I needed was a bed and shower so for the price I was happy. If I had paid full wack I would have been concerned at the super springy doors that would have made a light sleeper nervous and the general noise of late returners to the annex. Having said this, I had a great stay and breakfast was ten star, so thanks and I recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highwayman8155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
7.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Property: Yelf's Hotel
Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing