We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Yelf's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yelf's Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel is in need of renovation and the bedrooms are extremely hot. However saying that we paid £75.00 for the night for a double room with a full English breakfast each. The room was very clean and the staff were very pleasant and very helpful and we had a very good stay. I would stay here again as it was very enjoyable and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't have room no 4 as it is by the access door and is rather noisy, however our friends had ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    131
    53
    35
    21
See reviews for
77
133
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We hired the Bridal Suite for our wedding in October. We had fantastic service from all the staff we encountered but the room and especially the bed left a lot to be desired. You could feel the springs in the mattress and when we finally did want to sleep we found it difficult to sleep.

Room Tip: Try the beds first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teethgrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I booked a room by phone for a Birthday Treat over the weekend for my Lady, from the onset the team at the Hotel made me feel at ease and were more helpful than I could've imagined. Had a couple of queries a few days later and spoke to"Roz" (Whom I was informed had not long started there) who dealt with and answered all the things I needed to know. And so it began...........
We arrived Late afternoon on a Fri when the Hotel was in full swing of a wedding on the premises and in progress, as well as being fully booked for a wedding the following day at the same venue; yet "Roz" in reception was still un-flustered and welcomed us walmly explaining all the facilities and local area to us, which gave us a special feel already; on top of this she ensured our bags were taken over the road for us to "Bromley House" after our journey to the Hotel.
PETER took our bags for us and again made us feel at ease, explaining all the security codes and ways in and out to the accomodation for us, once at our room he made sure we were settled and comfortable in our room before leaving us. The room itself was plenty enough for us, clean and with exactly what was needed ie: VERY Comfy bed, Tea/Coffee/Biscuits, kettle, towels, complimentary shower essentials, Hairdryer, TV, WI-FI, etc.. just what was needed for a nice weekend break; although I was told on the phone our room overlooked the car Park, you would never have guessed it, as at eye level through the window you could not see it.
After settling ourselves in we chose to have a meal from the bar menu and we were seated with ease (Bearing in mind of the ongoing wedding party) what can we say Peter? was on hand again to seat us and explain the different menus on offer. After ordering from a varied selection we concluded that the Starters we had were CHARMING and the Main Course was Very Delightful (LOOK at the Specials Board as well). Service was quick after ordering and we were not rushed to finish each course, and was nice to have staff asking if everything was to OUR satisfaction. Meal and atmosphere coupled with a varied age range within the seating area we were in and close by bar area was Fantastic on all aspects!
Having had a Cracking Breakfast in our room (Which you need to pre-order) we went out for the day but on our return we found out that we could not visit the in-town restaurant Alamo Steakhouse that we desired (as it was Fully Booked-so book in advance), so we asked at the reception if they could recommend anywhere else (NOT that the Hotel Restaurant was NOT good enough!!) 2 members of staff recomended a restaurant so they phoned direct AND BOOKED for us a table for 2 at the "Three Buoys" Restaurant (Now, who would do that? Book a table for someone OUT of THEIR Restaurant - Cracking Thankyou ALL!!!)
After a TRULY Ful-FILLING Hearty Breakfast in the hotel where everything was on offer Cereal, full English, Fruit and so on, we found that there was NO rush for us to depart, however our stay was over!!!! Gutted to leave as EVERYTHING was done to make us feel welcome and comfortable... We WILL be coming Back SO THANKYOU... Special THANKS to "Roz" & "Peter" you made it for us...............................................Overall the whole Hotel and staff were Brilliant.

THANKYOU !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 326Michael326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Lovely hotel, staff were so helpful, room a nice size and comfy beds, tea making facilities with pks of biscuits were changed daily. We ate in the restaurant and bar and both menus were very good. The food was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were all lovely. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in room no 9 could possibly be noisy at weekends but very cosy and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen_golder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Hotel was in an ideal location. Food was very well presented and tasted yummy. The staff were very friendly, my sister and I asked for more tea, milk etc for our room and the staff were happy to oblige. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 9 was an excellent room, maybe slightly noisy in the morning for some travellers, but my sister...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jools1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Fairy, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

From the time I made my inquiry, this hotel responded quickly and efficiently
Booking from Australia can be a little daunting.
The hotel gave friendly welcome. a clean well appointed single bedroom suited for working in
House keeping was quietly efficient.
Yes, the rooms are fairly simple but suite the lovely feel of an older style English hotel,
I have stayed in a lot worse in the UK asking a\ lot more money
It is very good value
Food was great. Breakfast is fit fror a King!
The variety of either restaurant food at medium prices or bar/cafe food was wide and having sampled both, found to be really good quality
REception is helpful and friendly
I found the AA rating did not reflect the good quality offered

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DougMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed at Yelfs for two nights as part of a golfing tour, with a group of a dozen blokes or so. This is your typical English town centre hotel, with heaps of magnolia and squeaky floorboards and all the more charming for it. Few have survived but Yelfs continues to flourish thanks mainly to it's fantastic staff. Nothing is too much trouble for any of them. The food in the Restaurant is excellent value for money, treading the fine line between Restaurant quality appearance and pub grub prices. OK some of the rooms are noisy from the "good time groups" on the street outside, so ask for a quiet room if that kind of thing bothers you. All in all a great "old English" place to stay in a vibrant and busy part of town.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room if staying at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DimmerBVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yelf's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yelf's Hotel

Property: Yelf's Hotel
Address: 54 Union Street, Ryde PO33 2LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yelf's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yelf's Hotel offers an all year round service, including Christmas, to holiday and business visitors, from single rooms and suites to self-catering accommodation. The hotel is one of the oldest original coaching inns on the Isle of Wight and has been carefully refurbished to retain much of its charm and atmosphere. Our comfortable Bar and Lounge, Conservatory and Patio Beer Garden, and an air conditioned Restaurant and Conference suite provide Islanders and visitors alike with a relaxing venue for a drink or delicious meal during a short stay or longer break. Whatever the purpose of your visit, you're guaranteed a warm welcome, fine food and great service all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Yelf's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yelfs Hotel Ryde
Yelf's Hotel Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing