We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
172
155
60
39
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
155
60
39
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union street high street bar menu isle of wight no lift bar area quiet room buffet breakfast two courses kippers hotel is situated a lovely stay comfy bed excellent value for money sea front yelfs rebecca
Filter
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Visits to the Isle of Wight are made so much more enjoyable by the choice of our hotel and we have become regular guests at this hotel, the staff are extremely helpful and always make you feel welcome. Whilst the hotel is on a busy street there are at times a certain amount of traffic noise but this is offset by the advantage of being able to use the shopping facilities right on the doorstep, as well as the local buses that pass the hotel en route to the seafront.

Our bedroom was well appointed with a modern TV that had subtitles (much appreciated as I am very deaf) and the room service was excellent. An interesting feature is the the fact that local residents make good use of the hotel facilities which is in itself is a good recommendation. We are looking forward to a return visit in due course.

Room Tip: As there is no lift in the main hotel explain your circumstances to the Reception staff who I am sure will do their best to ensure you have a comfortable stay.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we stopped at the hotel for the night to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary.it was great.
the staff,were fantactic,they could not have been looked after if you where in a top hotel in
London.the rooms were very good,we had a seaview over the solent.the food was great..
will go again and have recommended to our friends

Room Tip: I was in room 28,no27 next door had same view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cecil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for a night at the end of August. Booked via Booking.com and felt that the rate of £65 BB was excellent.
On arrival the reception staff were really friendly and the bedroom was ok. Nothing special, quite dated but functional and adequate for the night. It was also really good to have free parking at the hotel.
Our big gripe was the bathroom. It was filthy (particularly the shower). The air vent in the bathroom was covered in thick, thick dust - it looked like it had not been cleaned in a very long time. The shower itself was not at all clean - black grime all over the tiles and around the shower door etc. If you took the shower head out of its holder, it was all dirty under there also. I actually felt dirtier after coming out of the shower than before I went in.
I have added photos of the bathroom so its clear to see that I am not exaggerating in this review. To be honest, there is no excuse for a dirty bathroom in a hotel. Hotel bathrooms get cleaned every day (probably more than any bathroom at home), so they should be spotless. Regardless of the rate you pay to stay at a hotel, you expect a certain standard of cleanliness and Yelfs falls way below an acceptable standard. The bathroom needs a deep clean. The rest of the room was ok.
Also, we did ask for a quiet room but unfortunately had a room that was subjected to noise from the bar below until the early hours of the morning.
Overall, I wouldn't be keen to recommend Yelfs based on this experience. If they sort out the cleanliness issue, then I am sure for a short stay it would be perfectly acceptable and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 36 if you want a quiet nights sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking time to review you stay at Yelfs Hotel. We take all our reviews very seriously and would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere apologies at the sub-standard cleanliness of your bathroom facilities. This room had been previously off status due to work being carried out on the outside of the building. This build-up of mould is due to the warm temperatures and moist conditions. This is not meant as an excuse and the condition of the shower should have been picked up before the room was put back on status.

We pride ourseleves on our high standards of customer care and cleanliness and value for money. This is not our usual standard and is of course unacceptable. The shower has now been deep cleaned.

We would love you to return to Yelfs on a future visit so please get in touch with me to discuss this.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Held a function, staff were very polite and helpful when sorting out the function. The function room was bright and airy and a lovely garden off it if a nice day,, food was good, was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We visit family at least once a year and always stay here. Extra special time is to come for the Carnival, especially the last night as they are all lit up. Hang out the window and watch it all go by. Staff always really nice, food excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews