We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Supper”
Review of The Boat House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Boat House
Ranked #1 of 4 Seaview B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We enjoyed a delicious supper, well cooked, served by excellent staff in charming surroundings.
A miserable storm ridden night was transformed.
We enjoyed our supper even more as it was on a 2 for the price of 1.
Definitely will return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rohese77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Not sure if this place wants to be a pub or a restaurant but works pretty well as both . Absolutely full on a Sunday and 2 hours table occupancy maximum allowed . Interesting food, hake with chorizo , borlotti bean risotto , very good deserts , good beer, friendly staff. Table with a view of the sea worth booking if you can. Only downside is that you gave to go to the bar and order and then back for more drinks then back again for desert then back to pay . There are enough staff to take orders at the table and clear dishes faster as we ended up with deserts being brought to rye table with main course dishes still there . Still, would definately go back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank LargelyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

What a lovely place this is
Warm fire to sit next to while ordering and very friendly staff
Food excellent off the two for £ 20 3 course menu but quality of food the same as main menu
Really enjoyed it there will definitely re visit 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Formando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

A regular winter eating place, summer a little too busy for us but standards are still high , food never fails to impress,prices are reasonable, nice staff, and what a super outlook, even Dad's army in the garden

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RUPIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Met up, for lunch here, with our family who live on the Island; so they know a good place to eat and enjoy a bottle of wine, at reasonable rates. Enjoyed the food, the wine, the lovely warm log fire (on a chilly, windy day) and the friendly staff welcome. An added bonus, for me, was the disabled loo facility. The bill was reasonable, too. Can't wait to return here in the warmer days!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The Boat House has a wine bar atmosphere and is welcoming. The only disadvantage of the parquet floors is that when the restaurant is crowded, it can be a bit clattery. The menu looks pretty standard but the food is home-cooked, fresh and often innovative. Recommend!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had a weekend break at the Boathouse, staying Friday & Saturday night, which was a lovely surprise for me that was organised by my partner. The staff were very welcoming and friendly upon arrival and we were showed to our room upstairs. The room was spacious, clean, bright, well appointed and had a sea view. The bathroom was large, with bath and separate shower. We ate both evenings at the Boathouse and chose from the Specials menu board. The food was locally sourced, well presented and tasted lovely. There was also a good selection of wine to accompany our meals. Our server was very attentive and very friendly. We also had breakfast on both mornings and we weren't disappointed. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend for a short stay and/or evening meal with friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ade_Loz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaview
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
422 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
467 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Priory Bay Hotel
Priory Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Seaview
426 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Spinnaker
The Spinnaker
#4 of 9 in Bembridge
121 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Fishbourne Inn
The Fishbourne Inn
#2 of 17 in Ryde
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House

Address: Springvale Road, Seaview PO34 5AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Seaview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Seaview
Price Range: £60 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boat House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boathouse, situated on the fringe of the chic village of Seaview on the Isle of Wight is an idyllic beachside venue offering accommodation by the sea. Having been recently inspected by the AA we are now recognised as one of the top UK bed and breakfast establishments and we are also featured as a Late Rooms “B&B Gem”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Boat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Isle Of Wight/Seaview

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing