We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend”
Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

A lovely weekend stay at this well located hotel. Staff were pleasant and helpful in all areas. We had a triple room that was clean and comfortable. On two evenings we had dinner, once in the bar area and once in the restaurant and on both occasions the food was well served and of a good standard.
I am happy to recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthiep25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    132
    54
    35
    21
See reviews for
79
133
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed at Yelf's Hotel on a trip down to Bestival. The hotel location is great and staff are extremely accommodating. On arrival you can't help but feel that the place is a bit dated, the old style keys and pin codes to get in to areas of the hotel go a long way to backing this up. Rooms are clean, but dated, tired and slightly on the wonk due to the age of the hotel, toiletries are plentiful though and the bath/shower had plenty of warm water. WiFi just about stretched to my room but wasn't available in other areas.
The main upside are the staff. We had to set off at 7, meaning we would miss breakfast but the staff put something on for us earlier. This was a great touch and hugely appreciated. Would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charliea444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Friends were visiting the Island and were staying at the hotel. They invited us to supper saying the food at the hotel was excellent.
They were right.
The food was well presented, well cooked and tasted very good.
The service was prompt, courteous and attentive.
I am unsure about there policy for non residents eating there but it was, for us as non residents, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Had a lovely time in Ryde on the Isle of Wight at the YELF Hotel. My husband did the half marathon on 18 August and we took the opportunity to spend the night on the island. Should have stayed on another night - it was a totally charming place, peaceful getaway and idyllic in terms of an English beach resort.

GOOD POINTS:

1. Well located hotel right in the middle of the main street in Ryde and was a short walk from the Ryde ferry. About 5 mins max and ok if you have just one or two bags with wheels.

2. The Hotel has an old world charm about it - nice restaurant bar with reasonably priced food in the lobby

3. Rooms clean and spacious and was so pleasantly surprised to find cookies and tea waiting for us in the rooms - a lovely welcoming touch!

4. Our room which was a triple had an amazing outside area that you could walk out to (see pictures).

5. Concierge/Front Desk was friendly, helpful & accommodating - booked reservations at the Three Buoys restaurant for us and subsequently changed them - helped us call a cab there when it started to rain.

BAD POINTS:

1. None really! They allow you to extend your room for about 15 pounds every hour for up to 2 to 3 hours if you need to take a shower which we did after the marathon but this was otherwise ok and quite fair.

2. Think the rooms had no wifi but the lobby did and that was fine.

I would highly recommend staying at this Hotel and would not hesitate staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caberley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Visits to the Isle of Wight are made so much more enjoyable by the choice of our hotel and we have become regular guests at this hotel, the staff are extremely helpful and always make you feel welcome. Whilst the hotel is on a busy street there are at times a certain amount of traffic noise but this is offset by the advantage of being able to use the shopping facilities right on the doorstep, as well as the local buses that pass the hotel en route to the seafront.

Our bedroom was well appointed with a modern TV that had subtitles (much appreciated as I am very deaf) and the room service was excellent. An interesting feature is the the fact that local residents make good use of the hotel facilities which is in itself is a good recommendation. We are looking forward to a return visit in due course.

Room Tip: As there is no lift in the main hotel explain your circumstances to the Reception staff who I am sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

we stopped at the hotel for the night to celebrate our 44th wedding anniversary.it was great.
the staff,were fantactic,they could not have been looked after if you where in a top hotel in
London.the rooms were very good,we had a seaview over the solent.the food was great..
will go again and have recommended to our friends

Room Tip: I was in room 28,no27 next door had same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecil w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cas Catala, Spain
Level Contributor
171 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed for a night at the end of August. Booked via Booking.com and felt that the rate of £65 BB was excellent.
On arrival the reception staff were really friendly and the bedroom was ok. Nothing special, quite dated but functional and adequate for the night. It was also really good to have free parking at the hotel.
Our big gripe was the bathroom. It was filthy (particularly the shower). The air vent in the bathroom was covered in thick, thick dust - it looked like it had not been cleaned in a very long time. The shower itself was not at all clean - black grime all over the tiles and around the shower door etc. If you took the shower head out of its holder, it was all dirty under there also. I actually felt dirtier after coming out of the shower than before I went in.
I have added photos of the bathroom so its clear to see that I am not exaggerating in this review. To be honest, there is no excuse for a dirty bathroom in a hotel. Hotel bathrooms get cleaned every day (probably more than any bathroom at home), so they should be spotless. Regardless of the rate you pay to stay at a hotel, you expect a certain standard of cleanliness and Yelfs falls way below an acceptable standard. The bathroom needs a deep clean. The rest of the room was ok.
Also, we did ask for a quiet room but unfortunately had a room that was subjected to noise from the bar below until the early hours of the morning.
Overall, I wouldn't be keen to recommend Yelfs based on this experience. If they sort out the cleanliness issue, then I am sure for a short stay it would be perfectly acceptable and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 36 if you want a quiet nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YelfsHotel, Manager at Yelf's Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for taking time to review you stay at Yelfs Hotel. We take all our reviews very seriously and would like to take this opportunity to express my sincere apologies at the sub-standard cleanliness of your bathroom facilities. This room had been previously off status due to work being carried out on the outside of the building. This build-up of mould is due to the warm temperatures and moist conditions. This is not meant as an excuse and the condition of the shower should have been picked up before the room was put back on status.

We pride ourseleves on our high standards of customer care and cleanliness and value for money. This is not our usual standard and is of course unacceptable. The shower has now been deep cleaned.

We would love you to return to Yelfs on a future visit so please get in touch with me to discuss this.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
7.0 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Property: Yelf's Hotel
Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing